We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax”
Review of Westend Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westend Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent place to stay, food was also excellent. enjoyed swimming pool @ disco. swimming pool was also well maintained. varieties was there in every meal. Rides was also there for children overall a good place to stay & relax for a holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muradmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 509 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good stay and service followed by excellent food during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Best part is Mr Shailendra who is very courteous as have known him before too. Stayed here second time in 4 yrs and its only improved. Worth every penny spent, not very costly and hope it remains the same.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are almost similar as there is no view best room as its amongst trees/jungle kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeebg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good Review: Food & Location.
Bad Review:
No water on 1st day.
No Hot Water at all.
The Room Phone was not working.. had to walk up and down to remind the guys about water... but invain.
Our room was attached to the disco hall... We wanted to sleep early so that we could make it to witness Sunrise... but the music was ON with people dancing until 11 PM.. so couldnt make it for Sunrise...
Not worth the money because we could nt relax the way we had planned :(
Manager at night was rude.. not ready to co-operate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Vishwanath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading the reviews, booked this hotel a day ago and found the hotel exactly i had envisioned after reading the reviews. The hotel is nestled inside dense trees. It is a 15 mins walk from the matheran railway station.

The rooms are neatly maintained. The service is good and very descent. There was a magic show arranged which was too good.

The last but not that i can forget is the "FOOD". The breakfast, lunch and dinner were awesome.

If i do plan to visit matheran in future, i would book this hotel.

Keep it up WESTEND.

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We finalized this hotel just a night before and man we were glad when we went there. The hotel is located outside the hush market place and is at a bare walking distance.
They served us nice lemon iced tea when we were just about to checkin. They showed us few rooms and asked us to pick the one we liked. We were 3 couples on a weekend trip and it was one of the most fun outings we had.
We played shuttle-cork for almost 5-6 hours even at the wee hours. The food was just a bit more than amazing. The non-veg items were juicy and yummy. We jumped in the pool at around 3 and did not realise that it was evening and they were serving coffee, which is served by the pool side.
The pool was a bit over-chlorinated though, but nothing much to complain here. Went out for a walk to the market area and bought leather boots and sandals which are umpteen in options.
At night they had a juggler show which was breathtaking.
All in all a very nice memorable stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for stay.

We had hired horses from the taxi stand since we could not get tickets to the toy train for 350 each to reach the hotel.
While going back the horses costed us 550 including the sight seeing till the taxi stand from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently visited the hotel on weekend, stayed in a duplex ac room.Really happy with the room and it was neat and clean.Room service was good.located away from the station but at walking distance,close to market place.The closet points are Echo point and Lake point. The resort has swimming pool,badminton court,Carrom,Play area for children. Large spread of foods with enough options for veg as well as non veg.The food was really nice (all the 3 meals that we had was tasty and yummy ,specially the carrot soup and corn veg roll).....Resort manager Mr Shailendra was very nice and helpful.....We really had a grt time and would love to go back there..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

located away from the station at walking distance, but one needs no disturbance and noise of people, good spreadout area of the resort, swimming pool clean, small in size, not very deep but good enough for amateurs to enjoy swimming, food service was excellent ..no stomach disorders.. veg as well as non veg buffet provided with sweet dish,, no repeatations ..lot of play area for children..swings, badminton court, carrom.. need to change the sports accessories..ac rooms good, good room service..soft spoken reception counter.. greenery all around..monkeys an addition for amusement for children.. overall experience enjoyable..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank vinayak15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.3 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Hotel

Address: R.C.Church Road, Next to Matheran Police St., Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $31 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Hotel with 29 cottages and 2 tents are brimming with old world charm, what with their beautiful old British-style preserved architecture and spacious verandas. From the minute you step in, you almost wonder if such hotels exist. And to think, its mere 2 hours away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Tucked away in the forest, all you will see are the tree tops and hear only the sounds of the forest. The beautiful Lake Charlotte is just 10 minutes away as is the main bazaar and a few of the famous viewpoints. The sole aim of the hotel is to make you relax. Trek through the forest, amble along the natural red mud paths, take a horse ride to the various tourist attractions, play the numerous indoor-outdoor games, soak in the silence or just laze on the hammocks, there's enough and more to keep you busy for as long as your stay. And whatever you choose to do, you'll certainly leave with a rejuvenated mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing