We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westend Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Divadhar Hotel(Matheran)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Radha Cottage(Matheran)
$97
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Rangoli Retreat(Matheran)
$738
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
227
249
52
8
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
249
52
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest endswimming poolmagic showroom servicepolice stationhot waterboth veg and non vegvalue for moneytable tennislunch dinnerac deluxe roomsuper deluxeecho pointlots of varietyalexander pointdj nightclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 549 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my family visited West End Hotel on 10th &11th March 2012 and were pleasantly surpirised. We reached there at 10.30 a.m. where, we were welcome with a complimentary breakfast (outside our package) followed by our check in, into one of thier standard twin occupancy room, THe room was sufficiently large with the TV showing some of the best channels available in Mumbai, which again was a pleasant surprise. We settled for Lunch to a expansive spread of food with varieties of veg and non veg food, which was good quality.
The evening was spent watching a Magic Show for Kids, then followed by a disco session, which we skipped. Again the food for dinner was great too.
My family drooled over the magic show,with the magician pulling off tricks that even entertained the adults.
Morning followed by good breakfast and a late check out around 11.00 a.m.
The overall staff were very supportive and the manager was personally checking with all the guests about thier comfort and showed geniune interest in thier likes and dislikes.
Overall nothing negative except as thier is always room for improvement especially about the quality of rooms and bathrooms to be more specific. Do visit the place for a lovely, relaxed and pleasing experience.

Room Tip: Try the rooms near the pool
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djeetendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I Stayed in Westend matheran from 24th to 26th Jan 2012. Hotel is just 5 to 8 minutes walk from Matheran Railway station and very near to Matheran police station. About hotel, the rooms are very good and hygiene.Food has been provided free as per hotel package deal. The food is excellent and delicious. Both Veg and Non-veg are served and the quality is good.

The surrounding and location of the hotel is vey excellent and nice. Hotel has a nice swimming pool too. Overall the service and quality of the hotel is excellent and friendly.
Westend matheran is surely one of the best hotel in Matheran.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms in the front and near to the entrance are excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasanna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nothing like relaxing in the woods of Matheran.

Westend is a decent hotel with helpful staff and clean rooms.
Food was above average with decent variety.
Located 5-7 mins away from the market.

The night of Saturday was lit up by screening of Jagjit singh gazals.. loved it!!

On the downside - the rooms did not have the warm water provisions when you needed them.
Bedsheets and towels werent too clean.
I had to ASK for the soaps.. I assume this are by default provisioned in a 3 star hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is our first group visit at WestEnd Hotel. And we all had a very good time. Food & room services provided by the hotel was really good.
We will definitely think to visit this place again...
The people of matheran were really supportive and honest...
Thanks for your co-operation...
WIth lots of regards...
Poonam & Neeta.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeetaPoonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

At the outset, Matheran is not a luxury hill station and hence, I doubt if any of the hotels can really provide luxury in the true sense of the word.
So the hotel was exactly like the place, pretty basic.
The location is nice, but its far from the car park...so you have to walk a bit, or get scammed by the horse walas, cart walas and luggage porters (coolies). Its a good 45 minute walk uphill, so better to follow the railway tracks.
The Hotel has a good concept and must have been really good when new, but now its run down.
So while there is a room, with clean sheets and blankets, the walls are dirty, the bathroom is below par and looks quite unhygienic. While there are facilities for table tennis and badminton and carrom......the equipment is all old and on the brink of collapse. Notwithstanding, with the mini swimming pool (pretty clean) and these facilities, as well as a trampoline, the kids really enjoyed themselves. The staff takes them off your hands and they don't need parents supervision ....so that was pretty cool.
The best part of the hotel was the food. Since the package included all meals, we didn't really go out and eat, and were a little constrained by time. But the food was really delicious and everyone of our group enjoyed it.
The tea and coffee though is horrible.
And there are no tea and coffee makers in the room.
Hot water was a problem - you had to ring up and ask for it - and most of the time the gasoline boiler wasn't working, so we ended up getting black water, smelly water, or warm water in a bucket, but never running, clean, hot water.

Monkeys are a bit of a menace, but not a serious threat.
The daily evening shows for kids (we witnessed Juggling and a Magic Show) are nice for the kids too. I believe they have karaoke and stuff when the occupancy is high.

The bed mattresses were too soft - almost uncomfortable.
The staff was pretty responsive and nice - young boys most of them - and so all in all, it wasn't so bad and we ended up with a nice "homely" kind of feeling.
So, like I said - mixed feelings about the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews