We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best veg food in matheran”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the place is nothing really to talk about..but the food is simply yummy...and the staff is very friendly and courteous...one of my friends fell ill...they were even kind enuf to make special food for him...best part is evening pool side dinner...the pool needs a better keeping though...a one time visit..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ankur_varman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my third visit to Hotel Gujarat Bhavan since last three years. Most of people return to this place just because to food. To be honest food was not that mark what it use to before. Many guest during our stay said the same. I did ask the front desk/ reception of hotel and they said cook has changed recently. So if you are going just because of food factor be aware of this fact. Customer service was good no doubt about it.

Enjoy your stay in clean air of Matheran!!

Regards
Deven

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devendra_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had been to Gujarat Bhavan recently. Sad to say that they no more have a customer service mentality. You should go here if food is the only important thing for your stay. They score high on food but very low on overall service and customer satisfaction. My bad experience started right from the booking stage where in their booking agent insisted that I pack in more people in a room then required or else go for a AC room. I was shocked and surprised to hear a hotel insisting on such a condition. Nevertheless I did go ahead but only to find that I ruined my short vacation.

This is no more the Gujarat Bhavan of the past.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarshD, Owner at Gujarat Bhavan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Mr.Hemal had inquired for 7 family rooms during Diwali season for which we had said yes for availability but after few days he called and said they are 7 couples for which we said all our couple rooms are booked but family rooms are available to which he threatened us to write a bad review online for which we couldn't do anything as couple rooms were full. Hence this review written to take out hate for non availability of rooms is unacceptable .
Note: Mr.Hemal has not visited us in Sept'12 as mentioned in the review, we double checked our records. If he provides any proof of his stay with us in Sept'12 then we are ready to refund his full money and also apologies for it publicly on this website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a chance to stay there for couple of days. The best part of the hotel is its proximity to most of the points... almost all the points are within 1.5 to 2.5 Km maximum except sun rise point.
The rooms were all damp, but could not expect anything else as it rains almost 4 months during the monsoon. Apart from the dampness, room was clean and sheets would have better but passable. You wouldn't mind the anything because mostly you will be so tired after long walks.
Best part of the hotel is its food. One of the excellent Gujarati Thali, I have ever had in recent times away from home. If you want a good vegetarian food after a nice long walk (might be close to 10 Km a day) this place is the best.
If you are looking for a nice place to sit and enjoy the monsoon sitting in the room, this might not be suitable place.

Room Tip: If your main intention is to trek or take long walks, normal room is suffice.... but for leusire tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have been to this hotel last month. The Hotel's property sprawling in large area but not maintained properly. Average priced rooms are very filthy and dingy but I might say the deluxe rooms are quite good. Let's talk about food (because the only thing I enjoyed here is food). This hotel is pure veg. But non veg folks also will enjoy for a change. Believe me, food is outstanding!
Service is quick too. I didn't enjoyed much because hill station thing is not an exiting place for people who are coming from Pune. For me, Shinhagad fort or all forts near Pune is the better place then Matheran.

Room Tip: East side room is more better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UdayPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We went here in month of Feb.
The stay is OK but food is really awesome.

Pros:
-Nice location and near to market
-Good food
-Hotel manager is good and co-operative.

Con's:
-roooms are small and average.
-Lot of dust accumulating in room due to un-cemented ground.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpha8213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went for 2 nights/3 days and our group included elderly people and an infant as well. The hotel staff is very warm and friendly. Our train from Neral to Matheran was terribly late and we reached very late. We called up the hotel and they readily kept our lunch aside for us till we came. The rooms are sufficient and comfortable. There is satellite TV although I doubt you're going to Matheran to watch the idiot box. The bathrooms attached are very spacious and clean with hot water in the morning from 7am to 10am. Gujarat Bhavan satisfies the two most important criteria for me, clean bathrooms and good food! Being pure vegetarian, we preferred Gujarat Bhavan. Breakfast, Lunch, Evening Tea were served in a huge clean dining hall. Dinner was served pool side. I can't describe how much we loved the food; every meal was unique with finger licking dishes and served piping hot. To top it all the tea was superb so everyone enjoyed. One word of advice don't take the mini train from Neral to Matheran, it was 6 hours late one way and got cancelled on the return!! Take your car till Dasturi Taxi Stand (pay and park 40/- per day) and walk/ride from there.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a verandah (sitting area) in the front. Ask for ones that have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pritam_Assrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gujarat Bhavan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gujarat Bhavan Hotel

Address: M.A. Road, Matheran 400067, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $16 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel was built in 1975. We are one of the best and oldest hotels in Matheran. We are proud to offer our guests a multitude of services and amenities, including swimming pool, jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor games and pure vegetarian food that will have you coming back again and again. We have maintained greenery so well that you will feel relaxed away from the concrete jungle. Each and every room is well furnished to make your stay comfortable. We have a highly motivated team to make your trip a memorable one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing