We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our third stay in Kumar Plaza”
Review of Hotel Kumar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
“Our third stay in Kumar Plaza”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my third stay in Kumar Plaza in last 3 years. Me and my wife have been visiting Matheran every year in the month of January since 2012. But this time we were not alone. We were a group of 8 close friends who had weekend stay in Matheran. We opted for Kumar Plaza as it was a tried and tested hotel within our budget. Overall the stay was good. But I found that the management is not very effective as it used to be in previous years. We had to wait for more than an hour for check in even when we reached 1 hour late than official check in time.The rooms are good but service has gone slow. The restaurant still serves delicious Indian and Chinese food.The Disco at the top floor is again the USP of the hotel.Overall an average affair this time. I will like the servise to be faster next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    90
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
120
79
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is a quiet low cost option for travellers who are looking at just using the hotel for sleeping at night. The hotel staff was lazy and unwilling to help. Tea was cold and arrived 15 minutes late. Since we didnt take the meal plan cant comment on the food. The room was very small.

Room Tip: our room was small. May be you should look for the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanborkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyan, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We went for our first marriage anniversary.... its a nice place to stay... we had our stay in suite. It was nice and clean... as it was not a season and we stayed on sunday night, we got thos suite at discounted price (after negotiations). Other delux rooms and super delux rooms were also good but not that clean and tidy. My suggestion - please ask for a suite and bargain.

The negative point was there was no hot water in morning... they have solar wat heater which supplied only warm water... hence we had to ask for buckets of hot water...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasad_Pimpale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navsari, India
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice Hotel, good food with very good service. Clean rooms. fair location. fair price. Good management. I enjoy my family trip.All of our family members are very happy. Nice weather. and very co-operative staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vikram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in another hotel but went to Kumar Plaza for dinner. The restaurant was amazing. Very tasty punjabi dishes and amazing non veg. Chinese food was also very good. A very good option for food in Matheran

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SACMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we took superdelux rooms.hotel needs a pest control,blankets needs to be washed,rooms needs to be cleaned daily.After u switch off the lights cockroaches will come out to greet u.no hygiene.sorry.... very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi123499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for a night at the peak of the rainy season. Room was a little less than decent and the rain management is terrible. The restaurant was good, though.

Cleanliness should be a non-factor if you want to stay here because it was quite shabby in parts.

Location is convenient.

A good option for singles travelling in a group. Not so much for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyTw0Times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#210 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumar Plaza

Property: Hotel Kumar Plaza
Address: Plot No. 149, M.G. Road | Opp.Telephone Exchange; Dist. Raigad- Pin, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kumar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kumar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing