We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Overpriced and Not a Five Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Jabalpur
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for a night on a business trip in December 2013. Living and travelling frequently in India, I am well familiar with Indian hotel standards and I know what can be expected for a certain price.

This hotel is totally overpriced and is certainly no longer a five star destination as it might have been 20 years ago. The main problem is that the entire infrastructure is out of shape and requires a renovation to maintain the standard that they claim to have. I suspect that the only reason, why they can maintain such exorbitant prices is the lack of alternatives in Jabalpur.

Because of the old structure of the building, the rooms are noisy, e.g. one can you hear the telephone ring and people talk in the adjacent room. When there is a function, you will hear the music in all the rooms of the main building, as if they were playing in front of your room's door. The rooms in the wing are a bit less noisy, larger and in better shape but they charge more for them.

Having said this, the staff is friendly and the management is trying to get the best out ot the old infrastructure. So despite old, everything was at least in working condition and the rooms were as clean as old rooms can be. The usual ammenities were provided and breakfast was okay but again, certainly not on five-star level.

Room Tip: Get a room in the wing, even if they are even more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Obwaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Jabalpur for just one night after visiting Kanha National Park.

We booked this hotel after a lot of searching for something decent as there does not seem to be too many options or reviews for Jabalpur.

It was quite expensive and the hotel itself although a 5* was outdated and stuffy. We were glad to only be staying one night.

We ate in the hotel bar. The food was good but the bar itself was so dark it was difficult to read the menu or see the food. Breakfast was good - great omelette and served in a different room.

Functional for one night whilst in transit. We probably would not have enjoyed staying longer but it served us well for our purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Reviewer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The room was apparently an upgrade but needs some refurbishment. Although the bed was comfortable and the room a good size the bathroom was small and spartan. The shower curtain had seen better days and didn't really stop the water going anywhere. Had a reasonable evening meal in the bar although the lights were so low we couldn't actually see the food. Breakfast was excellent. And free Wifi by the pool was a definite plus. We were disappointed a hotel of this size didn't offer money exchange facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJG_KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

jabalpur being a small city......narmada jackson is definitely a good option. the hotel is clean, its decent. i stayed here before going to bandhavgargh. i had looked at the other hotel options, but found this the best. the room was clean, we got an upgrade. the toilets was clean n hygenic. average toiletries were provided. wifi was strictly ok. the room was big enough. it of course did not have any great view, but the sleep quality was really good. the food at the restaurant was good, the breakfast spread was great too, pricing option for dinner is pretty affordable. room service was on time. staff are good n quite helpful. its a good option for a short stay.....plz dont go with high expectation, but it surely wont disappoint you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj25918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Nov 2013. I am surprised by the bad reviews for this hotel. We found it to be quite good.

Pros:
- The rooms and bathrooms are very big and very clean. In fact all of the property is very clean.
- The food is good. Breakfast spread is quite decent. Breakfast start early as well.
- The service is excellent and staff quite helpful. We needed to get here from Bandhavgarh and since it was the day of the assembly election, we could not find any transportation. The hotel arranged to pick us up within a very short notice.

Cons:
- It is located on the outskirts of the city. If you want to visit Bedaghat area, this is probably the furthest hotel from it. But then again, Jabalpur is a very small city. It is easy to get from one end to another.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I visited Jabalpur as it's where I was born. Having left India when I was just 3, I wanted to see it.
Jabalpur is lovely - the Narmada Jackson Hotel is not. As it's my son and I travelling, I make a point (in fact let's be honest - quite a fuss) about getting a twin-bedded room. We were taken to a double room and then it took them well over half an hour getting a twin-bedded room sorted. I didn't sleep a wink. Yes, the noise from the party being held there didn't help, nor the religious chanting and beating of drums, but I could have coped with that. It was the smell of the moth balls put down all the drains - it was horrendous. I'm sure they must have had a purpose - why else would they have put them there? but the smell was gross. The result was that my special day visiting the place I was born was spent in a tired haze.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnie1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hotel is surrounded by buildings. The first room I was given had a wall outside the window. The room was changed and the next room overlooked terrace of adjoining homes. You have to keep curtains drawn for privacy. The food was good but very expensive for a hotel if this stature. The day I checked in a top politician visited the hotel. There was massive security and hotel made no arrangements for guest to help them checking. We dragged our bags on our own As cars were not permitted near the hotel. We went through an ordeal to checkin and were confined in our rooms till the celebrity politician was in the hotel.

Breakfast is good. No mini bar. If this is the best hotel in Jabalpur I shudder to think of what other hotels will be like. Overall value you get doesnot justify the high cost. This is not a Welcomheritage property anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhubonpothik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jabalpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Rishi Regency Hotel
Rishi Regency Hotel
#2 of 26 in Jabalpur
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Samrat
The Samrat
#4 of 26 in Jabalpur
40 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Jabali Palace
Hotel Jabali Palace
#13 of 26 in Jabalpur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delite Grand
Hotel Delite Grand
#8 of 26 in Jabalpur
12 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arihant Palace
Arihant Palace
#19 of 26 in Jabalpur
33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Roopali
Hotel Roopali
#7 of 26 in Jabalpur
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons

Address: South Civil Lines, Jabalpur 482001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Jabalpur District > Jabalpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Jabalpur
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson’s hotel dates back to the colonial British Raj era in the nineteenth century. Owned and managed by the British during pre – independence days, the Jacksons is currently owned and managed by the Indo Canadian promoters – The Jasuja Group. The Hotel has been thoroughly renovated and modernized to aid ultra – modern amenities to give this heritage property its new image and Name – Narmada Jacksons The Hotel offers a wide choice of Banquet Halls and Conference Rooms for Meetings, Product Launches, Seminars, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Social Get-together, Exhibitions and Wedding Receptions having areas ranging from 800 sq ft to 15,000 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Narmada Jacksons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing