We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gujarat Bhavan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Jalgaon, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

just came back from a trip to matheran. i did not know which hotel to book but finally decided on gujarat bhavan & let me tell you i do not regret on booking gujarat bhavan. Room are nice but the service & food are the best. my family enjoyed our stay. we had booked for two nights but on first day we extended our stay by one more night. Food was delicious never in those three days was the food items repeated. Umeshbhai & his team are excellent. specially liked the service of Mr. Paras.
everyone at the hotel had a smile on their face. The star attraction for my kids was the swimming pool & dinner by the swimming pool followed by a show like jugglery, magic show, puupet show.
The hotel is not very far or very near to the market, it is at a walkable distance from the market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sam14473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have gone to Matheran for 2 days and stayed in GB. The hotel premises is clean, staff are humble and food is awesome (Gujarati Thali etc). In the evening they had pool side dinner and it was perfect for a couple like us. Every night they had programs where countryside artists do performance.
Overall I would say its a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We had taken AC rooms and in the evening climate was so cool, we have not used much of AC. So i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viral_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my first visit to Matheran - Gujarat Bhavan in the month of October 2012. I loved the place and hotel both. The food was excellent staff behaviour was good and the location is also very good. This is a Gujju special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

the place is nothing really to talk about..but the food is simply yummy...and the staff is very friendly and courteous...one of my friends fell ill...they were even kind enuf to make special food for him...best part is evening pool side dinner...the pool needs a better keeping though...a one time visit..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ankur_varman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my third visit to Hotel Gujarat Bhavan since last three years. Most of people return to this place just because to food. To be honest food was not that mark what it use to before. Many guest during our stay said the same. I did ask the front desk/ reception of hotel and they said cook has changed recently. So if you are going just because of food factor be aware of this fact. Customer service was good no doubt about it.

Enjoy your stay in clean air of Matheran!!

Regards
Deven

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devendra_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had been to Gujarat Bhavan recently. Sad to say that they no more have a customer service mentality. You should go here if food is the only important thing for your stay. They score high on food but very low on overall service and customer satisfaction. My bad experience started right from the booking stage where in their booking agent insisted that I pack in more people in a room then required or else go for a AC room. I was shocked and surprised to hear a hotel insisting on such a condition. Nevertheless I did go ahead but only to find that I ruined my short vacation.

This is no more the Gujarat Bhavan of the past.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarshD, Owner at Gujarat Bhavan Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Mr.Hemal had inquired for 7 family rooms during Diwali season for which we had said yes for availability but after few days he called and said they are 7 couples for which we said all our couple rooms are booked but family rooms are available to which he threatened us to write a bad review online for which we couldn't do anything as couple rooms were full. Hence this review written to take out hate for non availability of rooms is unacceptable .
Note: Mr.Hemal has not visited us in Sept'12 as mentioned in the review, we double checked our records. If he provides any proof of his stay with us in Sept'12 then we are ready to refund his full money and also apologies for it publicly on this website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a chance to stay there for couple of days. The best part of the hotel is its proximity to most of the points... almost all the points are within 1.5 to 2.5 Km maximum except sun rise point.
The rooms were all damp, but could not expect anything else as it rains almost 4 months during the monsoon. Apart from the dampness, room was clean and sheets would have better but passable. You wouldn't mind the anything because mostly you will be so tired after long walks.
Best part of the hotel is its food. One of the excellent Gujarati Thali, I have ever had in recent times away from home. If you want a good vegetarian food after a nice long walk (might be close to 10 Km a day) this place is the best.
If you are looking for a nice place to sit and enjoy the monsoon sitting in the room, this might not be suitable place.

Room Tip: If your main intention is to trek or take long walks, normal room is suffice.... but for leusire tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#151 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.3 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
18.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
27.9 mi away
Devanshi Inn
Devanshi Inn
#21 of 28 in Navi Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gujarat Bhavan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gujarat Bhavan Hotel

Property: Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Address: M.A. Road, Matheran 400067, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel was built in 1975. We are one of the best and oldest hotels in Matheran. We are proud to offer our guests a multitude of services and amenities, including swimming pool, jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor games and pure vegetarian food that will have you coming back again and again. We have maintained greenery so well that you will feel relaxed away from the concrete jungle. Each and every room is well furnished to make your stay comfortable. We have a highly motivated team to make your trip a memorable one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing