We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much!”
Review of Brightlands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brightlands Resort
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Brightlands has run down both with time and change of owners. It was much better when Adi Bharucha was there. Rooms are spacious but need a lot of pepping up. Breakfast and the meals are very palatable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room I lived in had a TV and a Fridge. Pool is small but clean. Evenings have some entertainment. Nothing much to write about.

Room Tip: Honey mooners book a room away from the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank apintolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stinky rooms, toilet flush do not work properly. Phone dose not work after repeated call they fixed it. To summarize no maintained at all. Food was tasty but very oily. My suggestion avoide. Not worth.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deepdarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

we went for a 3N /4D stay here.
the hotel is simple but clean .they have a small pool where the kids enjoyed themselves .
the rooms are spread out all over the property so it does offer some privacy.
rooms are basic and had a tv and fridge (though very old but still worked great . )with clean sheets and pillows (thankfully ) .the rooms and bathrooms were well cleaned each morning.
dont expect a luxurious stay here or anywhere in matheran for that matter, i have been a regular in matheran since last 15 years and have stayed in quite a few places.they had entertainment options in the evenings such as a magic show, fire show , tambola etc and DJ playing music in the evenings till dinner,.
The dining options are nice especially for the meat eaters with chicken and mutton dishes with every meal.
also the breakfeast was basic but had a good variety of eggs, toast jam , idli , poha,upma, puri bhaji, tea coffee etc,.
The staff at the restaurant is very polite and does cater to your individual needs.would rate it 3.5 / 5 for the overall stay.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the pool if u like privacy and peace around you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

1. Hot water from 8 am to 10am
2. Tap water is murky, dark brown.
3. Bathrooms are large & dirty. (don't beleive the photo's in the website)
4. All doors bad condition.
5. Service below average.
6. Food disaster, all foods are very oily (dessert terrible)
7. Bathing Soaps smell
8. Badly maintained property

If the above does not disturb you, then go ahead stay in Brightland Resort.

Room Tip: Badly kept property, at night very badly lit property no no for this hotel (torture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeviPrasad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

we went to this hotel on recommendation from someone who had stayed with them 5 years ago and looks like the property has declined to real bad state since then. It seems the owners have changed couple of times within last five years and the new owners have taken no care to restore or maintain the earlier name and brand this hotel carried. This would be good for a day visit if you plan to matheran as food is not that bad but the price/value equation is not great for this hotel. It seems all hotels in Matheran are bad except a couple of 4 star ones so you would need to try your luck if you are trying any other than the four star properties

Room Tip: the suites are better than any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuhasGujarathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

It was the new year party we stayed and celebrated at Brightlands. This was our second stay here. We like the natural surroundings; monkeys playing all around and big tress in the campus.
Lot of activities for everyone is a good fun. Go around Matheran during the stay; riding a horse. Early evenings and nights are cool at the resort.
The best part was the new year party. It was really well managed and well arranged. All the dance songs, songs and program was really nice.
Will be back here some later year-ends for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DipakAbhyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed at this place with 2 other friends & families - Mid Oct 2011. It was supposed to be the last weekend of the "off-season". The check in etc was ok - but in-spite of Specifically requesting for rooms next to each other (3 families) they did what typical bad management does , they gave us rooms in different wings(when the hotel was not even 1/2 occupied), with a hope to get rooms next to each other by end of day - we thought of checking in the rooms; and we got the shock of our life ... man what can i say - no one would/should pay even 1/4th of what they ask for these rooms !!! one of the room's had this horrible green color on the walls(which were barely straight) , one room had the walls almost soaking wet (and hence the color coming off it). I know its a monsoon season etc , but i dont think the hotel's in other hill stations are as bad as this one. We immediately went to the front desk asking them to change the rooms, as we simply found the current rooms UN-acceptable. We were shown few other rooms in similar category(i think deluxe) but we did not like any one of them, finally we liked (sort of) the "Suits" and one/two "Super deluxe" rooms . the Suits are the rooms with 2 levels, were alteast well painted, and rooms were of decent size etc. But still they are absolutely no where close to the rates quoted for !! The staff was good enough to notice our frustration and after multiple persuasions offered to "upgrade" us with some discount. We had no other option but to take these rooms.
The other amenities of this resort are almost non-existent !!! so dont expect them :)
The outdoor pool i suppose would be operational only during summer.
they have a small hall where they play movies for kids, and DJ plays music there @ night.
The restaurant was ok - food spread was decent for the price.
Overall it was not a stay which we were happy about - but since we were a group of friends with kids , we managed to have fun.
There were few good things
1. The staff: very helpful and polite and understanding, the restaurant staff especially - does not know how to say "No" :) . so unfortunately end up under delivering or missing the promised delivery times consistently. :)
2. Location : its not too far from the market, and still almost secluded from the crowd.
3. They did offer us some money back (aprox 3.5%) because of the too frequent electricity problems.

we were told by local folks that this was one of the very good hotels/resort when it opened, but over the years its undergone management changes quite a few times- and that sort of screwed up the entire thing......

Over all - Would i stay there again ? Hell no
would i suggest/recommend it to anyone --- Hell No
BTW: did i mention our room had a Rat, and there were so many dogs in the property especially @ night that made sure we did not have a proper sleep (Dont know what the security guard was doing .......)

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay in this place - then stay only in either Suits or may be super deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
144 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightlands Resort

Address: Maulana Azad Road,, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $16 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brightlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Brightlands Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing