We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad”
Review of Hotel Satya Ashoka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Satya Ashoka
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Jabalpur
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is presented as any other 3 star property but when it comes to making the guest feel comfortable and taken care of, all their claims start coming apart one by one :(
We stayed at this hotel for a night in Feb 13 while driving back from Delhi to Nagpur. Didn't expect any luxurious option in jabalpur but some things should be inherent in the soul of a hotel and it clearly lacked it. The front office staff is a li'l confused about the booking in and out procedure and the hotel misleads the guests by showing a nice and modern room in the promotionals everywhere but upon physically arriving there one would be informed that the room shown in the ads is more expensive than the price initially promised. And for the publicised rate one would get a downgraded room with decades old furnishing, no storage and an unpleasant bathroom :( Helpless and tired from a long journey, one would prefer a better and more expensive room.
The food is priced high and tastes just all-right. The service is very slow. For a small cup of milk for the baby they charged 110 Rs (Something that most of the hotels offer as a complimentary gesture) and took ages to deliver it in the room.
The wash basin in the bathroom was choking and despite calling a number of times, no action was taken for the same.
After all this unpleasant experience, we wanted to get a peaceful sleep but alas the hotel was located bang on the road and the whole night we were caused discomfort by the trucks passing by and blowing deafening horns.
The only thing good was the buffet breakfast the next morning with good food and a wide variety. The security staff was also very courteous and helped us loading the luggage in the car without any requests on our part.
This was my experience at this hotel, can't recommend it and can't really write it off either. So guys, pls do your homework on all the options available in Jabalpur and then make a booking!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yashpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel should be completely renovated.
All the amenities - switches, door bolts, central AC, bathroom fittings etc. are outdated, worn out & there is an unhygienic feel.
Especially business travellers, who only require neat & clean rooms & toilets, with modern amnesties like functional wifi connectivity, working sleek television, good shower facility - should never venture to this hotel.
Even families who will be excited at the prospect of having booked in a star hotel, this place will be a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is my 4th and last visit to Ashoka,we had booking for deluxe room there but when we reached there,on reception it was told to us that deluxe room is not vacant so for now they had given us the suite room to get refresh.we hadn't able to take rest in morning.We got ready and told at reception of shifting the room and we moved.When we came back in the afternoon for an hr rest,the room haven't yet shifted and again told us to be shifted in 5 minuets again given the keys of suit room.I again keep waited for 45 mins for shifting without rest but there was no response.at evening when we came back we just picked the luggage for check out.So for the whole day we hadn't been able to take rest.Beside having a big staff there is no management in the front office.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumeetjyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly and courteous reception. Got 10% discount since arrived late evening at 7 pand would leave by 12 noon next day. Single door lift. Clean room and bathroom, no shower curtain to separate the bath area. The water had very limited force from the shower. The thermostat of the central a/c had broken cover though it was working. LCD TV, tea/coffee maker, and a small balcony overlooking the tiny pool. Complimentary breakfast was par for the small town. The place cannot deserve a four star, though I would not mind staying there again since the city does not have many better choices at the price.

Room Tip: Choose the pool side rooms, the front facing ones are likely dustier and noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpleTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I went tpatheticon 21st may morning though I had no prior booking. Reception clerk told me there is no vacancy. I took it to be true and started looking for other options. Just them another fellow traveller with no prior booking dropped by and asked for room. To my total surprise, same reception clerk extended check in form and discount 20% to him.
When I questioned him, he offered no explaination. I thought this was offending.
Then I settled down at Hotel Kalchuru Residency at IG marg. At least Govt. Hotels dont behave in such discriminatory ways.
You are pathet Hotel Satya Ashoka, Jabalpur.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank id4trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel only for a few hours for a transit stopover. Was told that this was among the best hotels in Jabalpur. Was extremely disappointed overall. The checkin was smooth and hassle free. The breakfast was good and tasted well. However the cleanliness in this place needs to be further improved, The bathrrom was filthy and the bed was not comfortable at all. The complimentary fruit platter was very tasteless. The service was good though. I guess there aren't too many other better options in the city of Jabalpur.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veejo_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ok, I did not stay at the hotel but I have eaten in their Maurya restaurant 3 times in the last year while passing through Jabalpur. It is very good and has a good variety on the menu. Their breakfast buffet is good, too. Be sure and order the Butterscotch ice cream! It's the best with real chips of Butterscotch!

My impression of the hotel itself is average. The entrance and staff are nice but the bathrooms are pretty dirty all 3 times we stopped there. Makes me wonder what the rooms are like!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jabalpur hotels
2.7 mi away
Grand Heritage Narmada Jacksons
1.1 mi away
Rishi Regency Hotel
Rishi Regency Hotel
#2 of 26 in Jabalpur
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Samrat
The Samrat
#3 of 26 in Jabalpur
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Jabali Palace
Hotel Jabali Palace
#10 of 26 in Jabalpur
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arihant Palace
Arihant Palace
#20 of 26 in Jabalpur
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roopali
Hotel Roopali
#6 of 26 in Jabalpur
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Satya Ashoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Satya Ashoka

Address: Opp Wright Town Stadium, Jabalpur 482002, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Jabalpur District > Jabalpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Jabalpur
Price Range: $50 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Satya Ashoka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Satya Ashoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing