We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cauvery was pure bliss”

Dubare Elephant Camp
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cauvery was pure bliss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Cauvery was pure bliss.We did rafting and plunged in Cauvery.It was rocky , natural, pleasant. Did not go on a elephant ride because they overcharge for a small distance,Better go to nisardhama for it. More than elephants we went for cauvery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    393
    196
    69
    45
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Elephant Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Based on the branch of River Cauvery is this nice litte spot where mini mamoths reside. Its a very small camp as compared to the ones we hear or read in India. Still a very descent attraction to be a part of the Elephant Sanctuary. They have close to 20 elephants in the camp, including the young ones and the grown ups. The place is not very Jungle like or Camp like but has been infestd with the commercialisation bug. Every single things you wish to do has a charge ranging from Rs 20 to Rs 100 per person. You have to either raft or take a commuter boat to cross the river and go to the other side where the camp is situated. There are activities like bathing the elephants, feeding, Elephant Ride etc. Even for getting close to the baby elephants to take a picture they will ask for a TIP or a Fee. You can feed the Elephants with hay bundles which again will cost Rs 20 per bundle. Leaving aside the commercial part you can enjoy the place for a couple of hours and proceed on to your other journey. The kids will surely love the experience and certainly a good place for shutter bugs to capture the mini mamoth

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tushjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overcrowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you able to reach here by 7-8 in the morning and participate in the elephant bathing programme, maybe its worth its while. Anytime after that is not a good time at all. We reached there around 11 and it was a complete waste of time.

Too many agents trying to drag you to the rafts. The rafting itself is poorly managed with improper equipment and best avoided unless you are really desperate to raft.
The 'elephant ride' is exorbitantly priced for a 50 m loop. You will find better elephant rides in many national parks in India.

Very very touristy place filled with tourists who did not show the least bit of respect for the elephants residing there.

PS: This is not a natural setting at all. It is completely converted to a poorly managed tourist attraction.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank theCraftyCamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a good place if you want to touch and bathe elephants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very touristy place...it is important that you reach on time if you want to give bath elephants or else you will miss it as elephant stake bath during a specific time.

They have small (about 5 min) joy ride on elephants but it is very crowded and has a long queue. We had a to wait for nearly 1 hour for a turn. There is a queue number that is given to everybody but I noticed that those groups who came from high-end resorts somehow were ahead of the queue.

After we left Dubare camp, we went to Nisargadhama (15-20 min drive) and even they had 2 elephants where we could take a ride. The ticket price for elephant ride in Nisargadhama was half of ticket price at Dubare and there was no queue.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pkhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad expereince with hooligans & mafia operating boating & rafting.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Today I write this review after having a extremly bad expereince in the camp this morning.This is not a place for people coming from far of places with their families to see the place.The whole place is highly unsafe for women & children with rowdies & hooligans operating the raftin g & boating.One of our family member who was waiting to return to the main bank was hit on his leg by an inexpereinced & irresponsible boatmen.An altercation took place between him and the local boatmen which led to all boat & rafting groups coming and beating my family member.Even the women and children were not spared. In the whole place not even a single cops were visible. We heard from some people that the local police are hand in glove with this boating mafia.Therefore I request all those who plan go to this place " be careful" please do not risk yourselves & your family. Shame on the authorities (LAW & ORDER jokers) not keeping any cops at tourist location which attract thousands even foreigners.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank vinithshetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubare Elephant Camp also viewed

Bhagamandala, Kodagu (Coorg)
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
 
Kushalnagar, Kodagu (Coorg)
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
 

Been to Dubare Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing