We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Staycation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staycation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this lodge is amazing. The bartender Steven is great!!! He is friendly and makes tasty drinks!! Don the shuttle driver made our stay the best!!!!! He was so knowledgable and amazing. Nicest guy in town! He's from here and knows all about the town and wineries. While he works long hours and days driving us wineos around, he is still so positive and happy! Love this guy! Will continue to request him next time we come. Give this guy a raise!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ricosmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Ricosmommy-
I’m glad you enjoy Don and Steven as much as we do! FYI- we have a program at The Lodge which rewards our associates whenever they are mentioned in guest comments. So you’ll be happy to know each of these great workers will receive recognition on our WOW board and receive a token of our appreciation for being such great associates. Thank you for letting us know about your visit!
Warm Regards, Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    336
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
344
575
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were able to book a last minute Christmas Eve and day stay here. We chose the Bed & Breakfast package with a double room facing the pool. The room was very clean and comfortable. My one pet peeve about hotel bathrooms, and this was no exception, is the slippery surface of the bathtub. Thankfully there was a grab bar. You'd think they could at least offer rubber mats. Dinner Christmas Eve and Day were exactly the same. We were not told we could have ordered from the menu Christmas Eve. Another complaint is that we were not offered refills on our coffee. However, the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was very very good. The entire first floor was decorated for the season very nicely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crosstchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Crosstchr-
Thank you for your honest review of your visit. We love sharing the holiday season with our guests and spend a week each year decorating! I’m glad you enjoyed the décor. Our facilities manager says we do have built in, non-slip surfaces on bottoms of each bathtub, though I did share your comment so he is aware. I will also touch base with our holiday planning team to perhaps offer different dining options for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day next year for variety. Thank you again for sharing and helping us get better all the time!
Sincerely, Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Creek, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the lodge. Although the winter limits the nearby attractions on the strip of Geneva on the Lake, there was plenty of time to visit wineries. The Lodge itself was clean, spacious and had a better than normal restaurant which featured some excellent and wide ranging meals. The huge windows in the dining room gave guests a beautiful view of the stark wonder of the smallest of the Great Lakes. Prices for rooms and meals we moderate and the indoor pool and exercise room were a plus.

Room Tip: Use triple A discount if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This ts THE place to unwind and relax. Next to the lake- a huge expanse of serenity, the Lodge is very well equipped with spacious rooms, Wi-Fi and a decent restaurant and bar. The history of a train accident that happened in 19th century in a nearby bridge is very well captured.. the whole place has an old world charm that can be very relaxing.

I witnessed season's fresh snowfall, the sight was just awesome, especially as it has large open spaces and meandering walks along the lake.

The staff is very friendly, and the food at the restaurant is decent- nothing exceptional though. There is an awesome Italian restaurant nearby...a pleasant 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anecdotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day 2 night stay at the Lodge. It is a beautiful lodge with great services from the front desk, housekeeping to the restaurant. It was too cold this time of the year for us to take a walk by the lake, but we would come back in the spring or summer. Our room was on the forth floor, and spacious enough for two kids, and the king size bed was comfy. The room smelled a little musty when we first walked in. It could be from the bathroom after cleaning. It was fine when we returned in the evening. They have beautiful staircases decorated with Christmas theme. We took the staircases the entire time we were there. The lobby was nice and cozy decorated with a huge Christmas tree and fireplace. You can get to town within 10 minutes for grocery, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chienhuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sisters and I stayed her at the beginning of November to celebrate a 40th birthday. The rooms were average nice and the staff was super accommodating. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the Lodge. Everything was great. The Lodge has a wine shuttle for $18 and that is a steal. It takes you to 4 different wineries where you stay an hour and 15 minutes at each. It was great. I want to go back in the summer because the property is gorgeous. They have a two night minimum though which makes it difficult. My only complaint is that the bar in the restaurant wasn't open at noon when we checked in and our room was not yet ready; however, the staff came through and opened it up for us. Love it here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lodge is right on the lake and we selected a 3rd floor room with balcony & had nice view of the lake. King bed room was spacious with comfy bed, lounger chair & flat screen TV. Liked the Kuerig coffee machine but was disappointed that styrofoam cups were supplied instead of real mugs. Room was clean & staff at front desk were efficient. Thought price of $180+ was a little high for off-season (mid Nov.).
Grounds around the lodge are lovely with walking path along edge of the lake, complete with gazebo & several benches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehighwaysPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing