We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Christmas stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were able to book a last minute Christmas Eve and day stay here. We chose the Bed & Breakfast package with a double room facing the pool. The room was very clean and comfortable. My one pet peeve about hotel bathrooms, and this was no exception, is the slippery surface of the bathtub. Thankfully there was a grab bar. You'd think they could at least offer rubber mats. Dinner Christmas Eve and Day were exactly the same. We were not told we could have ordered from the menu Christmas Eve. Another complaint is that we were not offered refills on our coffee. However, the quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was very very good. The entire first floor was decorated for the season very nicely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crosstchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Crosstchr-
Thank you for your honest review of your visit. We love sharing the holiday season with our guests and spend a week each year decorating! I’m glad you enjoyed the décor. Our facilities manager says we do have built in, non-slip surfaces on bottoms of each bathtub, though I did share your comment so he is aware. I will also touch base with our holiday planning team to perhaps offer different dining options for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day next year for variety. Thank you again for sharing and helping us get better all the time!
Sincerely, Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    319
    83
    27
    18
See reviews for
330
536
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Creek, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the lodge. Although the winter limits the nearby attractions on the strip of Geneva on the Lake, there was plenty of time to visit wineries. The Lodge itself was clean, spacious and had a better than normal restaurant which featured some excellent and wide ranging meals. The huge windows in the dining room gave guests a beautiful view of the stark wonder of the smallest of the Great Lakes. Prices for rooms and meals we moderate and the indoor pool and exercise room were a plus.

Room Tip: Use triple A discount if you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This ts THE place to unwind and relax. Next to the lake- a huge expanse of serenity, the Lodge is very well equipped with spacious rooms, Wi-Fi and a decent restaurant and bar. The history of a train accident that happened in 19th century in a nearby bridge is very well captured.. the whole place has an old world charm that can be very relaxing.

I witnessed season's fresh snowfall, the sight was just awesome, especially as it has large open spaces and meandering walks along the lake.

The staff is very friendly, and the food at the restaurant is decent- nothing exceptional though. There is an awesome Italian restaurant nearby...a pleasant 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anecdotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day 2 night stay at the Lodge. It is a beautiful lodge with great services from the front desk, housekeeping to the restaurant. It was too cold this time of the year for us to take a walk by the lake, but we would come back in the spring or summer. Our room was on the forth floor, and spacious enough for two kids, and the king size bed was comfy. The room smelled a little musty when we first walked in. It could be from the bathroom after cleaning. It was fine when we returned in the evening. They have beautiful staircases decorated with Christmas theme. We took the staircases the entire time we were there. The lobby was nice and cozy decorated with a huge Christmas tree and fireplace. You can get to town within 10 minutes for grocery, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chienhuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My sisters and I stayed her at the beginning of November to celebrate a 40th birthday. The rooms were average nice and the staff was super accommodating. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the Lodge. Everything was great. The Lodge has a wine shuttle for $18 and that is a steal. It takes you to 4 different wineries where you stay an hour and 15 minutes at each. It was great. I want to go back in the summer because the property is gorgeous. They have a two night minimum though which makes it difficult. My only complaint is that the bar in the restaurant wasn't open at noon when we checked in and our room was not yet ready; however, the staff came through and opened it up for us. Love it here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lodge is right on the lake and we selected a 3rd floor room with balcony & had nice view of the lake. King bed room was spacious with comfy bed, lounger chair & flat screen TV. Liked the Kuerig coffee machine but was disappointed that styrofoam cups were supplied instead of real mugs. Room was clean & staff at front desk were efficient. Thought price of $180+ was a little high for off-season (mid Nov.).
Grounds around the lodge are lovely with walking path along edge of the lake, complete with gazebo & several benches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehighwaysPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from an overnight anniversary trip to the lodge. It was excellent in every way!

The girls at reception were friendly and helpful, and everyone we encountered in Horizons restaurant went out of their way to make sure everything was great. We left a coat the the restaurant and they brought it right to us in the room. We also left a bottle of wine purchased in the lobby, and it was waiting right for us behind the reception desk. We don't always leave everything, haha.
The rooms were pretty basic, but we knew that ahead of time and the bed was comfortable. No issues at all. There is a keurig in the room which is a nice touch. We paid for a lake view but as little as we were in the room, we wouldn't even need it. I think if they really worked at updating the rooms the ratings would even be higher! It doesn't appear that there is a modern hotel in Geneva, so this could really boost their business. Going in November we weren't able to use the pool or beach, but I would think coming in the summer, we would need to stay a few nights to enjoy all they have to offer. It looks like the children's pool area is a lot of fun. Hiking would be really great in early fall or spring too!
There was a wedding the night we stayed there, and for the most part they stayed in the bar area, it didn't affect dinner at all. The food and drinks were amazing! Because we went in mid November, most of the bars and restaurant on the strip were closed so we didn't try to eat anywhere else. But that was just fine, the breakfast buffet in the morning was amazing! Everything you could want, chocolate muffins, an omlette station, etc. This isn't a run of the mill continental breakfast.
What we really loved about our stay was the wine shuttle. Don was our driver and was so fun, friendly and really tried hard to make it a great experience. You get on the bus with a group of 12-14 and stay out about 5 1/2 hours. I would go as early as possible (we did the noon shuttle) because then you can come back to your room to freshen up and have dinner at horizons. Don agreed at the end to drop our group back off at the bourbon distillery because we thought it was the best place. (You go to 4 wineries but there is a new bourbon distillery that he wanted us to try. Their mixed drinks were amazing and nobody wanted to leave). The wineries we went to were all amazing actually...He them went out of his way to pick us back up at 730! He worked so hard with a great attitude and said he has a 13 hour day. He loves his job. He deserves to be mentioned here! This is something that everyone should try.

I have a feeling we will be coming back to the lodge every anniversary from here on out!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenny8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
23.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing