We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero value for money”
Review of Usha Ascot Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Usha Ascot Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai,MAHARASHTRA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Zero value for money”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Avoid Booking this hotel.It may have been a good hotel in past but this hotel is terribly maintained and avoidable food, having no variety to offer.Only the reception staff were courteous and can give full marks for promptness.This hotel is far away from 3 star status they claim.The food,neatness and Linen in room,value for money can be given zero.There are strict timings for evening tea, and you are sure to miss, if you have a afternoon nap! makes you feel that yo are in a military camp!

They may even stop the AC working in rooms and restaurant if there is a conference at the time of stay!

EVEN THE MANAGER WAS SHON THIER RUSTY DOOR AND UNCLEAN BATHROOM.

AFTER STAYING AT HOTEL RUGBY FOR SO MANY VISIT TO THIS AMAZING HILL STATION (WHICH IS SHUT DOWN AT PRESENT) I HOPE ONE CAN GET BETTER TO OFFER.

Perhaps Hotel Regal is a better choice.

  • Liked — good view
  • Disliked — unclean room,bathroom,linen
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehtaNirav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    115
    56
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
86
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

the place is the best in matheran . this is only for the veg lovers . however the drinks are alowed here.

  • Liked — its the best in matheran
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nitishvohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matheran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

i had very bad experience in usha ascort. people are smoking in dining area . i tried to stop but i am not succeed. staff are not supported to me. i told that its unofficially but they told me that if you have problem you stop or call police but we cant. in my room monkey came and my room locked. their house keeping people came after 30 minutes. bad commitment to customer. weekend and weekdays menu are also changed. weekdays food are less. lots of corruptions are going their. where is police in matheran ?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakesh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Good hotel, but had cleanliness problems especially during rain. The hotel services like swimming pool etc. were not clean.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Pros:Perhaps best in Matheran, Polite staff,
Cons:Small pool, booking staff not professional

Arrival at the resort:
We had booked for a deluxe room (this is the cheapest one here, others are super deluxe , suite and villas). But they showed us both a deluxe and super deluxe room. The deluxe (or standard, really speaking) room was rather smallish with no good view. All other things were same. So we selected Super deluxe room having the pool view. The tariff was obviously higher.

The Room:
It had possibly the best pool view amongst other rooms. The room did have a musty smell inside which I guess is a common feature in such places. They did not have carpet in the room. The ceramic flooring was clean though. It could be very cold in winter season. The room had a nice sofa for two. The bed was big enough and comfortable for two. We did not like the use of black color in the room’s furnishing such as curtains and bed sheets. It was an irritating combination on pink , white and black colors. The toilet was clean although we had to call housekeeping to make some specific cleaning. Toilet had all the essentials such as towels, soaps, shampoo, shower cap etc. The A/C vent in the toilet (for exhaust of hot air) was not working. A/C was not working when we checked-in , due to power failure. They had a generator which did not power the A/C though. It started working later upon power resumption. It did not have a control for temperature. In our opinion it was really not worth that money. You get better rooms in Mahabaleshwar for that price. But my guess is that this could be the best you get in Matheran. I do not mean that the room was bad,but not worth the money.

Restaurant:
Good service at the dining hall. The breakfast was served by the pool side and so was dinner. Monkeys are a bug nuisance during breakfast. In fact one money did steal baked beans from our plate. They have appointed a guys to take of the monkeys but he cant manage them all. But this was not too much of a problem.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — booking staff not professional
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikujain123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

This used to be the best hotel in Matheran, it was I believe linked with The Byke. From our experience it is no longer the best. This hotel has become very run down and sad. The rooms are very basic and whilst that would be okay if you were paying basic boading house rate we were paying £100 pounds eqivalent per night. Admittedly it included all meals. We only however had one lunch. The waiter openly sneezing, and then another serving food to a family and licking his fingers before serving us was an off putter. The dining rooms was very shabby with stained table cloths. The whole place was SO shabby, including our room which was I believe supposed to be de luxe top of the range. We had leaks, a smelly ( stale urine) bathroom, with old formica furniture. The bed though was clean and okay.The staff were very unhappy. They just didnt smile, it all seemed an effort apart from the chap on reception who was good. This place desperately needs money investing if they are to charge these rates. The pool had green water, the health club was a joke. All in all AVOID. We spent most of outr time at The Byke. Excellent food, exceptionally friendly staff , a good place to be. We always felt rather on edge at teh Ascott.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The poor value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watercombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Had a fantastic holi at the Usha Ascot. Possibly the best hotel in Matheran ( after the Rugby shut down ) for vegetarians. Excellent vegetarian food ( largely Gujarati style.) which is included in the tariff. Also lots of fun for kids.

  • Liked — Entertainment and food
  • Disliked — Rooms maintenance like most hotels in Matheran is average
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gaushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
10.0 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Usha Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usha Ascot Hotel

Property: Usha Ascot Hotel
Address: M.G. Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Usha Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing