We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Somewhere Else!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pera's Motel Apartments
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is beyond a dump. The beds are so thin - I could barely walk when I woke up. The whole room was a step back in time - a time I would like to forget. The pool looked nice until you got up close. The filtration system is not working - so no filter - it was absolutely disgusting. I tried cleaning it out with the skimmer, but it is so dirty and nasty that I gave up. Take my advice and go somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKeefe923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    4
    15
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed here a few times. Each time we ask ourselves "why are we staying in this dump?" I don't mind paying seasonal prices, but it would be nice to get a room that coordinates with the prices charged!
The rooms are a total throw back to the 50 or 60's era, carpet is crunchy-I always take slippers/sandals.
The applicances are quit dated. We had a mini frig and a large 1950's frig in our kitchen/living room area.
Neither frig was plugged in and we had to buy ice to chill our beverages and keep our food cold. The stove
emitted a gas smell, so we kept the window cracked open. Complaining would probably not achieve any great rewards. So, we didn't bother the manager, she was very nice. Back in the day this motel was probably a beauty, but after all these years, it has to be paid off, invest a little of that money back in, so people will have a better place to stay! Approach with caution.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyncity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Geneva on the Lake hotels

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Aw c'mon now, what did you expect...the Hilton ? We stayed here twice this year and it's not the most luxurious place, but the rooms were adequate and the sheets were fresh. The pool maintainers were there twice checking chlorine & ph levels the day we swam.
Donna, the manager, is wonderful. Had coffee made for us every morning and had good conversation. Really like her, made our stay more enjoyable...
We have stayed at other cottages/rooms at Geneva in the past, and they were all in need of an update of some sort...So overall, yes, we will stay at Pera's again next summer.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank the7ofusPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is one of the worst dumps I have ever stayed at. It's advertised as 1950's era motel, and they're right. It hasn't been updated since it was built. The carpet in our room was so filthy I didn't even want to take my shoes off to walk on it. The bathroom was so small only one person could fit in it at a time. The shower stall was so small you would hit your elbows on the sides while showering. Chest of drawers was so dilapidated you could barely open a drawer without it almost falling apart. We had a small kitchenette in out room, and I smelled gas from the stove while we were there. I was afraid we were going to blow up!
I am not picky, and I never complain, but the owners of this place need to clean up before the place is comdemned.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank amborgPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Although we did not stay in the Pera's Motel Apartments, we did stay in the McColl House, which is owned by the same people that own the Motel. I have never seen anything so filthy and unkempt! Now, you need to understand that neither of us has anything against "old", but we ARE interested in cleanliness. This place needed some SERIOUS attention!!

The furniture should be set on the curb for trash pickup. It was ripped, horribly stained (disgusting), and filthy!! We were not comfortable sitting on it at all. That left us with the wood chairs from the dining room table. We first washed the table and each chair with a bleach solution three times, covered the table in plastic, and used a clean sheet brought from home as a table cloth. That, honestly, was our only salvation as far as seating and table top service to prepare our meals to cook, as the kitchen was also filthy. We did, however, clean with bleach the countertops to be safe, so that helped.

Some of the bedrooms were supplied with a wood vanity/dresser, but there was no way either of us could have used it other than to set our bags on top of it due to the filth. We only set our towels, pillows, etc. on top of our bags, as we did not want to set them on the gross furniture. We were informed by another family member who arrived a few days earlier to definitely bring pillows and plastic to cover the mattresses before we put our sheets on them, which we did, but there was still quite an uneasy feeling about sleeping in those beds, which brings me to another thing--the mattresses!!! They sucked! They had to be 50 years old (saggy and dirty) and once again creepy! The bed frames were like fold-up cot frames--weird!

The shower was a little bizarre. It was as though they added on a tiny little closet at the end of the hall and put a bogus, flimsy shower in it. However, it was at least a useable shower. It was a small, claustrophobic space separate from the bathroom (toilet and sink), so you basically had to shower, peek out the door to be sure no one else was in the upstairs area, and run to your bedroom so you could get dressed. Oh, and you had to wear flip-flops not only while taking your shower, but during your entire stay for fear of getting a foot fungus from the dirty--and I mean DIRTY--asbestos tile floors!! The water in the upstairs bathroom would not completely shut off--what a waste! The downstairs toilet had a "Detroit lean", which leaned toward the wall when you sat on it. Hmmmmmm--wonder if the floor may have been rotted underneath!!?? Don't know. There was also a claw foot tub in the downstairs bathroom. However, none of us had the guts to step into it for a bubble bath!!!

We were there during quite a heat wave. There is no air conditioning, which we knew, so we can not really complain about that, but nearly every window had no screens in them. Therefore, you could not open them for a little air flow!! The curtains on the windows had to be from the 1930's or 1940's, at least. They were stained, delapidated and tattered. Very creepy!!!! We found only two doors, plus the entry door, that actually closed completely. If you have arachnophobia, this would be the worse place for you : )

We did swim at the pool at the Pera's Motel. It was okay; however it could have been cleaner. We skimmed it ourselves to get some of the dirt and leaves out.

On a positive note, we didn't have to spend much time there, as we were able to get out and enjoy the water, wineries, and entertainment. The side yard was large and faced the "strip" so you could people watch, while enjoying the company of family. There were clotheslines in the front porch to hang your bath and beach towels on since there was hardly anything to use in the shower and bathrooms, and no one was going to lay them out on the furniture to dry. There was also a TV in the living room which, surprisingly, was hooked up to cable--oh, and it actually worked!!!! Also on a positive note, the beach was close by--just a couple of minutes walk away.

One would expect that the owners would take some of the rental monies and put it into some updating and hire someone to clean after each rental week is complete. I know that place has not been cleaned in months, maybe even years! We paid over $800 for just one week. This tallies out to over $3000 per month during the summer. They obviously are just collecting and hanging on to their money! I don't understand how the Health Department lets them get away with renting a place with such an--what I would consider--unhealthy environment.

In conclusion, if you are thinking about renting this place, I would say run as fast as you can away from it--even if it is the only place with a vacancy!!!! These owners DO NOT deserve your hard-earned money!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere, oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place would be nice if the owner's would just give it some attention. IT's obvious they don't give hoot, just the money. The location was the ONLY thing going for it. The manager is nice and personable. The REST....PATHETIC. The room was filthy, full of cob webs, ants, bugs. Furniture ripped, dirty, toilets awful, it smalled awful. The carpeting so old ...I can go on...I am surprised that the health department hasn't cracked down on them. Maybe they are paying them off.
Because of how run down it is ...even the clientele didn't care---it is unrateable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariaforwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

This place needs some searious updating. The "metal" furniture had to original but it was not the furniture that bother us. When my wife rolled down the bed sheets we found a dead bumble bee and a small worm that was still alive. Spiders were all over the room. I would recommend staying far away from this hole in the wall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.0 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#3 of 5 in Austinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera's Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera's Motel Apartments

Property: Pera's Motel Apartments
Address: 4944 Golf Ave, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9717
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Pera's Motel Apartments Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing