We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Hotel as you enter to this small hill station of Matheran... Good Budget Hotel...!!!”
Review of Diwadkar hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diwadkar hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Matheran B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Hotel is very spacious from exterior but very campact rooms.
Room not well maintained but you cannot expect more in just 800/night but still good to stay or sleep, Dont be surprise if you find college students bunking college & ehjoyin their intimacy at this hotel.
The best part during stay is food which was very delicious & you can relax just outside the room which has dining table to enjoy your food.
Diwarkar Spcl Thali is must to try.

Room Tip: Front rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank YoloPrashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

Diwadkar hotel is situated right in front of Matheran station. I chose this hotel because the rent was pretty low (INR 1200 per night) and I was not sure whether we would have got room in another hotel had I thought of looking for another hotel. The hotel was poorly maintained, it is just a place where you can spend a night. The walls were dirty and light in the room was dim. The hot water is available between 8 AM to 10 AM. However the water was not hot enough and was muddy to some extent. So we avoided taking bath in the hotel (It rains a lot in Matheran, so choice was pretty easy!). The room service is pretty quick, which can be counted as best aspect of hotel. Overall hotel is just ok and one should avoid particularly if you are looking for stay of 2 days or more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank mandarchougule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Actually we went to this hotel for some relaxation with family. we found that there is good service but rooms are not so much good. more consusted ferniture n water is not so much good.

premise of hotel is good n green natured. but by road its too far for childrens. food is good quality. also veg nonveg is there. Bar is in hotel.

matheran is very good place n keeps its uniqueness for nature. there no vehicles alllowed in matheran. only horse riding is possible. but its more beneficial who wants fresh air.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank puneajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I love Matheran.The place is really incredibly beautiful with great natural unspoilt beauty..., It melted my heart the fisrt time i saw it I have already been there many times and i just dont seem to get tired of it....We have stayed in Hotel Diwadkar for two days.Very reasonable hotel..It was a season time & almost all hotels & resorts were overbooked so Diwadkar was the only option...This hotel experince was good. Market, Garden, Railway station everyhting is near by this hotel So it is very convinient to roam anywhere in Matheran..In hotel only 1 A/c room was there & we had booked the same ....,it was very big ,clean & tastefully decorated room (dont know about the non a/c rooms)...nice for group of 5-6 people..food was excellent as have lots of variety with very reasonable rates..
The staff was also OK, sometimes cooperative, sometimes reluctant, late...nyways it was pleasent to live there ...,we enjoyed those days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShwetaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

One hotel staff came to recive us (me and wife) at matheran railway stn(since hotel is very close to stn).We went there and saw the room which was just about ok.He told us that there is backup power if electricity fails and also hot water from 7 to 10 am and cold water 24hrs.Room rent was rs.350/night.We booked for 2 nights.But real surpise came when power went off in afternoon and there was no power backup as said.Later we came to know that hotel generator is out of service.
Next morning there was no hot water in tap so two buckets were brought for us.Second day power was cut from 10am to 3pm but we were saved as we were out.Bathroom was also not so clean.Overall a not so good experiance.
Food was little coslty but was good.Location of hotel is very near to railway stn so train honking disturbed us for some time.instead there are good options such as pont view hotel, hope hall hotel which we later came to know.Kumar plaza,richi rich are for higher budgets.
overall experiance is no so good.Not recommended for couples but bachlors can manage.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandeep_donde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.4 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Point View
Hotel Point View
#7 of 26 in Matheran
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#2 of 26 in Matheran
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roshan Residency
Roshan Residency
#11 of 26 in Matheran
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwadkar hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwadkar hotel

Address: Opp railway station, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Matheran
Price Range: $15 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing