We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view view”
Review of Panorama Point

Panorama Point
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
nasik
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“view view”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The point is safe to go on a pony. .. It was not more than 20 minutes ride, safe and enjoyable if you are in a group. The view is breath taking. We went in the morning.. Its extremely beautifull with shining leaves in the sunlight. This time of the year the trees were muddy due to the summer dry climate... After a couple of rains this point would be a great view... Sad point here is that lot of tourists have started dirtying the place. Somethinf needs to be done to save the environment from chips packets/glasses etc..
Overall a fantastic place in Matheran...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saha99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The location is good but lots to walk to get there!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

it is at the opposite side of matheran! it is very far!
but the place is really good.. the mountain view is soo good!
you wont loose much if you dont go here!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tejaswani_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“sunrise at its best on the sahayadris”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

sunrise is at its best on a clear morning from panorama point in matheran , about 5 kms from the market ,the road leading to the point is very sadly maintained , but by far the best in terms of picturesque places in matheran , also pls note it is matherans highest peak.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank murtazamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunrise after travelling a spooky path”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Panorama Panorama Point is atleast 4 kms away from the Matheran main market and thus not very popular among the tourists. Moreover not many people dare to cross the jungles in the dark to go for viewing a sunrise at this point. me and my wife dared the same and we talked to a horse owner a night before. He agreed to take us there and reached our hotel at 4:30 in the morning with his 2 horses. According to him it was his 1st visit to that point after 2-3 years as no tourists were going there so often. it was still dark when we started and the path through the jungles was reely scary. It took about 30-40 minutes for us to reach the point and it was still dark when we finally arrived here. It looked like a real heaven with a 360 degree view of the surroundings with nearby towns still having the night lights on. There as absolutely no one at that place except us and our horse owner. We witnessed the darkness fading out, lights getting switched off and finally we witnessed the view of the best ever sunrise of our lives as the Orange Ball started coming out of the eastern limits of the sky. the experience was amazing. We spent some time there and were joined by a group of college boys who were late and just missed the sunrise by 5 minutes. The journey back to the hotel wasnt scary at all.
The authorities should pay attention to the road that leads to the Panorama Point. it is undoubtedly the best place in Matheran. A must visit place atleast once in a life

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Point also viewed

Matheran, Raigad District
Matheran, Raigad District
 
Matheran, Raigad District
 

Been to Panorama Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing