We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay, worth the stay and would love to go back to have fun.”
Review of Cecil Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cecil Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Matheran B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay, worth the stay and would love to go back to have fun.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The service was good and the food was amazing. I loved the way the hotel was built, where every family/group of friends had their own privacy by having a different portion.

I would definately advice everyone to come and enjoy the service of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGurpreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Getting to the hotel is an adventure on it's own. You get dropped off at a taxi point where people come to take your luggage (and carry it on their heads) and start walking towards your hotel. Keep in mind to walk as quickly as they do, so that you don't end up missing them. If you prefer not to walk, the other options available are a toy train (small passenger train) and horses. We walked on the way to the hotel and took the train on the way back.

After reaching the hotel, we were directed to our room and our luggage was already there. We had taken an A/C cottage - it had 2 rooms which were interconnected. Each room came with a double bed, an additional single bed, TV, A/C, dressing room and bathroom. The cottage also had a small verandah as well. The rooms were big and spacious enough. Hot water is not available in the taps, but can be requested to the hotel and they will bring it to you in buckets.

The best part of the hotel was the FOOD! Although it is purely vegetarian, the food is so delicious that I never missed eating non-vegetarian food for the few days I was there. Each time I was served a meal, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, the food just kept getting more and more amazing. The food is the main highlight of the hotel.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at Cecil Hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful to any requests we had. The rooms were clean and tidy. Even the location of the hotel was good as it was just 10 minutes away from the market (which has a train station). I would recommend this hotel to those who like to have a simple and good experience at Matheran.

TIP: Do watch out for monkeys while in Matheran. They are fond of plastic bags, hence avoid carrying them while walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nithya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is great if you are looking for peace and serenity. The view from the room and the scenery in the campus is very beautiful. The slope and the construction combine to give a tree house effect. It is a 10 min walk from the main market. The food though pure vegetarian is very good. The butler may need to be reminded occasionally but on the whole they are happy to accommodate most requests. The snack service especially was good with an almost continuous supply of coffee and accompanying food.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank akankshamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay at Cecil Hotel! The rooms are spacious and the staff is very courteous and helpful. The veg food served in the hotel is simply amazing! It's the best vegetarian food you'll ever have! There was a good variety of food to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The market is also very close to the hotel which makes its location strategic. Had a very peaceful and rejuvenating stay. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to those who wish to visit Matheran for a holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a great stay at Cecil Hotel in Matheran. The location was perfect - nestled in the woods and a short walk to the market and points. Food was thali style, very filing and delicious. The hotel has its own heritage charms and staff is very helpful and courteous. Perfect hotel for families and young couples. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Matheran.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manohar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel was nice and provided us with some great food...stay was comfortable but the room was just average and nothing great about that room..washroom/bathroom was again just average and will never be able to attract you enough to go and take bath :P

best part was the food and a relaxed environment where you can spend time with your friends/family...staff was supporting...

i think you should explore some other options also before you finalize this deal..in case if u are unable to find one then this one's not bad !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Anubhav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Not happy with the rooms. Really bad condition. Bad Location (away from Main Market), Good Staff, Really Really Bad Food, Good and open environment. Matheran is a God Place.Should avoid this Hotel.












































































BAD

Room Tip: Non AC rooms are not even Painted. AC rooms are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
1.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecil Hotel

Property: Cecil Hotel
Address: Chinoy Road | Via Neral, Karjat Taluka, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cecil Hotel, Matheran is a Heritage Hotel constructed in the year 1950. Having been recently renovated and rejuvenated, it still maintains its charm of its era! Being a ground floor structure, it is an accessible hotel based in a sprawling area of 5.5 acres of land, lush green and quite for the ultimate tranquil holiday experience. The hotel consists of 25 rooms, including 3 bungalows and also a large dining room where the guests are served the most delicious vegetarian cuisine. The hotel also caters to the music savvy generation by providing an in-house dance floor and DJ. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing