We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place so far”
Review of Brightlands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brightlands Resort
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst place so far”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I guess brightlands resort is by far the worst place where i had stayed so far. I booked this resort for 2 nights and i was pissed of with the service that i had to leave the place in just one night. I had been to matheran to spend my honeymoon i had high expectations from Brightland resort as it was recommended by best friend.

When i discussed the package on phone i was assured high quality service which included very nice room for honeymoon couple. Service also included 24 hours hot water.

When i reached, i was disappointed as the room alloted was dirty. flooring was dirty, bed sheets were muddy ( excuse proivded red soil of matheran) I dont agree with this excuse as charges for pre night were quite high.

I had to look out for 4 -5 room and i had to select best amoung the worst rooms...i spend 2 -3 hours in all this.

As i reached the resort late at night i inquired about hot water and guess what i was told hot water is not available. so i had to wait till morning to take a bath and to add to my missery there was no water in morning as well. Thats was the time i decided to move out.

Thanks to terrible service from brightland resort i spent 1 day of my honeymoon in just searching for nice place.

I would rate bright land resort as wort place to spend honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katagihemant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    22
    6
    19
See reviews for
43
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Returned today after 2 nights stay at Brightlands Resort with family. Got a decent deal after speaking to the brightlands office at Mumbai. This was better than the deals you can get on travel sites.
The rooms are pretty ok but there is a room for improvement like layout etc. Room service is good and staff was helpful. Got things done quickly without much waiting.The linens were torn though.
Activities for kids & family were good to keep the evenings occupied. Kids specially loved the place due to this.
Swimming pool was big enough but dirty. Staff could clean it atleast twice a day.Evenings the pool used to be filled up. Best time to be in the pool was 4 p.m..

Market is 10 mins walk from the place..Echo point, Lords point and Charlotte Lake is 15 mins walking distance from the place.

Breakfast,lunch & dinner was well cooked with good variety. This is commendable.

Overall if you want to have a good time with your family then this resort is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acpt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Overall it was a good stay at Brightlands. Though initially we had to follow up with the reception to get the linens, etc changed. The condition of the rooms leaves much to be desired. Other than these 2 issues, we had a good service. The food was very good and room service decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Pravin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We all friends (23 of us) went here for a weekend from Mumbai via Neral (local train). We had not booked any location and we needed a decent hotel which is not very congested, when it comes to spacing between rooms. Brightlands served the purpose. we just stayed here for one night (saturday) with dinner, breakfast and lunch. food was not great but good. Bathrooms had new fittings and properly made. Beds were good and nothing to complain about in that.
Also, the hotel is not very far from market and station, which is important as there is no transport in matheran (Eco City), except horses which can turn out to be very expensive.

Room Tip: take rooms on the far end of the hotel. and rooms on first floor can get noisy with monkeys jumping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaylakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have stayed in this Resort for 1 night. This is away from the main market yet not very far and All the attractions are nearby. Its around 15 mins walk from the matheran railway station. The dinner was good and breakfast was Average. Overall, the staff was co-operative. I will recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Matheran.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank lONELYTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a very good property, good location, given good amenities. But there is large scope to improve landscape and has to do better maintenance of property. furniture, bed needs to be reinnovate. In children play area everything broken, not in condition to play.

Food is average, non-veg food is not that worth but veg food is better. Food options are given good.

This a hotel is for youngsters or people who want to enjoy disk, drinks. If you want to relax then it won't be a good place. As per the cost, its not worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dont Book without actually seeing the place...i m not sayin its bad...i had an awesome time over there but since i had booked online things happened differently....i had booked a duplex room but it was not upto the mark as said by the booking agent of their sales office respectively and i thot of walking out frm the hotel but then couldn't walk out as i had alrdy paid half amount in advance...so had to take another room which the staff politely adjusted wit it n gave a pretty decent room instead of tht...food is also nice u get both veg n non veg(which is vry difficult to get in matheran)...its slightly far frm the main market but its a nice resort...not tht expensive as compared to the ones which r centrally located in the market...i wil advise to book it by confirming the proper details of the room....as the sales agent wil always tell u nice thngs only but in actual it wil b different....next time wil surely b here only bcoz of the friendly staff,food and the service...

Room Tip: Dont Book without actually seeing the place...i m not sayin its bad...i had an awesome time over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaid_memon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#229 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightlands Resort

Property: Brightlands Resort
Address: Maulana Azad Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Brightlands Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing