We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see.....but reach by 8 a.m.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dubare Elephant Camp

Dubare Elephant Camp
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Must see.....but reach by 8 a.m.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very good place. You have to cross a small river stream to reach the place. The boat ride is also amazing with calm waters. You get to see the elephants bathing, you can feed them, watch them walk around. You can enjoy elephant ride. A must visit in coorg

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rajashree_oak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    380
    194
    66
    43
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Badly organised and everything is about money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My first impression of the place was things had not changed since i had last visited this place 7 years ago. Starting from the boat ride across the river to the bathing of the elephant or the elephant rides, everything was overpriced and totally disorganised.

Being a Government org i had not expected much, but the overbearing crowd and the total haphazard manner in which the lines or boat rides were maintained was pathetic. I would suggest one go to Nisargadhama which is much better with elephant rides and just 15-20 Rs per ride as compared to 100rs in Dubare. A small round which is the same one that one gets for the 20 Rs in Nisargadhama.
To think that i travelled all the way from Bangalore to do this, its pretty disappointing. Even bathing charge is Rs 100 which is ridiculous. The kids enjoy it a lot thoug, i personally would not enter that water where the elephant takes a leek and dump in the same water....was not a pretty sight for anyone around.
The worse part is when one has to get back - access point to the boat is a tree root which can get your foot caught between its vines and you could actually break a leg. You have to take the same boat that you came in and there is no line system - so people are all falling over each other and almost ready to risk their kids and elders falling off into the water. It was a pathetic scene. I for one - am never going back there again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GennyPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take a bath with an elephant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

On October 28/29th we drove from Bangalore to Dubare Elephant Camp (near coorg) and stayed overnight at the Jungle Lodge. Drive was a good 6 hours and the last part over a very narrow and bumpy road. After a short boat ride across the Kabini river we arrived at the Jungle lodge where we were welcomed by the staff and shown to our cottages. The cottages are very basic but clean. The cottages could do with an upgrade. Safari drive is a great way of seeing the forrest and we were fortunate to see a wild sloth bear. The staff already indicates that it is very rare to see wild animals so don't get your hopes up. Dinner is good but basic. Next day the walk along the river and through a bit of the forrest is nice. The main attraction are the elephants. Great experience to see them come out of the forrest and to the river for their bath. We had a great time giving them a bath and get so close with these gentile giants. The camp does sell day tickets as well so do not be alarmed about the large crowd along the shore. It would be much nicer and maybe better if the camp would sell just a certain amount of tickets - the elephants are facing a lot of people and I am sure it freaks them out a bit at times. The elephant ride is a bit of a rip off. Short walk of 5 to 7 minutes. Not worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sfo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got to the opposite side of the river by 900AM and ate some dosas and idlis. The shop also sells good coffee. There are paid restrooms.

We got to the elephant camp by 930AM - just about the time when the elephant bathing started. Kids loved the elephant-bathing experience and did it for a while.

The camp can be better organized. Staff need to explain more about the elephants, their names and whether each was a cow or a bull. Also, missing (and there is scope to include) are educational materials or films on elephants, taking care of them, how many elephants are in the camp, what all do they do, etc.

We also went boating. Trip was about 30 mins. We rowed and were also accompanied by a guide who did a lot of rowing. Boating was mediocre at best. They let you jump off and swim.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VVGBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could be better for kids and adults alike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Elephants at Dubare are a sight. But everything around you makes you wonder - is this all this camp about- litter, unorganized staff / people, staff asking for tips - these makes you think twice.
For kids- its an absolute joyous experience. My son enjoyed the boat ride, the feeding and the ride session. The charges are very high- I felt that they didn't act on maintenance though they collected huge sums. We have everything, yet we haven't done our bit to maintain the place in India.
When my son took the elephant ride, I saw the staff being very harsh on the elephant- that was very sad. He was hitting it with a stick for no reason to no end. He was rude with us as well. After the one hour wait to get the tickets, another hour to ride - it was draining. But the only solace was that our little boy enjoyed.
It is a good place to see on a visit to Coorg. But the authorities concerned sure have a lot of work to make the experience worth the while!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PadmaSharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubare Elephant Camp also viewed

Kushalnagar, Kodagu (Coorg)
Bhagamandala, Kodagu (Coorg)
 
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
 

Been to Dubare Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing