We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Nearby Hotels
The Lakehouse Inn(Geneva on the Lake)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa Motel(Painesville)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
891
382
97
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
891
382
97
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine shuttlewine tourlocal wineriesstate parkwine countryindoor and outdoor poolshorizons restaurantfamily roomwalking trailsfire pitgreat weekendbreakfast buffetgreat view of the lakegirls weekendthe cottageshot tubshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We just returned from three days and two nights at the Lodge and we had a wonderful time. We had read where some of the rooms were old and outdated~our room was huge, quiet,clean, had a flat screen TV and a beautiful view of Lake Erie. The first night we went into town and decided to eat at one of the local restaurants.....it had a fantastic view and was right on the lake but it went downhill from there. We had to wait over an hour for our food, it was very small portions and my boyfriend's meat was too rare for his taste (but he wouldn't send it back as he didn't want to wait another hour)! To really top things off when we got back to the Lodge they had the same food at about $ 4.00 less :(
We had coupons for breakfast included and the breakfast buffet was wonderful~bacon, sausage, potato pancakes, scrambled eggs, a nice selection of fruit, danish, cerals and of course toast and muffins. The next day the breakfast buffet included made to order omelets which were really good! We also ate our dinner there the second night and they had a dinner buffet (which I'm usually not crazy about) but it looked good so we decided to give it a try and it was great!!! We rented bikes and really enjoyed that so all in all we had a good trip and are looking forward to returning to do the wine shuttle in the winter. There were too many outdoor activities to do that this time ;)

Room Tip: Ask to have a room that faces the lake as the sunsets are beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tigercar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nothing but raves about The Lodge. We stayed June 8-10, 2012, 2 adults and 4 teens in a family room (two doubles, one bunk bed). The room was spacious and comfortable. Although not a suite, the room was spacious with all those beds, a huge handicapped accessible bathroom and room for a desk, microwave/mini fridge stand, large television stand, and table and two additional chairs.

The room was spotless and well serviced each day of our stay with plenty of towels and a Keurig coffee maker and a small but nice selection of pods.

The pool area is fantastic. We enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub during our stay.

We did not visit the restaurants (too many great choices in the surround region) so I cannot comment on them.

Bike rentals were gone in the morning but The Lodge staff graciously pointed us toward Adventure Zone just a quick walk away which was much appreciated (and Adventure Zone has surreys so definitely check them out).

All in all a FANTASTIC experience and the location cannot be beat. An easy walk to the Boardwalk/Strip and adjacent State Park, bike trail, and gorgeous Lake Erie views.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kseabolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just stayed here two nights June 8th and 9th. Check in wasn't until 4, but we took our chances and our rooms were ready at 1:30. Check in was pleasant and quick. The hotel grounds are beautiful as is the lake view. The rooms are a little outdated but very clean. They could definitely benefit by adding flat screen tvs, mini refrigerators and microwaves in every room. This hotel was about a 15 -20 minute walk to the strip, which was disappointing at first, but getting a chance to see the other places to stay in this area I would happily walk than stay closer. They were a little scary. Great trip, nice hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnytan1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had good and bad experiences here all in the same trip. We arrived on a Wednesday night and were staying for 3 nights. Our first room was a double and it was terrible. The lobby/common areas of the hotel looked very nice, so it was really odd to walk into such a dark and old looking room. It felt like we were stepping into a room in another hotel it looked so different. Old bedspreads and no balcony. It felt like going to someone's cabin that had all their old cast off furniture in it. The beds were very lumpy and uncomfortable. It was like trying to sleep on a 3" thick lumpy pillow and they made a ton of noise just to sit down on it. Plus we were close to a storage area and kept hearing something that sounded like an air compressor turning on all night long. It made for little sleep that first night. I also found a pile of hair on the bathroom floor that wasn't ours.

The next morning I talked to the front desk and they moved us within a half hour to a king room. The new room was lighter, had a nice mattress and had a nice view of the gazebo and lake. I don't know if we were in an overflow room the first night or if they are in the process or remodeling, but the room the 2nd night was so much nicer. The only other thing that wasn't great was that the internet was painfully slow, but the new room itself was great. We really liked that there was a Kuerig in the room.

The restaurant was pretty good if you order off the menu. The last day we had the breakfast buffet and the food was overcooked and cold at the same time. But the days prior we had ordered off the menu and the breakfast and lunch there was good.

Another odd thing was that the first morning our showers were fine. The next morning the water would go from hot to cold and back to hot then cold constatnly while you were showeing. It made it difficult. You were either cold or just about getting burned.

The staff were really nice and accomodating and it is a nice property. I think if they work out some of the kinks, they could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vitaminc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just visited the Lodge in May and we were very happy with our stay. My mother and I had a weekend together and glad we chose here. I want to first start off by saying the employees here are so incredibly friendly and made you feel welcomed in every way! This was by far the friendliest staff that I have ever seen! Our room was very clean and roomy. ( the only downside is that I paid for a premium room with a lake front view and was a bit dissapointed to find out that our view was not lake front, you actually had to go onto the patio and look to the right to see the lake) Although the view was still very nice, it wasn't what it was supposed to be. We loved our patio though, loved having a first floor room. Also, I needed a microwave and went to the front desk and they sent us one to our room complimentary. Such a nice feature they offer there. There were some very roudy and loud ladies about 2 a.m. that woke us and we couldn't go back to sleep for a while. They do have a quiet policy after 11:00 p.m. I believe. Would have been nice for these people to follow that. Wish the staff would have been aware of this so they would have been told.
We ate at the Horizons resturant for dinner and breakfast. We had the best waitress for dinner in any place I have ever visited. Her name was Susan and she was fantastic and made our meal perfect. The food was great and so was desert and Susan couldn't do enough for us. Our breakfast was very good too, the food was delicous! We also had drinks at the lounge and Mark was very friendly and helpful too ( as always) and we had a young girl wait on us as well, and she was on top of things and was great to have her too.
This is a very clean and relaxing place to stay and I would highly reccomend this lovely place. The grounds could have used some TLC ( such as weeds and soforth) but still beautiful. Thanks for making our stay with you enjoyable, we will certainly return again!

Room Tip: make sure to have a patio or balcony, it is so nice to go out and sit on it. Some rooms don't have one.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews