We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away From Home!”
Review of Vindhyas Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodagu (Coorg)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vindhyas Homestay
Ranked #62 of 323 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Vindhya's Home stay... A Home Stay in true Sense! This was the first time we stayed in a Homestay... and the exp was just too gud!
They have a very nicely built up cozy cottage... surrounded by lush green and well maintained coffee plantations....... This was a real treat to eyes and soul....... The Food was just "TOO GOOD".... very tatsty curries and desserts... every meal was a delecious and pleasant foody surprise....On top of all this comes very amicable, decent attitude of host - Jayanth Uncle... His smile and caring attitude is so very contagious! He takes a lot of care about all minor - major likes and dislikes of guests... nd makes sure that everything is in place... We never felt that we are outsiders in their home.. we felt as if we were their close family members...... This was really memorable exp......Most memorable part in our coorg trip was Stay at Vindhya's.... Must stay here if visiting Coorg... No second thought.

It was pleasure staying @ Vindhya's and knowing and meeting Jayanth Uncle & Ramya Aunty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a "home" stay in the real sense. The only regret we had - the stay was too short!!, there will always be a next time - that's a promise

Jayanth uncle was superb, not just as a host but also like a grandfather - one can't get anymore personalised than that. He arranged a cake for my youngest's 3rd birthday, his granddaughter decorated the place along with him!! you don't get such an experience anywhere. Kids loved every moment spent!!

The food was simply "at home". The cottage was quaint, the view from the sit-out of the magic roses, hills, mist and rain was a treat for the eyes

The privacy of the cottage (only 1 group allowed at a time), the quietness added to the charm of an exclusive holiday

Calling us ahead of the trip, advising us to get warm clothes and to be prepared for the rains - was thoughtful!!

Thanks for the hospitality!! we would be back soon

Ajay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

By far, one of the best experiences I had in a homestay. We travelled as a family (me, my spouse and my parents). The beautifully done cottage amidst the coffee plantation is a treat to the eye. Even the decor is very aesthetically appealing. It's just the perfect resting place, away from the hustle and bustle of city life.
We had initially taken a package consisting of breakfast and accommodation only, but ended up ordering another meal per day as well. The food served was way more than we could manage to eat. We loved all of it, especially the desserts and non-veg items. The fridge and shelves provided an added attraction, being filled with fruits, cold drinks, chocolates and snacks.
I had a memorable B'day celebration at Vindhya's. Mr. Jayanth arranged for a cake at very quick notice and we had a very nice time.
Since we were not aware of many car agencies around the place, we asked for Mr. Jayanth's help regarding a car with driver. He arranged for a car for our trip starting right from Mysore. Mr. Saru, our driver is a very punctual person. He made sure we went to all the important places and helped us with lot of information regarding the places we visited.
Finally, we visited Mr. Jayanth and Mrs. Remya at their home and were treated with some beautiful stories and views of the plantation.
We would definitely recommend staying at Vindhya's homestay and enjoying the hospitality. It's just home away from home. There are absolutely no second thoughts about that :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrubabati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Vindhyas with our kids. This is clearly the best homestay experience we have had in a long time. We had a large secluded cottage with two bedrooms, attic, kitchen (with snacks for kids, fruits in the fridge, etc.) to ourselves in a 40 acre property amidst dense coffee plantation.
Food was another great plus - we were really pampered with really good home cooked food - a real boost after the long journey from Bangalore with multiple stoppages. Mr. Jayanth and his family really take pleasure in making your stay comfortable in every way, and the best part was getting to know such nice human beings, who do their work with love and sincerity. This is such a rarity nowadays. Would love to go and stay with them again, the next time we head towards Coorg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kannan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have stayed with my entire family; Nice place to stay with family. My kids are really enjoyed during the stay.

Our overall comments below:-

Safety In all aspects.

Location : For Sight seeing - Good coverage from this place for all main spots.

Food & Services - Homely, tasety food & prompt service.

Wash rooms - Clean & neat.

I wish Mr.Jayanth for his good services during our stay.

Regards
Ramesh, Bangalore

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rameshkumarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were looking for somewhere homely, unspoilt and traditional to stay for a few nights as part of a 3 week trip around Southern India. We didn't go wrong with Vindhyas.
Whilst relaxing in the heart of a coffee plantation amongst the trees, birds and other interesting wildlife, we were treated to the most delicious home cooked food of our whole trip.
Jayanth and Ramya's generous and warm hospitality really made it a place to remember!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

After 1 week long search we zeroed down to Vindhya's for our 3 days + 2 nights trip to Coorg, and it did not go wrong. it was exactly like we saw in their website. we were 2 family's. our kids enjoyed a lot here. I would say the best part of our Coorg trip was Vindhyas. But unfortunately did not get enough time at Vindhyas. Felt like we should go to Coorg next time only for Vindhys to relax. And I should say the host Jayanth uncle and family has taken care of every minute things which you might need in short stay. even the kitchen was loaded with snacks and fruits. you can make your unlimited tea and coffee. The little ones loved the attic. The rooms were very clean. The food was too good. Piping hot, yummy food in winter. Another point is Vindhyas is right on the road to Madikeri but still seems to be far away from all noise. It is a treat to be here and relax. So try to spend few hours in Vindhyas roaming around estate. Both Jayanth uncle and Aunty were very eager to explain everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Namitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
1.2 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
257 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
476 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 6 in Kakkabe
432 reviews
20.1 mi away
V Resorts Yedamakky Plantations
4.7 mi away
Notting Hill Homestay
Notting Hill Homestay
#1 of 135 in Madikeri
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vindhyas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vindhyas Homestay

Address: Kedakal PO, 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful cottage set within a family owned working coffee plantation, it is an ideal place to stay while exploring Coorg and its surroundings. The calm, serene environment of the plantation allows you to relax and get your mind off the rest of the world! Take a walk through the estate and breathe the fresh mountain air & taste the fresh blend of fine coffee produced from our very own coffee garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing