We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Woodside matheran”
Review of Woodside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Woodside matheran”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Had two days stay at the Hotel. Booked thru internet. Good hospitality, decent clean rooms and outstanding food. Location serene and strategic. Will strongly recommend to anyone looking for an enjoyable stay in Matheran. I for one will surely choose Woodside for my next trip to Matheran.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank amkul60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dombivali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I have stayed at this place in august 2011 and would personally recommend NOT to book room at thishotel, forget about food quality, the room was dirty and the bed sheets and pillows had fungus, sticky substances on it..hence no need to say about the restrooms and bathrooms...Please avoid it...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

the place is small but staff quiet competent . we usually stay at The byke every but due to shortage of cash we opted for this.
1] place is small but well maintained
2] away from market so no noise
3] food is the best part of it . freshly prepared without any artificial or radymade spices.
best food in entire matheran mild, light yet good taste
4] the owner himself is an architech so maximum utilization of available space
5]staff is good ,cooperative

but a few negatives
1] small ambiance
2] monkeys

overall i will like to give 98% to the hotel
disadvantages

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doctorshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambarnath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you are searching for a good inn in matheran,go to woodside ,the staff is very quick and affectionate,also the food quality makes like thaat u are having homemade food and hygenic,only the problem is that the rooms in rainy are damp and beware of monkeys but overall saying its a very good deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 143Abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I visited this place last monsoon and got the booking done directly from their mumbai office. The place promised to be a good weekend getaway.
We reached the hotel on a damp saturday night and were warmly welcomed by the staff. Since we were the last party to arrive at the hotel we were given a large duplex room near the kitchen. Initially we thought that this would mean constant traffic of people, in reality it wasnt so. Over the next two days the staff took good care of us. All meals are included in the rate. The food is vegetarian and homely, You may get bored of having the same kind of food after a couple of days.
Room - The place is an large old bungalow... so the rooms arent great nor is the view. However the view from the portico makes up it. The bathrooms are old with no running hot water facilities. Sheets are not changed often nor are the very clean (like most hotels in Matheran).
I really hope that the owners revamp this old place cause it has some great potential.
Tip - if you pay by credit card at the mumbai office do ensure they dont bill you in Euros. I got an unnecessary foreign currency conversion charge on my domestic credit card.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GautamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel offers very comfortable & nice stay with great food option. The cost is also very reasonable. Compare to the food along with the good accommodation that it offers; Worth. Little outside market, towards Dasturi. Hotel need to provide more breakfast like meals.
Also, please keep the doors closed, as you may get a Monkey as a visitor in a room (We lost our big Fanta bottle). Staff is very good & courteous.
Suggested to take a/c rooms as the non a/c rooms are without gyser & provides hot water only in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms are good, clean, but basic. Almost all the rooms are with DBL bed, few with extra bed inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlyNil1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Booked this hotel through a trek agency in Mumbai, as the plan to visit Matheran came up impromptu and no other option to book in advance through a travel website.

The rooms were full of moisture (rainy season), even the bed was almost wet..couldn't sleep properly at night. Add to that monkey menace - if you leave windows open all kind of insects and monkeys creep in.

The garden and the play area was good in the morning. Did some yoga there and had breakfast with the cool wind blowing in. It was quite relaxing. Playted some carrom and chess at night, provided by the hotel.

Food was pathetic - typical indian thali in dhaba types- that leaves you desiring that you never had it in the first place. Had to order snacks with beer from outside, as no bar.

Room service was also slow, as they dont have many people. Infact same 3-4 ppl cover everything from kitchen to reception to room service.

The jungle starts right below from the hotel gate so you can take a trek easily.

All in all, a bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amit123_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#229 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Mahatma Gandhi Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing