We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmoshpere”
Review of Hotel Kumar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Had been to Matheran during the rainy season, I had multiple options in Matheran for stay but not all hotels have the dining / room service facility for food. After a thorough check I decided to be in Kumar Plaza one of the most reputed hotels in Matheran, It has everything Clean and properly designed Rooms, Swimming Pool, Disco, Play area for children, Restaurent, power backups. Little costly as compared to other hotels in Matheran, but when we go for relaxation we do not mind to pay and extra bit of money for peace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nileshksalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kumar Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 308 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

was one one the worst staying experiences at this hotel, this hotel is expensive and downright pathetic service and cleanliness, i wouldnt recommend any body this hotel.
the hotel stinks, the loo stinks, it boast of a swimming pool which actually is a fiber tank of 8 feet by 12 feet, we booked a delux room which was very small and no privacy, the only window opening was on the corridor, we had to upgrade to super deluxe which was some what better. however, the room rates are higly priced all over Matheran, resturant is bad with bad quality food, the linen were stinking and room service even more pathetic.
this hotel is a No- go.

Room Tip: none of the rooms are best
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anupsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 days and enjoyed nice experiance of the hospitality of hotel, good and very friendly staff, Good quality of food. It was a very pleasant stay at hotel, enjoyed good leisure time and relaxing in hotel, provided good support for local travelling by horse riding at reasonable tariff. There is no vehicles at this place,Its a value for money package and carry sweet memories of Matheran. We definitely like to visit again at same hotel. Its located in the prime area of Matheran. Local market is just walk away distance from hotel. Nice place to stay and enjoy vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tejendra_gohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Kumar Plaza, Matheran for four days. And I must say that the experience was not the best of the worlds.

The room given to us was booked through a special quota for the employees of a well-known insurance company. That would mean that the hotel would have to give a 25 to 30% discount to the company. The normal rent would amount to approximately Rs 4000 per night for a double room. Yet, even with the reduced rates, the experience was below expectation.

The location of the hotel is near the station, and therefore convenient. Given that we had only one employee amongst us, we were entitled only to a single room (instead of two rooms as apparent from the earlier communication), where 5 adults and 1 child had to be squeezed in. Anything more would need extra charge of Rs 4000 per day per room.

The rooms were small even from a double occupancy point-of-view. Speaking of the point-of-view, the only view available from the large window was that of the facing wall, about 2 feet from the window. The passage was heavily infested by langurs and cats and other fauna, so opening it for a bit of 'unpolluted fresh air' of Matheran, was out of question.

Speaking of furniture and storage, there was a bed, a foldable sofa+bed, a plastic chair and old dressing table. There were no closed cabinets (except a couple of small drawers) to keep clothes or valuables.

The bathroom was horribly lit. The only source of light was a feeble CFL located just above the wash-basin and it could barely illuminate the 6 x 6 bath + WC.

The room in general was unclean and was infested with roaches, which we eventually started ignoring as days passed.

The service for room and toilet cleaning as well as for setting the bed had to be called each and every time. They never appeared on their own.

The food was overpriced, yet not entirely unsavoury, and the dining area appeared to be acceptable.

Matheran is one of those rare places in India where polluting vehicles have been banned. But that also has resulted in everything being overpriced. Everyone seems to be bothered about it, but yet the place is full of people on long weekends and travel seasons.

A place like Kumar Plaza also seems to represent the spirit of business in Matheran - overpriced, unavoidable and without real quality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niranjanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

we went during the sumer vacation and stayed for 3 days in a suite. The overall ambience of the hotel is good but the rooms are not great. The bedsheets are not cleaned often and the bathrooms are always wet . Lots of monkey around and don't leave the window open ... all your belongings will be stolen by the monkeys. food is good and reasonable,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoshTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and 3 days. This property is located very much in the middle of the main road. Its about 1/2 kms away from the railway station. Its a nice place to stay in Matheran. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This hotel has a 30+ rooms, swimming pool, restaurant, dining hall and a discotheque. The rates in Matheran for most of the hotels can be inclusive of all meals (morning tea + biscuits, breakfast, lunch, evening tea + biscuits, dinner with desert). All the meals served in this hotel were extremely tasty and satisfying. All the meals are served as a buffet in the dining hall. We reached here on friday afternoon and since the number of guests were less on friday they served us meals from the ala-carte menu card.
The swimming pool is decently big and has got a slide, also there is a smaller pool for kids. The rooms are clean but not too clean. But since most of the hotels in Matheran are a bit old, most of them have a very similar feel. The toilets are also not one of the cleanest, but you can manage with it.
The property has also got a spa and a steam bath, did not try that though but it was operational.
The room service is good and are ready to help any time.
Checkout time was 9.00 AM and can be extended till around 10.00 AM.
Overall a nice place to stay and relaxx. Food was awesome and this hotel is certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaibhavRatnaparkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel was a big let down as it was not worth.The food was overcharged and the swimmimg pool was too small.The room service was never attending on time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANRobust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.3 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
141 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#3 of 26 in Matheran
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumar Plaza

Address: Plot No. 149, M.G. Road | Opp.Telephone Exchange; Dist. Raigad- Pin, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $67 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kumar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kumar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing