We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a park on hill top”
Review of Raja's Seat

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“its a park on hill top”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

this place is for the people who want to relax in cool breeze.............. and view of the hills and valley....... there is also a mini train service opposite the raja's seat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jigs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    343
    209
    21
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Sunset and decent musical fountain”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Entry fee: Rs. 5
The sunset was decent, there is ample space and they have made good arrangement to sit.
Around 6:30 PM they start musical fountain, kids would probably love it.
There is also a train ride, I believe it around Rs. 10 per head.
Very commercial place but I liked it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mehul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Place to just sit idle and enjoy the evening.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Raja seat is located just near the madikeri town (2kms). Good place to view sunset and do a panoramic photo. There is tourist train to take you around the small hill, might be some 1-2 kms. Lot of people visit this place. Best time is to visit at evening 5pm to sunset. If you want to explore little more move away from the main crowd, there is small way down to another small cliff. Not advisable during dark hours. Overall good place to visit if you are in madikeri.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“View point from Madikeri”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Make sure you are here during sunset, though it could get crowded then. There is a garden, and the musical fountain which operates past sunset. The toy train is also close by. Don't expect anything spectacular, but cover this if you are at Madikeri.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank srihariramadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sit all day and evening long @ Raja's Seat!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After seeing almost all the hill stations in Northern part of India, Coorg was my first hill station trip in Southern India. Although in my opinion it is very different from the typical small hill stations like Nainitaal, Manali, Shimla, Kasauli, I found it equally beautiful, although in a different way.

On my second day of the trip, me and my friend were exploring the different tourist destinations in the Northern part of Coorg, which were in and around Madikeri. We reached the Raja's Seat at 12:30 on a sunny but slightly chilly end of Dec afternoon and laid our eyes on the pure serine and beautiful scenic view from the hill top point. Typically a location like this would be called as Sunset / Sunrise point of Lover's/ Suicide point at the hill stations in Northern India. However, this place has a history of its own and happens to be one of the favorite time-pass joint of the Maharaja of Coorg! I must say the place has been very well kept and maintained to attract the tourists and localities to enjoy the view and have some quality time with family and friends (typically known as picnic in India). Well maintained landscape, public utilities, seating arrangement, etc makes the park a comfort zone for travelers at anytime of the day. Also there is a quick 1km long toy train ride available for your kids and a musical water fountain show that takes place for an hour every evening after sunset.

We decided to come back to Raja's seat in the evening, after covering other local places like Abbey falls, the fort, etc, to capture the sunset on our camera's. To my surprise the place a complete jam pact by 6 in the evening with very few tourists but mostly the localities who were super excited to catch the sunset, sitting on the stairs made especially to capture the view (which i did not realize earlier). Since the circle was totally filled with people, we decided to trek 10 mins from the Raja's seat to another small deserted place from where the view of sunset was straight and just about perfect (although you have to walk through the jungle to reach there). I must say this was the best sunset I have ever seen in my whole life, without a slightest shadow of doubt.

Also, the best part was, you could hear the whole crowd (all age groups) cheering while you enjoy the sunset. Post the sunset you can still spend another hour at the point, enjoying the musical fountain show and some local delicacies available right outside the park. While we tried leaving the park at around 7:30 the we realized this place was nothing less than a fair, with a flood of people present there just to catch a glimpse of the senset. That itself says, how big of a hit this place is.

So thums-up all the way for Raja's seat and do plan to visit the point only at the time of sunset to enjoy the real beauty of Coorg and Sun god.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravSinghRajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raja's Seat also viewed

Bhagamandala, Kodagu (Coorg)
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
 
Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg)
 

Been to Raja's Seat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing