We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Firehouse Winery

Old Firehouse Winery
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An eclectic winery and restaurant on the famous entertainment strip in Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio's first Summer Resort. Located with a view of Lake Erie, the large, meandering patio provides the setting for nightly summer entertainment. Lots of special events and kid friendly. Full bar service in summer at the "Sunset Bar".
Graytown, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stopped here for lunch, and got a couple of their wraps, and a glass of their wine. Everything was fresh and flavorful, and setting on the patio looking out at the Lake was very relaxing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrkpero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    81
    72
    45
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad Wine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

First and last time going there. Service slow and unfriendly. Wine does not even rate a review and the tasting is over double price of the central Ohio prices.The wine tasted like vinegar in all the samples. Did not buy any to take home

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Service is always slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been here many times over the last 20 years and service is consistently slow. Food is average, nothing to get excited about but I guess we're really here for the wine which is good but the prices are practically tripled on those over the years as well. Nice view of the lake though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrinajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not your traditional wine tasting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Definitely not your classy tasting, but the wine is not bad, once you get past the tiny plastic cups. Be prepared to eat outside on picnic tables. The best part is the view of the lake. Since we were there in September after the summer season, the rides nearby were shut down. It probably gets quite busy and noisy during high season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maggots!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I attended a private event clambake at Firehouse Winery 10-5-13. The appetizers were nicely done: decent variety, wings were good, offered fruit. The bar was slowwww, ridiculously so. I had to wait 15 minutes for the one guy in front of me to get his drink, all the while the bartender did not even make eye contact or seem to give a crap that we were there. BTW, when I finally did get my Dixie cup of wine, it was barely palatable. I know it's Ohio wine, but, come on...

It was a good thing the appetizers were decent, because it took about an hour and a half for the dinner to actually get served. The portions were generous, included corn, chicken and ribs. The clams, however, were a huge disappointment. They must not have been washed at all before cooking. Nothing like biting into a clam and getting a mouthful of grit - Ugh!!! Desserts were lackluster overall, but the brownie was decent.

Oh, yes, and the clam bake was held outside. Fortunately we were enjoying unusually warm weather for October, so we weren't freezing. Unfortunately, about half way through dinner it started to pour - not just rain - seriously pour. The area where we were seated started to flood, so we dragged our table a little closer to the center of the tent. After re-seating ourselves, the coup de grace of the evening - one of my family members exclaimed that there was something crawling on her leg - turned out to be a maggot. Trying to see where it came from, we looked down, and lo and behold, maggots crawling EVERYWHERE on the brick surface under our feet. I mean everywhere. At that point we gave up and called it a night. Needless to say, we will NOT be going back there...EVER.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Packers W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Firehouse Winery also viewed

 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Old Firehouse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing