We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Dinner at the Crosswinds”
Review of The Lakehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lakehouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
465 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Dinner at the Crosswinds”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Ran into friends who had reservations on Sunday june 5 at Crosswinds. Since Sunday is a quieter day, was able to up the rservations to 4 people. Several new items on menu. Tried the pork chop and it was WONDERFUL.. The other 3 people has loved the perch before and could not pass it up again. Both the fried and broiled perch got great reviews. Dinner did not disappoint . Waitress was both attentive and personable. If you are looking for Nice , adult , alternative to fast food...this is it. Weather cooperating and outside dining could not have been better. if you are looking for a quieter day to dine, I would recommend Sunday. However, with the new dinner reservation system on Friday and Saturday, things are much more streamlined. But even when it is crazy on Friday and Saturday, get a glass of wine and sit in one of the Beautiful landscapped areas.. Great adult / couple place to hang out !!! (Dined only ...did not stay at in this time)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAT_AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    91
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
49
331
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an overnighter. It was just ok. We had a very small room that was modestly furnished. The staff was not overly friendly and though the B and B was very slow, they did not appear to go over and above in any way for us. We had a decent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethT_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We celebrated our 10th anniversary here in the Sunset Suite. It was a great room, and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. It is not inexpensive, but you get a lot of space. The beds were very comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was great. Very relaxing and enjoyable. The property was very nice, good view of the lake, lots of places to sit, relax and enjoy some wine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ScullyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Purchased a groupon for 2 nights. We were booked in a 2 bedroom cottage. When we walked into the cottage it smelled like mildew and I felt like I stepped back into time. The place is dated and worn and we both decided there was no way we were staying. We went to the tasting included in our stay and what a joke. Little plastic pill cups with awful tasting wine. We were giving a little cup of 4 nuts, a small serving of warm bread (the highlight of our one hour stay) and a few slices of cheese and apple. We couldn't find a decent place in town for a meal. Turn back to the highway as fast as we could! Home never looked so good after our visit here! DO NOT WASTE YOUR GAS!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vickisul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amb0915, Owner at The Lakehouse Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
This guest had purchased a living social escapes package that entitled the guest to stay two nights in either a cottage or a traditional room with a full breakfast each morning as well as two wine tasting trays, two souvenir wine glasses, a cheese plate and a bottle of wine for $160. When the reservation was made this guest chose a cottage instead of a room in the Bed & Breakfast.

We received a call from this guest a few days prior to her arrival wanting to change the reservation that she had made three months ago because the weather forecast was calling for rain and she did not want to come when it was raining. Unfortunately, we had no other dates available for her to use with the living social voucher and advised her of that. She then stated that she had looked online and the cottages were not up to her standards for accommodations. Again, we politely advised the guest that the reservation was made three months ago and being that she was scheduled to arrive in a few days, we had nothing else available.

On the day this guest was scheduled to arrive it was raining- we had a full house of guests that arrived that day and everyone else made plans that did not involve being outdoors. Within five minutes of this guest checking in she came back to the front desk and informed us that she & her husband were leaving. As to her disdain over the wine tasting, the 10 samples of wine were poured into plastic cups, however, each tasting tray includes a souvenir wine glass so that the samples can be poured into the glass to be tasted and appreciated along with several types of cheese, pepperoni, apple slices, dried fruit, nuts and fresh bread.

A mind that is set that they will be disappointed will find exactly what they want to find and that was the case with this scenario. It was unfortunate that this guest was not willing to give our facility or the area a chance. I hope the numerous reviews that rave about our facility and staff will give future guests a better picture of what they can expect at The Lakehouse Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My daughter and I went up for the weekend to relax. We had a great time, and the people at the Inn treated us so well, and made everything perfect! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e0r1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed only one night, but it was perfect. It was off season, so very quiet and cozy. We practically had the beach to ourselves. Lovely breakfast. We stayed in the Sunset Suiet and it was so nice. The bedding, the view. Very relaxing and just what we needed. Next time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebeandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This is just the date of our last stay.... My sister and I have gone to The Lakehouse 2-3 times per year for fun and relaxation since it opened and we ALWAYS have a great time.
Typically we stay for 2 nights and we usually rent a cottage, but no matter how long we stay or where we sleep, we are treated wonderfully and we are well taken care of. The grounds are gorgeous and every year something surprising and more beautiful is added. I am not sure there is anything more relaxing than sitting on one of the decks overlooking the lake and sipping a glass (or bottle!) of Lakehouse wine during a fabulous sunset. (Well, I guess drinking my coffee out there first thing in the morning is equally as soothing!)
We have participated in most of the events: wine tours, mystery dinners, etc and we have never been disappointed. The live music nights are a blast! We meet and hang out with new friends each time. Going to The Lakehouse is like going home to meet family... old and new.
My sister is going to laugh when she reads this... We always jokingly say... "Shhhh, don't tell anyone we found heaven in Geneva-On-The-Lake. Let's keep it all to ourselves." And then we go and tell everyone on earth...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn_D_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
17.9 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
408 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
77 reviews
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
81 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse Inn

Property: The Lakehouse Inn
Address: 5653 Lake Rd E, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakehouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern shore of Lake Erie, The Lakehouse Inn is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Enjoy fabulous sunsets, award winning wines, delicious local cuisine and relaxing spa services all in one location. The B&B is also within walking distance of Genenva-on-the-Lake attractions and a short drive from local wineries, covered bridges, the Metroparks biking/hiking trails and Historic Ashtabula Harbor. We are less than an hour from Cleveland and Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lakehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse Hotel Geneva On The Lake
The Lakehouse Inn Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing