We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place”
Review of Sayeban Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sayeban Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Decent place to stay in Matheran. Food is included and not bad. The menu is decided by the hotel. Also, there is no dining hall as such, just some outdoor sitting.

There is no net connection contrary to advertisement. They also donot accept cards. Did not find an ATM in Matheran.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
28
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

First, I am not associated with Sayeban, just found it online. It was a great place to stay for a few nights.

It was not on the main road, so it was quiet, but the staff were always around and very helpful. It was easy to find and is conveniently located. Mr. Iqbal was accommodating and answered lots of questions for us. The room was clean, and the food was good. We enjoyed the outside dining area.

Hot water only available for two hours in the morning, but I think that's normal in Matheran.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zambiakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel Sayeban,Matheran is an average hotel.THe AC double rooms are good,although very compact.The older rooms(Non AC) are terrible & best avoided.Place is serene & calm.Food is good for Non Veg.Easily accessible from the main market.The manager Iqbal is always busy on mobile phone(Never seen him without it,even walks around talking on mobile) & insists the guests vacate the room sharp at check out time,not even a few minutes grace time ,which is really ridiculous.Not very helpful.
On the contrary,the room boys provide excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

this hotel is very near to main market. for veg people food is very limited. staff is very cooperative. rooms are ok. location is also ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank waveszoom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is v good for family people who look forward for peaceful change from d normal routine, the staff and the food both are good and the atmosphere is calm, as well the hotel is located nearby the market and the station, so the reaching is very comfortable.

I had a comfortable stay with my family and there were no male members with us, however the atmosphere is very safe and comfortable.
I appreciate the good nature of the staff who are friendly and helptful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruku_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

When we reached in Matheran, many hotel's agents tried to take us to their hotels but when I said i have already booked Sayeban, they politely said that its a very good hotel....such is the image of hotel largely through the polite, professional staff and owner. We had booked hotel for 1 night with all meals inclusive through calling them and depositing money (about 2000/-). Food is top class and room though small, we forgot this point compared to warm welcome throughout our stay for 24 hrs. They explained us whole sightseeing places in detail and gave us a pumplet for reference....Talking about food, it is un-limited with exellent quality keeping in mind the oil content and all like home....Its home away from home.

Room Tip: Opt for larger room because basic room is really small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank heavenindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

the new ac rooms were quite ok, sourrounding also is quite, just 10mins walk from the station, food too was quite decent, for 1700 a night per couple with food was quite a good bargain.
would definitely stay in this hotel on my next visit.

Room Tip: ac rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#229 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
10.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
16.9 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayeban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayeban Hotel

Property: Sayeban Hotel
Address: Plot No 171 Kasturba Road, Matheran 412001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing