We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrating a birthday”
Review of Crosswinds Grille

Crosswinds Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Crosswinds Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in wood-fired farm to table cuisine. Our chefs work closely with local farmers to create seasonal menus featuring the freshest ingredients available.Whether it is a birthday or anniversary celebration or a romantic dinner for two, Crosswinds Grille is the perfect setting! Stop by and enjoy a delicious meal along with fine wines and a spectacular view of Lake Erie!
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Celebrating a birthday”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our experience was outstanding. The setting is beautiful. We began with a glass of wine on the deck overlooking Lake Erie. We were able to take our bottle of wine into the restaurant for our dinner.
Our waitress, Brittany, was delightful.
The food was excellent. My husband's steak was as predicted in a "farm to table" restaurant that promotes freshness and wholesomeness. My crab cakes were delicious and full of big chunks of crab. The vegetables were also an added bonus.
Just a delightful experience over all. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. But, be sure to make a reservation. Especially in summer months.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    66
    26
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and delicious food”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Crosswinds Grille at the Lakeside Inn is definitely the gem of Geneva on the Lake, OH. Having never been to this area before, we were quite surprised at the step back in time feel of this once thriving resort town. Crosswinds was everything we were hoping to find and more. We went early in the day for wine sampling, and at the urging of the bartender and Su Chef, made reservations to come back later in the day for dinner. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere in the restaurant was so relaxing, the food was delicious, and the property was so well kept. It was all topped off with a beautiful sunset on the lake, of which we had the perfect view. I've never been impressed with any experiences along Lake Erie, until now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walkalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good try”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the view and the perch. My perch was merely okay, have had much better for much less $$. The spinach salad was at least 60% lettuce instead of spinach. Again, good but not meeting expectations.

Drinks were very watered down to the point we wondered if we accidentally ordered virgins. Cheese plate was a nice appetizer, well executed.

This place is nice but I can't justify the high prices for what it delivers.

Helpful?
3 Thank ICness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood gem”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great location and a very nice restaurant. My husband and I had dinner and was not disappointed. We ordered the meat platter for an appetizer which featured homemade cheese, sausage, pickled onions and carrots, cucumbers, bread, and some other tidbits. I ordered the house salad with the asiago cheese pizza (wood oven) and my husband had the perch. Everything was very good. We ordered a bottle of the Riesling (all wines are made and bottled here) and it was very nice. Service was excellent (Thank you Jasmine). After dinner we walked down to the beach and noticed they had a patio that also served some of the same items (pizza) and drinks. I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susie6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waste of a nice location”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The restaurant is nice and we had good service. Salad was fresh greens and good Balsamic dressing. Those were the positives of the meal. Ordered 2 mixed drinks and the glasses were large - probably to large as you could not taste anything but the mixers - Amaretto sour all you could taste was the sour mix and a signature Nor'easter that was all ginger beer taste. The main courses were crab cakes and Perch. Perch was alright - had better - have had worse. The crab cakes tasted good, but were not cooked properly or thoroughly. They were left as a ball instead of flattened to a patty and the center was not edible. The table next to us also had issues with the food,pasta and a steak, that were prepared less than ideal. Was looking forward to the meal as part of a weekend away for us and used the previous reviews to choose a location. Definitely disappointed by the experience at this location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl-LakehouseInn, Manager at Crosswinds Grille, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I would just like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you had with your dinner over the holiday weekend. We always welcome the opportunity to correct situations as they happen and unfortunately we were not made aware that your experience was less than par. The people that were sitting next to you that voiced their concerns that evening had their dinner issues addressed by the supervisor that night. I truly wish we had known what had happened with your dinner so that we could have handled it right then and there and made sure your evening ended on a high note. Please accept my sincere apologies as our goal is to have every guest leave anticipating a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crosswinds Grille also viewed

 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Crosswinds Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing