We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing”
Review of Westend Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westend Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at Westend from 16th to 18th Feb 2014 and the overall experience was "very good". I should credit the reviews given by people, which encouraged me to shortlist this hotel for as it was my first visit to Matheran.

I was overwhelmed by the response received from Ahmad Makani (owner) whilst I inquired for my booking. Shailendra who looks after the overall arrangements (from booking to entire stay) was good too. Noor personally came to each table enquiring about the food quality. Ganesh (food admin) made sure everyone enjoyed their meals, making sure the monkeys stay away while we enjoy our meals :)

We stayed in super deluxe rooms, it was good. The food was nice and we had a good time playing badminton, table tennis and carrom.

There is always a scope of improvement, and i hope they maintain the level of professionalism as-is and it only gets better with time.

Overall, i rate it as "Very Good" and recommend anyone who intends to go to Matheran to consider Westend for their stay.

Thank You everyone from the Westend family.

Room Tip: SUper Delux were spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshL653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 535 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Westend brings you close to nature. Try to get the poolside rooms they are excellent. They even have facilities to play badminton, table tennis and swim in the pool.
The hotel staffs are wonderful and always ready to help you out.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ishita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed in the deluxe room for 3 days.

Rooms were nice & clean. A carpet was placed covering the entire room, so your feet are protected from cold. Hot water was available all the day.

Food is really good. I am an Eggie. The menu includes Chapathi, 2-3 Sabjee, Rice & Dal and a Sweet. The dishes were really delicious and special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krish5300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

West-End is Definitely one of the best Property in Matheran,
We went there for one and a half day but ended up extending our stay,
Food is really their forte good food lot of variety,
Rooms/Bathroom are clean and maintained,
Hot water was available throughout
Room Service is prompt.
we played carom and enjoyed campfire at night.
The hotel has a swimming pool, which is very well maintained (at night I saw small kids of sindhi family throwing many pebbles in swimming pool but by morning it was all removed and pool was cleaned)
The property is located few mins away from market close to nature(as their tag line)
Earlier I wanted to check few hotels before staying but my fiance insisted me on this hotel as she has stayed here before it was good decision, I would recommended this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet relaxing vacation at Matheran.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravi_rajKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Good location, very good food (I went on weekend and was specially surprised to find good food at matheran), cooperative staff and good activity line up... The only feedback I would give it increased maintenance of rooms (though you don't feel it much coz the entire experience is otherwise nice)

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank NasaAshish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located near main bazar. Ambiance is excellent and soothing with lot of greenary. Hotel room and toilets were clean as well. The best part of the stay was food. It was tasty and had good varieties over 4 days. Staff is also good and helping. After requesting they immediately relocated us to a different room as TV connection was not good in my original room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Kedar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

it was a great experience there at matheran, stayin in westend hotel, i found it quiet good, this place really brings you close to nature, the food at westend is really awesome loved. the rooms are clean well maintained, service is too good, i and my friends stayed there for 2 nights, we really had fun, and it was great being there, had a great time at westend matheran

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandinee024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#5 of 22 in Matheran
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Hotel

Address: R.C.Church Road, Next to Matheran Police St., Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $26 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Hotel with 29 cottages and 2 tents are brimming with old world charm, what with their beautiful old British-style preserved architecture and spacious verandas. From the minute you step in, you almost wonder if such hotels exist. And to think, its mere 2 hours away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Tucked away in the forest, all you will see are the tree tops and hear only the sounds of the forest. The beautiful Lake Charlotte is just 10 minutes away as is the main bazaar and a few of the famous viewpoints. The sole aim of the hotel is to make you relax. Trek through the forest, amble along the natural red mud paths, take a horse ride to the various tourist attractions, play the numerous indoor-outdoor games, soak in the silence or just laze on the hammocks, there's enough and more to keep you busy for as long as your stay. And whatever you choose to do, you'll certainly leave with a rejuvenated mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing