We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in June!”
Review of Vindhyas Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodagu (Coorg)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vindhyas Homestay
Ranked #62 of 290 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
“Amazing experience in June!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Vindya's homestay on 14th and 15th June 2013. I usually prefer resorts.. this time my wife picked this homestay and staying here was an amazing experience. We reached along with our 3yr kid in night around 9pm. Jayanth was waiting for us to escort from the Mysore-Madikeri highway. The cottage was old but clean and in good condition. Beware during this season these villages’ encounters frequent power cuts. 14th night we had to stay without power.. But nothing to worry Jayanth has fixed solar lights in each and every corner of the house.
We all enjoyed the memorable stay. Thanks to my wife for picking up Vindhya’s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaleel_Nadaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband, myself and my 2 children stayed at Vindhya's during May 2013. The booking was easy. The place is on the highway itself and Mr Jayanth waited for us at the gate so that we did not get lost. Once we were inside we were at home. The cottage is a home surrounded by the plantations.......beautiful!!! My children were allowed to do their own thing and there was noone around to disturb, The cottage was spick and span and just the way a home should be. Mr Jayanth and his lovely wife Remya are loving owners who went out of their way to make our stay perfect, they opened their home and hearts to us. The home cooked food was tasty and we loved it. Thankyou from the bottom of our hearts. Their dogs are tied up so those of you afraid of dogs dont worry but we loved playing with maggi and caesar!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny25in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at Vindhya's home stay last weekend.
It was one of the best experiences we had. This was our first time in a homestay and indeed Mr.Jayant made it really memorable for us. The serene surroundings, bountiful nature made it amazing. The cottage we stayed was amidst the coffee gardens and we enjoyed our tea, coffee and food amidst the beauty of Mother nature. It was a very nice and a cosy cottage.
We must thank Mr.Jayant for his great hospitality.
We're sure to visit this place again and bring in more people with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Vindhya's a last week. This is the first time we stayed in a homestay and must say it is the best holiday experience we had till now. The location of the property is simply superb. This is a spacious cottage amidst a 40 acre beautiful coffee plantation. There are two bed rooms, an attic and a kitchenette. My kids loved the attic.They enjoyed a lot climbing trees,
plucking fresh fruits and flowers and playing on the swing. This is the best place to relax and de-stress.

Everything in the home stay is perfectly planned.Refrigerator was always stocked with fresh fruits and milk and Kitchenette was stocked with snacks for kids, tea bags, instant coffee, some basic cooking aids etc.

Our hosts Mr & Mrs.Jayanth are warm nice people and very friendly. Mr.Jayanth made sure we were comfortable.
.
Food was awesome. We had sumptuous, home cooked food which tasted heavenly
Hats off to Ramya Aunty's culinary skills.

Thank you Jayanth Uncle for the Chocolate cake and surprise birthday gifts for kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckrishnamohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There are two ways to travel - passively, as a tourist, expecting things to happen, going 'sight-seeing'. The other way is as a traveller - actively seeking out people, experiences and adventure. If you fall in the second category, Vindhyas is for you. It is easy to get lost in the near-isolation, the winding walks in the coffee estate, the sounds of all kinds of birds and that feeling of complete relaxation that overcomes you in the evening. Kudos to the fantastic people who run it. Mr. Jayanth is a wonderful host who takes almost paternal care of you. They stay almost a kilometre away (so get drunk and scream all you want - only the birds will be disturbed) in a beautiful old bungalow and I recommend shamelessly inviting yourself over for some tea and talk in the evening - it'll be worth it.

As for food, if the mouth-watering pepper pork, fried chicken, fish curry, pudding and payasam that they prepare (home-cooked style - I missed my mommy) don't satisfy you, Madikeri is a mere ten kilometres away where you can find food and more importantly, liquid refreshment.

Before I left Bangalore, I was sceptical of a place that had only fabulous reviews. I was sure I would be disappointed - I couldn't have been more wrong. Vindhyas is the kind of place where you wake up to bird song and drowsy mornings - definitely one of the best homestays I've been in.

Room Tip: There's just one cottage with two bedrooms and a wooden loft bedroom for kids, which can also ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivRNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at vindhyas between 19 nov 2012 to 23 nov 2012 with our 7 yr daughter & during our stay jayanth uncle told us " I pocket kids with finger chips" well what he doesn't know or he is being modest that he pockets everyone with his brilliant FOOD...homemade lot of variety(chicken,mutton,fish,sweets,pudding it's a long list) ,tasty & definitely more than 3 people can have , the only worry we had about the food sent to us was Hope it doesn't get wasted.
We came to this place after reading all the reviews & we were sure we are going stay with a gentleman & kind lady so we dint even mention that 19 nov was our wedding anniversary as I was sure the 60 + young man wud go out of his way to make it special.
The place is beautiful, quite & close to nature , rooms are clean & has a small but well kept kids room on top.we also visited jayanth uncle & Remya anutys house & had good conversation with them on last the day
Great place to stay if you want to get away from your day to day hectic life.
A keralite family settled in Karnataka since ages & entertaining India.
Hope to see you again !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudeshshetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Me and my wife visited Vindhyas a week back and we were visiting Coorg for the first time and had never stayed at a Home Stay before. After reading a lot of reviews we zeroed down on Vindhyas. The booking process was really nice, and we were even given list of places to cover with a lot of details like history, route maps etc by Nischitha who was really helpful. The best thing is you have the entire cottage to yourself. Before a couple of days Jayanth Sir gave us a call to find out our preferences for food. He even arranged a Cake for us for our anniversary.

The place was really wonderful in terms of location (right on the SH to Madikeri town). It is right next to coffee plantations and is really calm and quiet at nights. The food was exceptionally good and the quantity was just too much for the two of us. There is facility to make Tea/Coffee as many times as you like. There were fruits and chocolates stuffed as well for us to have whenever we want.
The real cherry on the cake was visiting Jayanth Sir and Remya aunty at their house and talking to them for a long time about their estate and various other things. They were so warm and welcoming it was as if we were sitting in our own home.
Thank you Jayanth Sir and Remya aunty for making the stay a memorable one and being such wonderful and generous hosts. We will be making plans to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dipak_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
7.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
20.1 mi away
V Resorts Yedamakky Plantations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Notting Hill Homestay
Notting Hill Homestay
#1 of 123 in Madikeri
198 reviews
15.0 mi away
Porcupine Castle Resort
Porcupine Castle Resort
#12 of 290 in Kodagu (Coorg)
350 reviews
4.9 mi away
Siddhi Aloha
Siddhi Aloha
#6 of 195 in Madikeri
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindhyas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindhyas Homestay

Property: Vindhyas Homestay
Address: Kedakal PO, 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful cottage set within a family owned working coffee plantation, it is an ideal place to stay while exploring Coorg and its surroundings. The calm, serene environment of the plantation allows you to relax and get your mind off the rest of the world! Take a walk through the estate and breathe the fresh mountain air & taste the fresh blend of fine coffee produced from our very own coffee garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing