We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality, ambience, tranquility and comfort bundled into one super holiday”
Review of Vindhyas Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodagu (Coorg)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vindhyas Homestay
Ranked #63 of 290 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hospitality, ambience, tranquility and comfort bundled into one super holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

when i confirmed the booking with Vindhya Homestay, my expectations were pretty high but the kids and teens were sceptical whether it was a wise decision to opt for this place. the first look at the place when the owner himself was out at the gate to receive us, charged all of us and none of us realised how quickly our 3 days stay got over. The food is awesome, hospitality is super with a personal touch, place is very well maintained and there is personal involvement of the owners written all over. Would love to visit the place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravivishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nischitha, Owner at Vindhyas Homestay, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Ravi,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We had a great time with you and family. Like we said it is so rewarding to have you lovely people visiting us. Hope to see you back here very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

"Vindhyas" is no doubt one of the best home stay at Coorg. We (5) visited here from Nov 1st-3rd 2013. It is placed at just 10 km before Madikere, inside a beautiful coffee estate. It's on the SH88 mysoore-madikeri raod, so connectivity is good.one will feel like staying in a beautiful jungle camp inside nature. Cottage very well maintained and clean. It has 3 separate bedroom with 2 attached and 1 common bathroom, 1 small kitchen and dining. can easily accommodate 3 couples or a group of 8-10 people. The best part is Owner ( Nischita, Deepak, Uncle, aunt... ) are so kind enough and will take care everything like family members. The food prepare by them are good. Only bad about the place is, you can expect power cut some time as a common issue in coorg area, but they do have solar light as back up. Also TV should be upgraded to a better one. One will definitely njoy the stay and will love to comeback again..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BikramBhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishi83, Owner at Vindhyas Homestay, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Bikram,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We are planning to get a new TV for the cottage. Thank you for your suggestion. Hope to see you again some time soon!

Warm regards,
Jayanth & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

One of the best home stay experiences I’ve ever had. The family takes care of you from the time you drop them the first mail by guiding you with the best way to travel, confirming your food preference and they make sure all your queries are heard and responded to with patience.

What was even more surprising was the fact that they don’t go slack in their service even after you reach their property. The food is amazing, Nishcita and aunty take effort to make the dessert themselves and trust me, I was not sure if the desserts were to be had before food or after, too tempting to keep it in the fridge. The other thing worth mentioning is the fact that Deepak took an effort to take us around the property, which is massive and regularly has wild elephants spotting.

The other thing that you can be assured of is privacy, the home stay is at some distance from the owners house and they make sure they don’t disturb you unless its really needed. The family does not let out the place on per room and that way you are sure that you will not have to deal with unruly people disturbing your stay.

About the property, its situated in their 35 acres coffee plantation (its more like inside a jungle), however its easily accessible by road. You will be surrounded by trees all around and don’t be surprised to see over sized creepy crawlies at night if you sit outside. So basically you get the best of both worlds, a homely safe stay and a stay in the wilderness.

Loved the experience and would love to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Would prefer staying in the kids room than any other room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahuls_Travel_Logs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have nothing but good stuff to say about this homestay ! We ( my husband and I, with 3 close friends) travelled to Coorg this weekend. We had been in touch with Mr. Jayanth over the phone and he was most helpful in planning our stay.
When we got there, we were welcomed by his daughter, Nischita and her husband Deepak - they were warm and friendly and fun to talk to. They helped us out and organised our weekend for us.
The cottage is lovely - 2 bedrooms and an attic - can comfortably accommodate 7-8 adults....there's a little kichenette, with a dining room and 3 bathrooms, a nice patio and a garden.
Our hosts were thoughtful enough to stock the fridge with milk, fruits and cold drinks - they also stocked the kitchen with tea, coffee, biscuits.
It's a wonderful place - not too far from Madikere - about 12-13 kms and even nearer to Suntikoppa - would definitely recommend it for a stay in Coorg !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docpreeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Still searching for better words to describe the wonderful experience of our stay in Vindhyas homestay.
After lot of research in internet for weeks, we finally decided to stay in Vindhyas during our trip to Coorg to celebrate our first Anniversary. It was one of the best choice as everything was at its best and we couldn't have asked for more to make our trip memorable.

We would like to thank 3 people who made our trip so memorable.
Firstly, Jayanth uncle who was very kind, friendly and made us feel very comfortable right from the minute we first interacted with him - starting from booking, arranging for cab, planning our itinerary, taking care of all our needs till dropping us at the bus stand.
Next we would like to thank Mrs Jayanth who prepared such delicious food that everyone will love it. The quantity was more for us and she even prepared more varieties (both veg and non-veg) of food just for 2 of us.
Finally, Saru uncle, who picked us from Mysore railway station and took us to most of Coorg tourist sites. He was a wonderful guide, a man of patience with an ever smiling face.

Last but not the least… to tell about the homestay, please check the our pictures which talks for themselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pratheep_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Vindya's homestay on 14th and 15th June 2013. I usually prefer resorts.. this time my wife picked this homestay and staying here was an amazing experience. We reached along with our 3yr kid in night around 9pm. Jayanth was waiting for us to escort from the Mysore-Madikeri highway. The cottage was old but clean and in good condition. Beware during this season these villages’ encounters frequent power cuts. 14th night we had to stay without power.. But nothing to worry Jayanth has fixed solar lights in each and every corner of the house.
We all enjoyed the memorable stay. Thanks to my wife for picking up Vindhya’s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaleel_Nadaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband, myself and my 2 children stayed at Vindhya's during May 2013. The booking was easy. The place is on the highway itself and Mr Jayanth waited for us at the gate so that we did not get lost. Once we were inside we were at home. The cottage is a home surrounded by the plantations.......beautiful!!! My children were allowed to do their own thing and there was noone around to disturb, The cottage was spick and span and just the way a home should be. Mr Jayanth and his lovely wife Remya are loving owners who went out of their way to make our stay perfect, they opened their home and hearts to us. The home cooked food was tasty and we loved it. Thankyou from the bottom of our hearts. Their dogs are tied up so those of you afraid of dogs dont worry but we loved playing with maggi and caesar!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny25in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
7.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
20.1 mi away
V Resorts Yedamakky Plantations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Notting Hill Homestay
Notting Hill Homestay
#1 of 123 in Madikeri
198 reviews
15.0 mi away
Porcupine Castle Resort
Porcupine Castle Resort
#12 of 290 in Kodagu (Coorg)
350 reviews
4.9 mi away
Siddhi Aloha
Siddhi Aloha
#6 of 195 in Madikeri
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindhyas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindhyas Homestay

Property: Vindhyas Homestay
Address: Kedakal PO, 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful cottage set within a family owned working coffee plantation, it is an ideal place to stay while exploring Coorg and its surroundings. The calm, serene environment of the plantation allows you to relax and get your mind off the rest of the world! Take a walk through the estate and breathe the fresh mountain air & taste the fresh blend of fine coffee produced from our very own coffee garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing