We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to be with your family and in groups .”
Review of Westend Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westend Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

we read west end review in trip advisor and visited the hotel. The hotel has very good open space when compared to the rooms , good playing area . The rooms are also very clean .and very spacious the one specially near swimming pool .The food is also good .
Only thing missing was : They dont have life guard in swim pool which is around 4 feet deep. so take care when with kids in pool .
Overall good experience .

Room Tip: Choose room near pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viny_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 521 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I feel this is one of the best place to stay in Matheran, nice food with awesome ambiance... We loved staying there because its far from the market we get privacy. There is no chance of getting bored also as you'll find games to play like table tennis, Carom and badminton. They organize magic show for kids. I would definitely recommend this place for vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanchan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

One good thing about the hotel is that its not in the market place. It give one a real feeling of Matheran forest as its surrounded by dense forest.

The reason for choosing this place was because it serves Non-veg which is limits us to only a few options. As the hotel was well occupied on the day of our visit, we enjoyed good buffet meals. They have a small swimming pool but it was too cold so could not really enjoy it.

We got good rates as this was an off-season.

Room Tip: Rooms near the swimming pool are a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Confused with all the available Hotels in Matheran, booked this on a go, but found it really up to the expectations.
The Food , Ambience, Hospitality evrything was of much appreciation.
Spend a weekend and the experience was much more than expected.
Definetily my 2nd visit

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and Sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank SGR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

It was my 15th visit n 1st of my wife to matheran n i can say the memorable thanks to westend,good food,nice service n d fun games at nite made our trip more enjoyable.surely will visit westend again n will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife & I spent a weekend at Westend, much to our satisfaction, we had an experience of a lifetime. We were cordially greeted upon arrival in the late evening. Our welcome drink was a cup of ginger flavored tea. The staff was very helpful and the ambience superb. The self-contained rooms were well maintained.
Talking about the food...we were served with very delicious food in all, breakfast ,lunch & dinner. If you are foody then do not think twice go & book there. All Veg & especially Non veg items - Soups & Tandoori or Chinese snacks were delicious.
It became one of the best memorable trip of Matheran

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Before reaching to hotel i was pretty excited about hotel as most of the review i read about hotel was good. But i found everything missing which is mentioned in reviews. Food was tasteless and unhygienic and full of oil and masala. I could taste only mirch. About room, bed was dirty and below standards. Toilet was dirty and unhygienic. They don't provide clean drinking water. They charge for package drinking water.

If you do not want to spoil your trip, avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Mathrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
341 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
142 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
0.3 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Hotel

Address: R.C.Church Road, Next to Matheran Police St., Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $28 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Hotel with 29 cottages and 2 tents are brimming with old world charm, what with their beautiful old British-style preserved architecture and spacious verandas. From the minute you step in, you almost wonder if such hotels exist. And to think, its mere 2 hours away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Tucked away in the forest, all you will see are the tree tops and hear only the sounds of the forest. The beautiful Lake Charlotte is just 10 minutes away as is the main bazaar and a few of the famous viewpoints. The sole aim of the hotel is to make you relax. Trek through the forest, amble along the natural red mud paths, take a horse ride to the various tourist attractions, play the numerous indoor-outdoor games, soak in the silence or just laze on the hammocks, there's enough and more to keep you busy for as long as your stay. And whatever you choose to do, you'll certainly leave with a rejuvenated mind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing