We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a weekend away on beautiful Lake Erie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice for a weekend away on beautiful Lake Erie”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I really have a very mixed review- it was the best in some ways and not so good in others.
First off- The Lodge is the "crown jewel" of the Ohio State Park system- but it is still a State Park. Example - It looks like a resort. When we asked about "room service " they saidYES- you can get "carryout "from the bar. That sort of thing.
Our room was lovely- and overlooked the lake and we had quiet neighbors. The maid service was overwhelmed and we had trouble daily getting our room serviced- eventually we just stopped the maid and got towels exchanged. The restaurant was good as far as our meals were concerned- we did not have any problems. Outside of sandwiches the food IS expensive there. There is a smal gift shop.
There really is no where else to go to eat anything nearby except pizza and soft serve ice cream in Geneva on the Lake. GOL looks like an amusement park midway-.it you want your 8 year old decked out in motorcycle gear and a
tattoo this IS the place for you to shop as that is what most of the shops cater to." The Biker dudes and babes". There is one "amusement- miniature golf" place down the street and and indoor and outdoor pools at the Lodge that is IT for kids. There really isn't anything there for families. A marina is nearby and the beach is a long long walk beyond that- there is no beach at the lodge.
There are bikes for rent .
We did the local wineries-which is great if you are a grown up.
There were 2 weddings while we were there which is the Lodge's biggest draw. It would be a lovely place to get married.
It is a great place for a memorable weekend with your honey.. leave the kinder at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a Premium room overlookingthe Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triptique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Triptique-

Thank you for your inclusive review and comments about your stay at The Lodge. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not 100% what you expected and that you did not find activities suitable for the younger members of your family while visiting.

We have been working on offering room service to our guests; but have not found a cost effective way to efficiently serve all guests to their complete satisfaction and have found that not offering room service is better customer service until the right solution is discovered.

Our housekeeping staff is trained to service all 109 rooms; so that stay-over’s and checkout’s alike are completed daily by 4pm. I will pass your comments and date of stay on to our housekeeping manager(s) for review to ensure we are well staffed and providing our guests with excellent service. Also, we have recently hired a Gift Shop manager to help expand our Gift Shop and offer guests even more of what they are looking for in addition to the local items and souvenirs we already offer.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not discover some of the unique dining locations nearby The Lodge such as Alessandro’s Italian Restaurant, Ferranté Winery and Chops Bar & Grill. I will work with the front desk to provide a more complete listing of information in the lobby on surrounding restaurant(s) for guests to enjoy if not dining with us each night.

While some establishments at Geneva-on-the-Lake are popular with motorcyclists, the area has worked hard over the years to cater to family travelers as well. Offering arcades, waterslides and child friendly dining options like Eddie’s Grill; and, as you mentioned, Adventure Zone with bumper boats, carousel, mini-golf, batting cages, go-carts and more. Along with all of these activities, GOTL is teaming with quaint little ‘dive’ restaurants for kids & adults to enjoy together.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the bike rentals & wineries. We look forward to having you back and providing more prevalent resources to help you discover all of the family activities available at Geneva-on-the-Lake.

At your service,
Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    365
    94
    27
    21
See reviews for
372
629
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the accomodations we found at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake. The State of Ohio should be proud of this gem! We stayed for two nights to visit Northwest Ohio Wine Country and found it to be perfect in almost every way. The wine package which included a bottle of wine, two glasses, a $50 dinner voucher, and a complimentary breakfast was a good value. The restaurant had great servers, and some unique menu items. (It may be a pit pricey for some, but the voucher made it reasonable.) The rooms were larger than I expected and had a great view of the lake. They were clean and comfortable and we could not hear the large family in the room next to us. There is a walking/bike trail that goes into the State Park and makes for a nice walk or run. There are two pools & hot tubs. One inside and one out with easy access from one to the other. One nice feature I truly enjoyed in the rooms was the ability to open a window and get some fresh air blowing in from the lake!! Beat the heck outta using the air conditioning! Overall this is a great place for families to get some time together with a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive to town to play putt-putt or some other family activity. Couples can enjoy some of Ohio's best wines & beautiful wineries that are close together.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newsfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeAtGeneva, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hello Newsfanatic-

Thank you so much for including photos with your comments! They are fantastic shots!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The rooms are very basic but nice and clean. They have an indoor and outdoor pool so the kids can easily go back and forth if they like. They have no pool service. No water, no juice no pop, and no food. We had to order food at the resturant which is pricey and bring it outside which was ok too! Our rooms included breakfast which was really good!

Room Tip: what for a deal then go coupons groupons etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eizemti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeAtGeneva, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Hello eizemti-

Thank you for your comments about your stay at The Lodge. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your bed & breakfast package and the pools.

We actually do offer food and beverage service at the outdoor pool beginning July 4th weekend and continuing every day through Labor Day weekend.

Hope to see you back again this summer so you can enjoy our poolside service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed in a suite with 7 friends for girls weekend. Took advantage of the shuttle for the wine tour. Had lunch at Ferrantes winery which was excellent. Was in walking distance to the strip. Will definitely return for a romantic weekend with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The romance package for our couples weekend getaway consisted of a bottle of decent wine with a tiny box of four chocolate turtles. The walls are paper-thin with paint coming off of them in many places. Aside from the bread, dinner at Horizons was flavorful but the asparagus looked as though it sat in the fridge for a couple of weeks. Walking the town was nice, but avoid the beach, at least in May as it was littered with tampon applicators. Worst of all was the rude, pimple-faced, fresh out of high school 'concierge' at the front desk. He's either related to the owner or has never been supervised/trained. Oh, if you decide to waste your money on this place and register online, print everything out and take it with you or you will be overcharged. Hopefully you have better luck than we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeffkjr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeAtGeneva, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
jeffkjr17-

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay at The Lodge. The romance package that you mentioned is offered January 1-March 31. We do not run the romance package in May, though we do have other great packages for couples that include wine.

We have been steadily updating our guest rooms since November of last year and most have been modernized with additional furniture and any needed touch-ups as well as flat screen TV's. Our facilities manager will be checking all guest rooms for any disrepair such as you mentioned.

The State Park beach, which offers public access, is cleaned regularly by park officials. The shoreline also recently had a huge overhaul for earth day with a few hundred Boy Scout volunteers cleaning up the shore as well as the beach and state park areas.

I assure you that all associates are properly trained before they began working. We put our associates through a strict training program called 'GuestPath' where they learn courtesy, using the guest name and many more valuable lessons on how to properly and graciously serve our guests each time you visit.

In fact, in 2008 & 2009 The Lodge at Geneva won the Guest Service award for scoring the highest in guest satisfaction from e-mail surveys throughout all Delaware North Properties. This may not seem like much, but when we go up against iconic places like Yellowstone National Park, Tenaya Lodge in Yosemite and Sequoia National Park- we think it’s something to be very proud of.

The Lodge was also asked this past March by the County Commissioners to train the staff serving the community at the Ashtabula County Court House on guest service due to our high standards and success in the guest service industry.

I apologize for your inconvenience on the billing of your stay. Our online reservation system is very comprehensive. Though some guests add amenities to their room such as a bottle of wine or a fruit tray and decide upon arrival that they do not want the items. We gladly settle any billing discrepancies quickly and efficiently as I hope was the case in your situation.

Again, we thank you for posting comments so we can work with our managers and staff to improve any areas that may have fallen short of guests expectations. Thank you for the opportunity and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband just got back from staying at the Lodge and had a great time. Everyone, from the front desk to the restaurant staff were super friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious and comfortable. We ate dinner last night at Horizons and it was pretty good. I recommend the Walleye appetizer. Very good and fresh from the Lake. The setting is lovely and there is a walking/biking trail that goes on and on. We took a sunset stroll to the marina last night and enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool today. It is a gem on the Lake!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a lake view room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethT_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Hello BethT_68-

Thank you so much for your great review. It is so inspiring to hear when our guests enjoy themselves and to know that you had a great time. We share these comments with our staff and yours put a smile on many faces throught the staff.

Greatfully yours,
Daisy Hall, Guest Releations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My brother and I took my mom on a weekend trip to Geneva on the Lake for her 60th birthday and decided to stay at the Lodge. We got the last room available for that particular weekend and wound up with a handicapped-accessible room which made for plenty of room but without a porch. The room faced the 'courtyard/lake' and had a nice view. The room was clean and the staff was nice. My mom got a massage on site (same floor as our room) and said the masseuse was great applying just the right amount of pressure and focusing on areas of pain. Overall it was a good experience, but the restaurant was only OK so I'd advise to eat elsewhere if you're looking for a nice dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stopdroprocknrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
413 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
499 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Location: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing