We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with Great Service and Excellent Food”
Review of Brightlands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brightlands Resort
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Brightlands, Matheran

One of the best hotels at Matheran serving Non-Veg food as well. We booked the place well in advance for New Year's celebration of 2 nights starting on Dec 30th. Mr. Mangesh the manager at the hotel ensured all queries and clarifications were taken care of whilst booking. He was also helpful in person once we reached there.

We were 15 pax and rented 2 vehicles i.e. Innova and Xylo for Rs. 13,000 round trip, courstesy Mr. Mangesh again. The drivers were very nice and ensured a very smooth and safe drive all the way upto Dasturi car park. From there we took the Toy Train shuttle to Matheran. Unfortunately, we cannot book the tickets in advance and have to wait in queue to get the tickets. Although our plan was to catch the 10.30 am train, we could not as it was full. We then booked for the next one at 11.20 am.

From Matheran station Brightlands is about 20 min walk. Once we reached, Mr. Mangesh helped us in getting the necessary paper work and remaining payments done quickly. We were given couple of duplex next to each other. The rooms were clean and spacious with TV, Fridge and all the basic necessities. The Beds was bigger than King size and easily 3 people could comfortably sleep on it.

Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner buffet were really excellent. We never ever got any chance to complain at all. All of us relished the food completely.

The only thing not upto to the mark was the Tea and Coffee. Quite bland I must say; especially the tea.

The service provided by the staff was also excellent. They would ensure our requests are met as many times we required it. With jam packed crowd at the resort, they ensured great service to all.

The events organized by the resort on both days i.e. Dec 30th and Dec 31st were really excellent. Kids and Adults enjoyed the entertainments provided. DJ Milind was excellent in churning out good foot tapping music.

The only problem with the resort is the same as with any other hotel/resort at this hill station i.e the Monkeys. A nuisance that we all have to live with. We always had to be careful with whatever we carry or eat out at the verandah.

Overall the hotel is really excellent covering a huge acres of land. Best of all they have even put up Solar panels to provide electricity for the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 82 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very nice place to relax, refresh and rejuvinate. Lovely ambience, very nice buffet meal and supportive staff. i will visit matheran again and again for this place. At weekends there is juggling show, magic show, dj nights etc. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good buffet meals with nice spread, calm and quiet location, it is close to the lake, market and a couple of important points like Echo and Khandala. Good pool side bar, nice activities arranged by the Hotel on weekends (there is not much to do in Matheran after 8 PM. So the hotel scores there by arranging activities)
The rooms were not great, infact they were just average. It is not close to the Railway Station (15 Mins Walk) . The service was also slow.
Overall a decent enough place to stay over for a weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank DeepakParwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Brightland resort is located just 10 mins walk from the market area. Most of the points to visit are nearby.
The staff at the resort is extremely wonderful and attend to your needs immediately. Booking with cleartrip made it more easy since I spent 2 mins at the reception and next moment were in our rooms. The quality of the room is satisfactory. Good enough for sleep and refresh after your journey within Matheran.
Food is one amongst the best you can taste in Matheran. Breakfast, Lunch and dinner were all tasty.
Evening events are wonderful both for kids

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Prasad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were in group of 25 families it was a corporate & small family function ..we selected this resort because it was our 9 th visit at this resort & we make sure every time we visit matheran we visit @ Brightlands resorts only..good food, good entertainment & good service. best choice of veg & non veg & JAIN food..Lovely ambiance etc…Have fun…

Room Tip: Rooms on left hand side Or pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajm710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Brightlands is just a few meters away from the Railway station n the market.where you can relax n Njoy your real memorable Matheran trip....!!!! Calm a quit place with good food, good service...iIf i go Matheran again ,sure i will stay there n even i suggest my friends to choose Brightlands Resort where u can enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Ronald2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This resort is truely a mini Matheran in itself.The view is awesome & scenic.It would leave u spellbound if u are there in right season.Luckily we were there in early october and it was raining.
The resort is full of activities for whole family & couples.
The services are good & there is variety in food.But good things comes with a price.So pay the price & you wud enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hksingh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightlands Resort

Address: Maulana Azad Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $16 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Brightlands Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing