We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine weekend getaway at the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rural Ridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wine weekend getaway at the Lodge”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Lodge at Geneva on the Lake, OH. It was well kept, clean, and the staff helpful. The rooms could use a little upgrading, but they were suitable. The hiking and biking trails that link to the adjacent state park were a wonderful place to exercise in the morning and wind down in the evening. Adding to the fun is the myriad of beautiful wineries in the region. There is an indoor and outdoor pool at the hotel, bikes to rent, movies in the lobby, and a great patio with fire pits where you can watch the sun set over Lake Erie.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and able to walk out onto the grounds from our doors. The uppe ar floor...
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked the recycle bins in the rooms and lobby. Was a good reminder to recycle those water bottles.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    363
    91
    27
    20
See reviews for
367
624
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I came to the Lodge for a romantic getaway weekend. Our room was nicely appointed, well designed and clean. What really "wowed" us was the four-story lobby area with the stone fireplace - a really nice place to relax and enjoy each other's company. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Sorry to say that we were not overwhelmed with the Horizon restaurant. The dinner offerings were limited and pricey, but at breakfast (buffet style), we were completely ignored until I got up to pour myself a cup of coffee, only to have a young waiter ask me if someone was waiting on us, apologize profusely, but then never return again! The hotel's wi-fi is also completely anemic, as was the computer in the lobby. However, the beautiful building, comfortable beds, and great view of Lake Erie will bring us back again.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces Lake Erie, the other side does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awblenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent two nights in May just getting away from Cleveland. On the plus side, the site was gorgeous as usual despite rain. I had a double queen room on the 1st floor, which is not as nice as the Deluxe King room I had had previously. A little worn appearing, and the heat/refrigerator a little loud.
Saturday night had Bar Food --excellent cheeseburger and adequate local wine. Fun live music, and a happy crowd.
Sunday had massage at nearby LakeHouse Inn Spa---excellent massage by Kammie. Will return.

Room Tip: Deluxe king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My mom has wanted to go here...so for Mother's Day we made a weekend of it. The location is beautiful. The view of lake Erie is great. The front desk staff were not overly pleasant or able to provide area information. The restaurant was over priced for what was offered. The menu could have been more chef oriented. The bar area was open and staff attentive. Only one TV which t made it difficult to watch Cleveland Indians and Hockey play-offs. The sound in the hallways carried way too much. A father and his son were walking, not talking loud, but every word was easily heard. The toilet kept flushing itself all night (sometimes less than minutes apart). The ambiance was great. Very good for a week end away with your honey. The Lodge is very close in to several wineries. The staff at all wineries were very pleasant. There was a problem with the Wine Shuttle. It was NOT the shuttle service. There was a bridal party actually behind us that held up the entire process due to the poor behavior and conduct. The Lodge actually removed the cost of the Wine Shuttle from our bill. This was very nice of them. I would return again, when it's warmer and could participate in more outdoor activities. As there are 2 pools, bike and hike trails and lots of walking around the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years. We needed a get away and had not been here since last summer. As always a clean and lovely hotel. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing, the pool was warm and clean as always. The outdoor hot tub was available! I didn't know that ahead of time, would have been a great update via Facebook or email. We would have most likely made a winter trip. The Lodge has changed a lot over the years. We were a bit disappointed in some of the changes. No longer is complimentary coffee/tea made available. There are coffee makers in the rooms with 2 regular, 1 decaf, and 1 tea pods available. We have always used the coffee in the room and then enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tea. I don't like Tea brewed through a coffee maker, it always tastes like coffee to me. When asking about this, the desk clerk told us that we can buy more coffee pods in the gift shop. I know that it isn't her fault, but the correct customer service response should have been, "I will be happy to get you a cup of coffee and tea." At one point there was a little coffee shop available. Even that would be nice to have back. They had coffees, teas, and fruit and doughnuts there. I know there is a restaurant with breakfast service, but we are not big breakfast eaters. Breakfast room service would be wonderful!
The level of service seems to have been cut down due to making money. The prices are premium at the Lodge and I would hope that the service would be at the same level. When we first started coming here they had access to bicycles for the guests, now there is a charge. The same with the Winery shuttle. Guests should have that available for them without a charge. I would love to see the Lodge offer a Frequent Guest rewards program of some type. We are planning on returning this summer, and can't wait to see a lovely Lake Erie Sunset. I know the staff at the lodge takes customer suggestions into account, so perhaps they will have a solution for the coffee and think about a customer loyalty program. Looking forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: We like the pool view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeppland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

recently spent 2 days at the lodge at geneva, can't say enough about the beauty of the location and the cleanliness of the lodge. it is very well kept and spotless in and out. the staff are very professional and do their jobs very well. rooms were clean and odor free, and all in great shape. housekeeping had the rooms made up perfect and everything from towels to coffee were kept filled at all times. internet in the rooms and tv worked well. restaurant served an excellent breakfast buffet and service there was great also. staff smiled and greeted you all the time and were very accommodation. during our stay once of the schools had prom in the ball room and you wouldn't even know it was going on. the local area was mostly closed yet on the little strip but we went for the wine tours and did enjoy the bus taking us to numerous wineries and had fund doing the tastings. the local places were very nice to have snacks at and had some great restaurants too. the wineries were interesting and lots of variety for all tastes. this was a quiet time for the area yet due to the strip closed so i assume it would be much busier after memorial day. but would come again at this time to enjoy the area and its variety of wineries and covered bridges with abound

Room Tip: we did not have a lake view but lots of siting areas in and out made it easy to relax and enjoy the...
See more room tips
Green Features: they did have re-cycling containers in the rooms to use if you wanted to and energy efficient lights
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealworld57a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

From check in to check out, I would rate this lodge as outstanding. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The inside pool and hot tub were well maintained. The outside grounds were very nice. There is a path that goes over to Geneva State Park. We got the breakfast package. The service and food were both great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you want a good view. There are rooms with a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
479 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing