We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed here with friends. The place is very clean and the staff were great. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Enjoyed the walking/bike path and the beautiful sunset over the lake.
Had Breakfast in the reataurant and it was a good meal for a good price. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohio1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had the opportunity to visit the Lodge at Geneva with several friends. The setting of the lodge is wonderful! The view of Lake Erie, especially at sunset is just breathtaking! We decided to eat breakfast at the Lodge in the morning, before we left. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. We loved being able to pick our own ingredients for the omelettes. The woman cooking them was great (not sure what her name was). Our server, Jackie, was very attentive. Answered questions about the menu, and was very helpful! She was very, very kind and answered questions about Geneva on the Lake also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a one night stay at this lodge in early September with family. While I liked the idea of a lodge on Lake Erie this was more a hotel and conference center.

Rooms were typical hotel rooms with no "lodge" feel to them. Nice pool and views with a decent restaurant. Offerings included vegetarian and vegan items with a nice wine list. Service was friendly however a bit slow.

Not sure I would return but seems lar for weddings, seniors snd wine tour enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank outdoorgirlnj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge on Sept 6 for our anniversary. Our room was a standard room over looking the parking lot, so on arrival we asked to upgrade to a room with a lake view. No problem. In a few minutes the clerk had us on the 3rd floor with a king suite that did overlook the restaurant patio but did also have a nice view of the lake and the gazabo set up for a wedding. We were able to sit out on the balcony for quite a while enjoying the view and relaxing untill it did become to warm. We also did request a refig and microwave which did arrive in a timely manor. The room was one king, chair and table, nice size tv, and armchair which was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiled, clean and roomy. Bed very comfortable. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice surprise. We had the B&B package. Dinner was very nice and the breakfast was well worth getting the package. I think I made a pest of myself asking the staff all kinds of questions, but everyone was very nice, polite and very helpfull. There was also a bus tour staying at the lodge, but with all the people and activities going on it was very quiet and relaxing staying here. Due to the fact that my wife had a reaction to some medicine she was taking we were not able to check out any of the area and what it had to offer. We would like to go back to the area and will stay at the Lodge again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanadu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The guest rooms at the Lodge are nicely-furnished, with an armchair & desk w/ chair in the king bed rooms. The bed was comfy, albeit with foam pillows. The bathroom had marble tile on the floor, a curved shower board, and a Keurig coffee maker. We had a balcony room with a beautiful view of the pool and lake. The balcony had two chairs and a small table, perfect for relaxing, but partially unusable on the warm day we visited due to the warm exhaust from the in-room AC.

We ate at the restaurant (Horizons) for dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals. The restaurant is pretty, with views of the lake, and the menu had a nice variety. We particularly enjoyed the wine list, with nice choices of both Ohio and non-Ohio wines at reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet was particularly inventive, with made to order omelets with interesting cheeses, potato pancakes, and pancakes stuffed with apples.

The grounds are very pretty, with a pool, playground, and a short walking trail along the lake. It's also easy to walk from the Lodge into town.

The only real downside was the wireless Internet. It was slow when we arrived, very slow at 10pm, and broken the next morning. We don't know if this was a one-time event or a common occurrence, but if you need reliable Internet access you might want to check more reviews to see if Internet issues are mentioned. We definitely found this frustrating and is the primary reason we can't give a five-star review.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a full balcony and a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the lodge, The room was very large with King Bed, couch, 2 chairs, table and more. Very modern and clean. We had the B&B package and the food was great. We went on the wine shuttle and it was well worth the 15 bucks. Everyone very freindly and help us with local restrant ideas and locations to visit. Very nice view of the lake but you have to walk to the
public beach, They have 2 very nice swiming pools which is better to swim in than Lake Erie.
The pool lounge did close up because she was not busy ( see was young) but we made do.
I will go back for long week end to vist town and wine shuttle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Don't get me wrong, there wasn't much WRONG per-say with the Lodge, I'm just not sure it was worth my money. We were staying at the Lodge over Labor Day weekend for a wedding which was being held there. We were late booking our room, so all they had left was a "King Suite with a Lake View". The "King Suite" was essentially a room with more square footage, and one king sized bed. Technically if I walked out on the balcony, I could see the lake, but really the view from our room was the patio from the resturaunt.

The staff at the Lodge were very friendly and helpful, but I'm not sure that I felt my money was well spent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
442 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
564 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: $118 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing