We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Compare to other hotel in matheran” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kumar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Ranked #1 of 24 Matheran B&B and Inns
Mumbai
1 review
“Good Compare to other hotel in matheran”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hi
I visited matheran on 15 feb 2013, and i found that Hotel Kumar Plaza is not very very good hotel while comparing to other hotel in india . but comparing to other hotel in matheran it is good hotel, Location is very good just 2 minute from satation and market, Service is good, room is good , food --> please do not go for food.

Thanks Sunil 9004886612

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    75
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
94
61
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012...in monsoon...we have booked suit room...the room was very nice & clean..we liked the room interior as well...bathroom was also clean...we enjoyed our stay here...even food was also very tasty...

Room Tip: go for suit room or balcony room...deluxe rooms are back side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shwetamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Don't book AC deluxe room here, the room is very small and and dirty also.
I visited with my hubby and we both didn't like the room at all. We thought to take Super deluxe room instead but it was also not clean to the expectations.
Although the staff attitude was good and helping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sijain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
269 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Matheran again after an year on the weekend of 26-27 January and we didnt risk trying a new hotel and thus booked a Super Deluxe Room at Kumar Plaza. This time we were given a room on the 1st floor and we felt that this was even better than the room we got last year on second floor (that too was a Super Deluxe Room). The room had good flow of hot water.The room service was prompt and the food was as delicious as it was last time. I will again love to visit the same hotel on my next trip to Matheran. This is situated just at the heart of Matheran and thus makes all other places easily accessible. The hotel is considered as a bit overpriced by some travelers but I think its better to pay a few hundred bucks more than risking your holidays with unknown hotels.

Room Tip: Go for Super Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had stayed here on 22 Dec 2012 to 25 Dec 2012 for 03 night. Food is yummy both veg and non-veg. Staffs are friendly and always ready to serve you. Room was OK. Best thing is it very close to market and railway station but little expensive. Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy10663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location of the hotel is really good & is centrally located. Room was small & charges are high compared to standard of the room. Swimming pool is very small & almost useless, you can only bath your kids. Food quality is very good. We had veg food only. so cant comment about non veg. Family suite is more spacious. Recreation activities include carom, table tennis etc. It is on second floor where food is served. There is room adjustment to food tables where they play loud music & some lighting effects are provided which they call as discotheque. We took appointment for massage but the guy didn't turn up. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahabhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good Mouth watering Veg and Non Veg Food , In fact Dishes were not repeated, ,every Day new receipy are surved , Spacious Rooms, Good Services provided by Room Attendent's & Banquet attendents
Will recomende to each and everyone In fact Matheran itself is different experience by itself with a place like Hotel Kumar Plaza to stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#151 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
28.1 mi away
Devanshi Inn
Devanshi Inn
#21 of 28 in Navi Mumbai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Obetel Grande Resort
Obetel Grande Resort
#56 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
16.0 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumar Plaza

Property: Hotel Kumar Plaza
Address: Plot No. 149, M.G. Road | Opp.Telephone Exchange; Dist. Raigad- Pin, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kumar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kumar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing