We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE SERVICE!”
Review of The Lakehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lakehouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I come to Geneve-on-the-Lake at least three times a year and will never come to this winery again. I found a Living Social voucher and called before buying it. I spoke with Cheryl who GUARANTEED that I could rent the Beach House with an additional fee. When I called back to make the reservation they tell me Cheryl was wrong. I explained that the only reason I bought the voucher was because Cheryl told me I could rent the Beach House. This was also explained to Cheryl before purchase. After talking to two additional people I was refused booking of the Beach House. Thank you, I am not out $250. I will make it a point to tell everyone I know about this.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea B, Owner at The Lakehouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

I’m so sorry that we had an error in communication. I know that you were so excited about purchasing our special discounted package with Living Social to bring your husband here to enjoy some time away. When you called and asked if the Beach House was available for the dates you mentioned I did say yes. When you spoke about the Living Social you asked how much would it cost to upgrade to the Beach House and I told you $100. I’m sorry if I failed to communicate the rest of the information to you to understand that ONLY IF the Beach House was unoccupied when you arrived could you upgrade to that.

If you read the return policy stated on your voucher you will see that LivingSocial gives you up to 30 days to return your unused escapes voucher for a full refund.

With sincerest apologies,
Cheryl Connors
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 548 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed there for a girls weekend. Everything was wonderful! The inn was comfortable and very clean. The food at their restaurant was excellent.would highly recommend it! We stay ther every summer. The deck overlooking the lake is so relaxing . Very convenient to have a winery on the premises.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljutwi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our room was wonderful. Great view of the lake. The staff was able to answer our questions and give us recommendations. The food was among the best we'd ever had. A true "getaway" experience. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I'd recommend either room # 8 or the Beach House for the best views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a wonderful & relaxing time - right on the shores of Lake Erie! Beautiful views, wonderful staff, great food and cozy. I am ready to go back. They have a wonderful staff, they have great service, a beautiful restaurant/bar overlooking the lake, beautiful patio. They serve you a full breakfast everyday and the food is very good. You can have the breakfast of the day or order whatever you want. It is close to all of the wineries located there but yet far enough away to be off the beaten path. Loved it!

Room Tip: I had a room with 1 King bed. A tight squeeze but OK if you are just sleeping there. You have a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first stay at the Lakehouse Inn and found it to be outstanding! The suite was meticulously kept, beautiful views of the lake, and breakfast hearty and delicious. Staff was helpful and friendly. Had lunch at the Crosswinds where I understand they make their wine and wood fired oven for pizza - - very nice!

Will definitely make this a regular trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbtruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Lakehouse Inn is truly a relaxing getaway spot. We wanted to take a short vacation to wind
down before the holidays and this is the place to do it. The accomodations are great and the breakfast is super. All of the personnel are very pleasant and always trying to help you enjoy
your stay. This is our third stay at the Lakehouse and won't be our last. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed Rooms 1 and 2--the King bedrooms. Very accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Lake House is a Gem in Geneva on the Lake. The apple cide wine was fantastic, the food at the Crosswinds Grille was inviting and the inn was everything one would expect from a high end inn. The breakfast the next morning was beyond delightful and would highly recommend to anyone.

The only suggestion I would make would be mattress pads on the rather firm beds and a better selection of pillows. Wonderful time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
437 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.3 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
87 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse Inn

Address: 5653 Lake Rd E, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: $113 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakehouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern shore of Lake Erie, The Lakehouse Inn is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Enjoy fabulous sunsets, award winning wines, delicious local cuisine and relaxing spa services all in one location. The B&B is also within walking distance of Genenva-on-the-Lake attractions and a short drive from local wineries, covered bridges, the Metroparks biking/hiking trails and Historic Ashtabula Harbor. We are less than an hour from Cleveland and Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lakehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse Hotel Geneva On The Lake
The Lakehouse Inn Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing