We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
13
15
6
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
15
6
2
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 41 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We, a group of 20 family members with our pet dog, were at Fleetwood house for two nights on 23/24 Dec 12. We had chosen the place for its uniqueness and old world charm, knowing very well the presence of dogs and horses at this place. Let me assure you all that what has been written earlier by some people trashing this place is their personal view and not true at all. We had one of the best times together at this place as a 'coming together' of all cousins and their families and had whale of a time. Loved the entire experience, the hospitality, the courtesy extended by the staff and frequent interaction with the owner's son. It was a homely experience. We knew we are not in a "Hotel", we had gone to a "House", and a house it was. Do not expect hotel like things, but there is nothing that was left to be desired in taking our care by the staff. Food was cooked as per our liking and there was always plenty of it. The cost of stay was inclusive of food, but never did once the staff say no to our little different or extra requirements. Our pet probably never had so much attention before and had the best two days of its entire life. The trip was rejuvenating and refreshing. Will like to do that again. Well done guys at Fleetwood House, its owner and her son, pse continue the good work!!!!!!! Thanks and regards, Swaraj

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leothelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

fleetwood house is a charming old hill-station property. a good distance away from the hustle and bustle of the matheran market - it is the ideal place to 'get away' to. the atmosphere here is homely and warm - making you feel very relaxed. the food is home-cooked and delicious and the staff very friendly.

this is a place that will help you rejuvenate yourself when you're feeling run down. there are many spectacular walks that can be taken from this property and the outstanding natural beauty of matheran is truly on show here.

everything about this place transports you to a more peaceful state of mind. i cannot recommend it highly enough and would go back and stay here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main house are gloriously large, airy and have a beautiful old-world charm about them. the little cottages in the back are smaller and cosy and afford you a bit more privacy than the main house.
Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank miriam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

i see that most people have described the property the history and chronicled the 4 dogs and the 2 horses...well its not your regular hotel property...while a hotel room would restrict you to its 4 walls, fleetwood gives you freedom to move around, in the common spaces, the whole property is strewn with surprises in every corner...the common spaces, by the way they have excellent sit out zones, its a huge property with many hidden treasures, like there is a shiv temple, which has been quiet nicely built, the cottage has a beautiful growth of hibiscus behind..its not your usual hotel where you ring a bell and call for the usher, its a family property, its warm and its cozy, with excellent service at hand, its very beautiful and very well preserved, verry rustic...so if ur like the regular indian traveller, who doesnt like surprises, doesnt like to walk, just wants a room to stay in, wants to ring a bell for everything then my advice is stay away...but if ur someone who would like soak in a bit of history, wanna stay at a warm, comfortable place, doesnt mind walking around a bit, have patience to handle people and a few surprises then let me assure you you shall be richly rewarded with an unparalleled experience...its like being at home, being served with nice people, conversations over wine with the other guests and with the owner themselves, if you value all this then its your kind of place too, just as i enjoyed it.

Room Tip: we loved the cottage, its outthere, its serene and quiet, the letdown is that the toilet is outside but there is always a tradeoff i guess..
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishaal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think life stops outside the gate of Fleetwood House - one of the most natural, peaceful places I have ever been to. AT Fleetwood House is a FAB place where you can relax and chill like no other.

The house lets you travel back in time as it maintains the vintage legacy. Nature, peace and calm and some very friendly dogs and horses for company - this is by far the 'most perfect weekend getaway' EVER!

The place is extremely well-maintained, despite the torrential rains (I visited with a friend in July 2012) and that speaks very highly on the efforts taken on part of the owners to ensure that your experience at Fleetwood is memorable. The house is spacious and allows you unwind completely, the food is delicious and entire vibe of the place is just SO great.

If you need get away from the madness of Mumbai or just need some days off for some calm - Fleetwood House is your best bet.
MUST VISIT!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radhikahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in this awful place in Sept 2011. The furniture , linen, matresses were old, torn and smelt of mould (fungus). The place was badly kept and was extremely dirty. There were 4-5 stray dogs that sorrounded us every time we came out of our room. We got mislead by the photographs posted on the Internet. They should not take any bookings in the monsoon season if they wish to cover the entire place with plastic and suffocate the guests. Ofcourse we were not aware of this and they refused to take the plastic off. There was a total staff of two people. We had to ask 3-4 times to get a proper morning tea or hot water to bathe (bathrooms were not equipped with hot water facility). Food was average. It had been my worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank FlyHigh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews