We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and services!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and services!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from an overnight anniversary trip to the lodge. It was excellent in every way!

The girls at reception were friendly and helpful, and everyone we encountered in Horizons restaurant went out of their way to make sure everything was great. We left a coat the the restaurant and they brought it right to us in the room. We also left a bottle of wine purchased in the lobby, and it was waiting right for us behind the reception desk. We don't always leave everything, haha.
The rooms were pretty basic, but we knew that ahead of time and the bed was comfortable. No issues at all. There is a keurig in the room which is a nice touch. We paid for a lake view but as little as we were in the room, we wouldn't even need it. I think if they really worked at updating the rooms the ratings would even be higher! It doesn't appear that there is a modern hotel in Geneva, so this could really boost their business. Going in November we weren't able to use the pool or beach, but I would think coming in the summer, we would need to stay a few nights to enjoy all they have to offer. It looks like the children's pool area is a lot of fun. Hiking would be really great in early fall or spring too!
There was a wedding the night we stayed there, and for the most part they stayed in the bar area, it didn't affect dinner at all. The food and drinks were amazing! Because we went in mid November, most of the bars and restaurant on the strip were closed so we didn't try to eat anywhere else. But that was just fine, the breakfast buffet in the morning was amazing! Everything you could want, chocolate muffins, an omlette station, etc. This isn't a run of the mill continental breakfast.
What we really loved about our stay was the wine shuttle. Don was our driver and was so fun, friendly and really tried hard to make it a great experience. You get on the bus with a group of 12-14 and stay out about 5 1/2 hours. I would go as early as possible (we did the noon shuttle) because then you can come back to your room to freshen up and have dinner at horizons. Don agreed at the end to drop our group back off at the bourbon distillery because we thought it was the best place. (You go to 4 wineries but there is a new bourbon distillery that he wanted us to try. Their mixed drinks were amazing and nobody wanted to leave). The wineries we went to were all amazing actually...He them went out of his way to pick us back up at 730! He worked so hard with a great attitude and said he has a 13 hour day. He loves his job. He deserves to be mentioned here! This is something that everyone should try.

I have a feeling we will be coming back to the lodge every anniversary from here on out!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenny8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    354
    90
    27
    20
See reviews for
360
612
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend early November to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. From the moment we pulled up the drive I knew we made a great choice. The pictures on trip advisor do not do the place justice. It's very nice, nothing too fancy but very we'll kept.
The front desk greeted us upon arrival, our room was ready so we checked in and headed to it. Checking was very fast!
Our room was a jacuzzi king on the first floor with a patio that faced the pool and a partial view of the lake. Room was very nice.... Better than the pictures suggested. We had a nice wine and cheese/fruit plate waiting for us when we arrived. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on!
Friday night we ate at Horizons (separate review) and visited the main hot tub for a while.
Saturday we had the buffet for breakfast in Horizons and then took the wine tour for the day. That was so fun and I highly recommend it! (I'll review our stops seperately). Our driver was Jim and he was great!
We met a few other couples on the tour so later that evening we all hung out at the lounge at the lodge and enjoyed some wine and listened to the entertainment. The singers were ok, typical lounge singers. Service was so so, but we had great company so it didn't bother us too much.
Only issue I had entire stay was Saturday night after drinking wine all day and not eating too much I realized around 10:45 that I needed something to eat and nothing on site was open. Not a huge deal just plan ahead.
Sunday morning we ate breakfast at Horizon buffet one more time.... Wait was about 15 minutes, Sunday around 9:30 was pretty busy.... Food was great. Grabbed our bags and headed home.
I could not find one negative thing about this lodge. Loved this place, we will visit again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KendallsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed again at the the Lodge in the pet friendly rooms and we were pleased. The rooms are neat, not immaculate, however we were bringing our dogs so no real complaint there. Nice bar and restaurant, there are cheaper places to eat but not as nice. Also, this is a resort town, so only a few of the restaurants have a full liquor service. The Lodge does, and also has a great happy hour with half price appetizers.

Indoor pool and hot tub, work out room, lovely lobby with fireplace. We scheduled the Wine Shuttle and it was the highlight of the trip! Visited 4 wineries for tasting and purchases.....new friends and tons of fun!

Room Tip: Pet rooms are first floor and pool side. Perfect for walking the dogs off the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsburghBeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the Cleveland area in October and decided to spend a couple of days at the Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake to enjoy the fall colors and visit some of the wineries in the area. The weather was quite chilly and it even snowed overnight. We would have really enjoyed a hot shower in the morning except there was no hot water from the shower or the sink. Merely tepid water. We asked the the other couple traveling with us if they experienced the same problem and they had. We both said something to the ladies at the front desk the first morning we were there and they promised to have maintenance look at our bathroom fixtures. Since the lodge is "green" we wondered if there were regulators in the faucets. We were told there were not. Next morning same problem only this time the water was cold. We even let it run for awhile thinking it would eventually warm up. No dice.

While the lodge has beautiful views and grounds the rooms are dated. We had a king room with a partial view of the lake. The mattress on the bed needed to be replaced as there were indentations where previous guests had the slept. There was a hump in the middle of the bed where no one slept. Our friends said that their mattress had a slope to one side and she had the feeling she was rolling out of the bed. I don't believe either one of us would come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
goldenlady823-

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lodge while you were in the area. We do appreciate that you thought of us as a getaway stop-over for your trip.

I am however regretful to hear your stay was not as pleasant as it could be. After touching base with our General Manager and Facilities Manager, I did find that the water instance you are referring to took place due to mechanical malfunction of a hot/cold regulator. As soon as we were notified of the issue, we did call in for repair.

In the mean time, we had a maintenance staff member manually regulate the water temperatures so guests could enjoy both hot and cold water until the repair could be completed. While mechanical failure cannot be predicted, I am so sorry we did not have that process in place fast enough to affect you and your party prior to your departure, and even more sorry that it had such an impact on your stay.

As you may have read, we did replace a majority of our mattresses and have the final replacements scheduled to be completed as soon as possible. Some setbacks have delayed us from replacing all the mattresses as quickly as planned, but we are working diligently with our available staff and storage space to get this project completed by the end of March 2014.

We are excited to be able to offer new mattresses for all guest’s enjoyment and truly care about your comfort; which is why we have also updated the linens and now offer down-alternative pillows.

I do hope you would consider visiting again. I would be happy to personally make your reservation to ensure you receive the amenities you want.

At your service, Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

that we visited after labor day (a big mistake). Very convenient for the boardwalk. Many weddings and group events have chosen wisely to book their weekend here. Restaurant is acceptable although the staff could be better trained in timeliness and clearing of tables. A buffet is available (a bit dear) but reflects the menu and can save you time if in a hurry. Rooms are good size, patios available in many rooms. Staff very cordial. But the packaged wine and dine rooms are a bit on the costly side for what you get (no refrigerator in rooms). Swimming pools are handy both outside and in. A nice weekend escape easy to reach.Bring your walking shoes, its a great place to hike.

Room Tip: Request an upper room for great views of Lake Erie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OUBobcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Location is the key to this place. If you are lucky enough to get a lake view the sights are incredible. Woke up every morning with hot coffee in hand sitting on patio, in the snow. Loved it! Pets are allowed. On first floor only. A huge plus for us. Food in restaurant was OK. With so many places to visit on the strip why would you eat there. Check out my other reviews of the local eateries for more information.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bukifan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were here for a wedding that was also on-site. Check in was fast, the rooms were clean and updated, and the bar/restaurant food was very good. Be prepared to tote your own luggage and trek downstairs to eat as there is no valet or room service. Just outside the hotel you can jump on walking trails along the lake which is very convienient. We were here after the pool was closed (late fall) and the ourdoor patios and wineries on the strip were out of season, meaning that we missed out on a lot of perks and still had a good stay. We definitely plan to come back during the spring/summer.

The wedding planning seemed a little chaotic (a rehersal for the next day wedding ran into the pictures for the current day wedding) but that may have been a communication problem between the venue and the photographer?!?!

Room Tip: A lake view room is definitely worth booking. A walkout balcony is always pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohio08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
396 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#3 of 5 in Austinburg
49 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing