We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a great place to relax”

Sandy Chanty Seafood Restauraunt
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and a great place to relax”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Chef Pat does an excellent job of preparing outstanding seafood. She has a great variety of quality food. We always stop when we are in town. The shooting gallery is just an added bonus!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaelleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    7
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tricked”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Bartender built this place up to have great homemade food. Service was horrible...took forever. Food was not homemade...bread out of bag with cold margarine smeared all over it...frozen veggies and what tased like pasta out of a can. We complained and everyone ran and hid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunde01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crabby patties”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Worst dining experience of our lives! !!! Never go here! We won a lobster in the ever-so-classy lobster machine in the lobby. We came back the next day to have it and they didn't even ask us if we wanted anything else. We finally asked for an appetizer. We ordered the lobster dip which was a pile of buttery mush and some stale bread. We were confused about ordering anymore food because we had 3 different waiters and they were all miserable! The wait staff somehow found time to Come out to turn on the old shooting gallerey which was outragoisly loud and obnoxious. We finally just asked for the check after waiting an hour for our lobster dinner then the chef came out to yell at us!!!! She scared us into staying so we waiting another 20 mins then the chef came back and DROPPED a dead lobster onto our table! JUST a lobster which was leaking green fluid and dirty water. We were so repulsed that we just asked for the bill. Our bill was 22.00 and we left 25 due to the horrible food and service. One of our three waiters followed us out the door and yelled at us ON THE STREET about the tip!! DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE! It's gross and scary!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Diners, dives and drive throughs”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Unique and food was great. Servers very friendly and courteous. If you're looking for romantic setting and pristine appearance fuggetta about it, but food especially lobster lasagna, then enjoy enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun family lunch - Thanks to Chef Pat and staff”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family of 11 - 5 adults and 6 children - really enjoyed our visit. We had a reservation for lunch on a Saturday. Watching the unique 1920s shooting gallery was fun and my seafood primavera was delicious - filled with asparagus, and perfectly cooked shrimp and scallops. The red trout was a hit, as well. Chef Pat and the server made a special effort to make us feel welcome and gave us personalized service including jello and a large package of stickers for each child.

The dinner was a splurge for us - pretty expensive - and the place could use some sprucing up, but we plan to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teachgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Chanty Seafood Restauraunt also viewed

Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Sandy Chanty Seafood Restauraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing