We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so good experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Me and my husband had visited The Byke in the month of February 2014, the super deluxe room provided to us just adjacent to the directors room was not at all value for money. Although the room was large in size the amenities were not good. The old air conditioner was noisy, the sofa cover was torn, which displeased us. Although we were shifted to the next room upon request, our excitement was taken for a toss. Secondly just outside the super deluxe room the entire area was occupied with unused chairs making the whole ambience unpleasant. We could hardly bear with all this and left the resort immediately on the next morning although we had booked the room for one and a half day

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank SmitaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback following you stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran.

I am deeply disappointed to know that it was Not so good experience for you, which is very rare as you could see all the reviews for the resort is very good.

The super deluxe room is our base category of room meant for budgeted clients only and this may not have suited you. Although in the economy range, the room is kept in well maintained state. Further it is rare that unused chairs was kept there but it was only for some time as they have proper storage spaces.

Having said that, we constantly strive to excel in providing better holidaying experience to our valued guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and have made changes in the areas mentioned by you.

I invite you to visit us again and enjoy a warm hospitality experience that we are famous for.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    49
    16
    20
See reviews for
104
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good view, Excellent service, Nice rooms, good place to go with family as a lot of activities are designed to keep your family entertained all the time. But be careful of the monkeys as they are big menace. Only veg food is available.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room or bungalow's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulvinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much your valued feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran.

We were humbled to hear that you liked the rooms, its view, services and our in house games and activities.

The monkeys only come to you if they find you carrying a food items, however, otherwise harmless.

Pure Veg food is our speciality and well known for being delicious and mouth watering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The resort is one of the oldest in Matheran. It is actually built around the oldest bungalow in Matheran, a heritage structure.
The check-in was quick. The service so too.
The resort is huge. Rooms are large, but not necessarily airy. As also, since its nestled in loads of greenery, the rooms are devoid of natural light.
Another flip side is the constant trouble by bold monkeys, not the ones that can be scared easily. But, to their credit, we are visitors in their home, than the other way round!
The snacks offered by the resort in the evenings are good. A bit oily for my preferences, but tasty. Tea and coffee can taste a bit better. The food is good, but I recall having better food at this resort a few years ago.
Pool is just about an avg size; but highly chlorinated. Of course, no one goes there for actually swimming!
The disco in the late evg, post-dinner is a good idea to shake a leg and unwind a bit.
Unfortunately the credit card machine gave up at the time of our check-out. That did create a small problem since I was not carrying that much cash! It was luckily solved when I spoke to the management in Mumbai and arranged for a credit. They agreed to collect a cheque after a day or two!
Overall, it was a good short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pratiksinghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for feedback about the property, ambience, services and our food, following your stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran.

We were happy to know that you like the room size, the evening snacks and the other facilities.

The pool is well maintained and treated with standard dose of chlorine only.

We always keep striving for enhancement and you will find more delicious food during your next trip.

The monkeys only come to you if they find you carrying a food items, however otherwise harmless.

We are glad that our Mumbai team resolved your payment issue and would be glad to serve you again.

Best regards.

Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

A very silent n full of nature resort.....i stayed for 2 night....n my stay was very comfortable. ....staff was very cooperative n beware monkey their they will freak u out. Other then monkeys everything is good...food is good. Pool view rooms are very good with good toilets....disco theque is also good....

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, ambience, services and our food.

We were truly humbled to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our variety of facilities.

Extremely delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a joyous and memorable holiday. Of Course, the monkeys tend to be mischievous if they find you carrying a food items, however otherwise harmless.

We have shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.
Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

we were 2 families and were looking to spend weekend around mumbai we stayed in the byke but we did not book it before our arrival but read reviews on tripadvisor, we had a cottage with two rooms one on ground floor while another on first floor and we opted for including all meals and did not regret it, food is simply awesome , although they have fixed buffet system with lots of varieties you can still request chef for your demand , our kids wanted to have jain pav bhaji and chef was more then happy to prepare it, rooms are clean n good although old fashioned as its heritage property, pool is nice n hygienic, games zone is there, spa is not upto the mark if you are regular at spa you will find it futile okay for first timer, property is quite away from market and if you are nature lover you are gonna love long walk in matheran although horses are available but we preferred walking, mind you mahetran is exclusive no vehicle zone, overall a very good destination to relax n chill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandmardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran.

We were truly humbled to hear that you have enjoyed the room, discotheque and more specially our food, for which are famous. Our Chef is more than happy to abide by your demand.
We have noted your suggestions for the SPA and will review the same.
We are very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable holiday.

We have also shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.
Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

It was my first time to matheran and like my previous travels i always went by the reviews and feedbacks from tripadvisor and i have never been dissapointed . :)


some tips If you are planing on going to matheran please plan in such a way you are planing for a short holiday like 2 nights max and as far as reaching matheran is concerned . Take a train towards Karjat from the central line , You will find the frequency from CST is quiest less to karjat , The smarter alternative is to reach Thane or Kalyan Juncution and catch the trains orginating from Thane . At neral you will find the toy trains for matheran please plan your arrival at neral according to the toy train schedule . If you have landed up at nearl and you dont have a train anytime soon for matheran ... dont worry .!! just walk out of stationa and you can find Shared cabs the rates are fixed as per the union so ask for the challan always on sharing it cost 70 rs per person and in a cab max of 5 ppl . and you can book a full cab for 350 rs . The taxi will take you till aman lodge . From Aman lodge you can either choose the toy train service or walk

So once you reach matheran station Hotel BYKE is just 10-15 mins walk . i would recommend walking and not horse riding cause its nice to walk around in matheran through the market place .

The rooms are fantastic , neat and clean and service is just perfect you get regular reminders for your breakfast , lunch and dinner , and if you are booking at BYKE please do book with complete meals included . The food is just delicious and you will love it .

This hotel is a complete veg hotel so no non-veg option . Drinks are avaiable and there is a nice swimming pool , Table tennis , Snooker , and a nice kareoke center , and also you can shake a leg as there is a nice disco lounge .

All in all fantastic expereince and you will love it ...!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Shreyas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran.

It was kind of you to mention your travel experience to benefit the others.

We were truly humbled to hear that you have enjoyed the room, discotheque and more specially our food, for which are famous.

We are very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable holiday.

We have also shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.
Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Visited this hotel in the first week of Feb 2014. Booked this hotel especially because they provide accommodation for 1.5 days which is a boon if you are travelling from Pune/Mumbai. This place is situated away from the Matheran market so be ready to walk a bit (of course you can always go for a horse ride but if you are a fond of walking then nothing like it). Once you enter the hotel property, you get to know why it's called heritage. It well spread out with nicely placed room (not congested at all). Food over here is great. You only get veg variety but it's awesome. For lunch you get thali and well spread out outdoor dinner in the evening with live music. Rooms are also very good, though they lack some of the modern touches (it's heritage after all !). In the outdoor they have swimming pool which is clean and lots of places for relaxation. Ideal location for a lazy vacation.
Only problem with this hotel is Monkey. You will see them in abundance and very mischievous (though this is nothing special about this hotel, Monkeys are there everywhere in Matheran).

Room Tip: Go for pool side room. Pls. make sure to book your room online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke Heritage - Matheran, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, ambience, services and our food.

We were truly humbled to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our variety of facilities.

Extremely delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a joyous and memorable holiday. Of Course, the monkeys tend to be mischievous if they find you carrying a food items, however otherwise harmless.

We have shared your comments with the entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts in providing guests with an experience that exceeds their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.
Mihir Sarkar, VP, The Byke Group of Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#208 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
16.0 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Heritage - Matheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Property: The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Heritage - Matheran 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Byke Heritage - Matheran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing