We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise by the lake”
Review of The Lakehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lakehouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A little paradise by the lake”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

You want to enjoy a quiet stay on the shore of Lake Erie : this is the place. This family-run hotel is a good choice. The beautiful terraces and the warm welcome make it a good choice. Only disagreement : some rooms are a bit noisy since it is a pretty light construction. Breakfast are good and plentiful and the wine list is full of quite good items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl_loertscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    98
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
52
341
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Lakehouse Inn is a beautiful, well maintained property on the Lake Erie shoreline in Northeastern Ohio. The Bed & Breakfast has become my "home" whenever I visit the area. The facility also has a terrific restaurant called Crosswinds Grille right on the property which serves delicious "upscale" meals. There is also a wine tasting room featuring The Lakehouse Inn's own wines which are quite good. All of the staff - including the staff that cooks and serves the terrific breakfasts each morning - is extremely friendly, courteous and efficient. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation spot with beautiful scenery, great food and friendly, attentive service....this is definitely the place....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Lakehouse Inn is like stepping into another world. You feel like you are at a vacation resort ( not typical for that area). The Inn and grounds were spotless and so well maintained. The staff was excellent - very helpful and friendly. The decks overlooking the lake are fabulous and beautifully landscaped. What a view! Breakfast was delicious and creative. We were more than pleased with our experience and will return. We stayed in the Lake Erie suite overlooking the lake- a little more expensive, but well worth the money.

Room Tip: The Lake Erie suite has a wonderful view and was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have already told our friends and family about the beautiful grounds, wonderful inn, gracious hosts , great wine and restaurant. But wait there's more !! This year's addition is a beautiful , new Spa. Had the enjoyment of a couple of services including a customized facial which was wonderful. There is an assortment of individual services, packages, and great monthly specials that have something for everyone in a variety of prices. ... facials, massages, mani's , pedi's , hair and skin treatments. Some even include lunch or a glass of wine. Staff was attentive, and gave great personalized service. They have girl's special spa packages and are going to start an evening special of mini services. Spa is open to all and you don't have to stay at the inn to go to the spa. It is located at the Inn's property across the street. ... Incidently the grounds at the inn are particularly gorgeous this year. Spend some time having wine on one of the patios overlooking the lake. Had another great meal at Crosswinds - Grouper that was perfectly cooked ...and the fried perch. Have never been disappointed with the seafood.... Incidently the weather was just AWFUL this weekend...and we had a GREAT time!!, because of the staff, food, wine and the wonderful people that we always seem to meet who stay at the inn

Room Tip: Suites on the second floor will give you more room and have jacuzzi tubs and are more private that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAT_AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a week-end get away. What a charming place! We got a king size bed room, and while they are not huge rooms, it was clean and comfortable. The hospitality simply can not be matched. From the wonderful breakfasts, coffee tea and lemonade always available,helpful information as to the surrounding area, breathtaking grounds, and wonderful restaurant and winery it was a perfect week-end!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmherstCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at The Lakehouse Inn on July 30 and 31st with another couple. We both had a wonderful time and would highly recommend for others to book a room at this charming B&B. We checked in and were able to relax immediately with fresh baked cookies, iced tea and lemonade.
Next, we relaxed by the lake with a wonderful breeze and a bottle of wine from the winery.
Our dinner at Crosswinds Grille was perfect. We appreciated the inn letting us know to make reservations so we could be seated immediately.
The next day we walked to the strip and then drove around Ashtabula County and toured a number of wineries in the area. We were pleasantly surprised at the variety of wines we were able to sample at reasonable prices (Ferrante, Debonne, South River, Old Firehouse, and, of course, The Lakehouse Inn winery!).
The breakfasts were yummy (pecan waffles, cinnamon french toast, eggs. home fries, bacon, sausage, yogurt/fruit cups). The rooms were compact, but clean, and the bed was comfy for us. Our favorite part was just relaxing while on the grounds watching the waves lap against the shore and admiring the beautiful surroundings. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cardinalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 night "get-away" before the school year begins. If you are in the area you MUST stay here. The view is unmatched, the staff is friendly, breakfast is delicious and the wine is fabulous. The rooms are clean and cozy and my husband says the plumbing is terrific (leave it to a man to notice that:). We will be back. Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: if you can get a suite on the 2nd floor you won't be disappointed. The bedding is soooo comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
17.9 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
94 reviews
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
83 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse Inn

Property: The Lakehouse Inn
Address: 5653 Lake Rd E, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakehouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern shore of Lake Erie, The Lakehouse Inn is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Enjoy fabulous sunsets, award winning wines, delicious local cuisine and relaxing spa services all in one location. The B&B is also within walking distance of Genenva-on-the-Lake attractions and a short drive from local wineries, covered bridges, the Metroparks biking/hiking trails and Historic Ashtabula Harbor. We are less than an hour from Cleveland and Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lakehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse Hotel Geneva On The Lake
The Lakehouse Inn Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing