We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chingaara Estate Guest House
Ranked #20 of 289 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazingly Peaceful”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The place is amazing. So much of peace and tranquility. Estate is placed in between lush green. View from the balcony is awesome. If you are going between July to January you ll find good water fall. Beautiful location. Rooms are clean and neat. Being photography enthusiastic brilliant location for butterfly, bee, water fall and landscape shots. Mr. Sharath and Staff at estate are wonderful and very helping. Just go there you will find yourself....!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurajBegur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had been to chingara on Feb 2013. Late to put mt comments but........

Location:
This is located at a distance of 35 kilometres to Madikeri that keeps you away from vehicle noise, smoke and the busy routine life.

Stay:
Rooms are good and clean. Hot is available 24 hours. We stayed for 2 days and 2 nights. The guest house has a open sitout. On the first day we spent our time in the sitout area upto late in the night watching the stars, listening to the bird's sound and enjoyed the fresh breeze. On the
second day, manager has arranged a camfire and we were there very late in the night and 3 cute dogs, the pets of the guest house were there with us and thet leaded us to our room in the absolute dark.

Food:
All are home made and are very good. My husband loved the omlette served for breakfast. Food normally would be vegitarian and manager will take your chioce of menu if we need some thing else. I loved the home made pine apple jam served there and I bought one bottle.

Entertainment:
There is water falls just 1 Km away from the guest house. We can hear the sound of the water falling from hill when you 0.5 walk from the guset house towrads the water falls. It was a pleasure waking through the path, listening to the noise from the water falling from hill.

Pets in guset house:
There are 3 cute dogs - 1 black, 2 brown and 2 two puppies. I dont remember the names but hopefully the black is blacky and brown one is Kunthi. They accomapanied us to the waterfall, they sat there until we played, and then started walking with us back to the guest house. And they stayed with us during the camfire and they showed the way till our room since it was ultimate dark and no body esle in expect both of us.For the first time in life I took a pet to my hand and played with them. We flashed them on our camera. There are two donkeys - one male and one female Lilly.

I loved the place. We are very thankful to Mr.Sharath, (owner of the quest house) for having such a place for people like us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RekhaBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located on a hill and amidst lush green western ghats, we's had the opportunity to see and photograph some rare species. The location is great and is a magical experience in pre-monsoon and monsoon although we have travelled in almost all months.

Room Tip: The two rooms overlooking the coffee plantations. Ideal for a group or two couples to take that enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarishShanthiKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We decided to go to Chingaara on our honeymoon and what a treat it was ! I must say it is a tedious task to GET there. The route we took was Mangalore -> Madikeri -> kabbinakad and eventually their jeep picks you up ( and it is a rough ride to get up there ) but once you get there you ignore all of that! We had requested for the type 4 room but due to some problems in water heating in there alternative arrangements had to be made. The care taker, Lokesh, is an absolute gem of a person! Though the owner, Mr Sharath was out that week, Lokesh was the perfect host. Very caring and efficient. Luckily for us, we were the only couple staying over .. it being the middle of the week and the holiday season had not yet begun so we were really enjoyed his company and that of Ruby, the dog. The food was awesome! Lokesh is an excellent cook and makes great desserts. We had rented a car on the second day to see talacauvery/ bhagamandala temple and the igguthappa temple/vaddyar palace. We were also suggested a sunset pt which was a great experience! In the remaining time we explored the estates around the guest house and went for some longer treks ahead of Honeyvalley guest house which is further up. One of the best things we got to do was - sit out with our chairs and star gaze at night which is impossible in Mumbai or Pune. Absolutely clear skies ! It was a treat. No air pollution/ No noise pollution / hardly any ppl so you get ur privacy.There was no distraction in terms of TV / Internet. Ph signals are not too great either ( I had vodaphone ) which in a way is good too. And i think the prices were reasonable too for everything. All in all .. I think it was one of the best choices we made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

You will feel really good the way the staff, manager & everyone treats you at Chingaara. We were there recently and had booked 4 rooms for our big group of families. We had a great time at Chingaara. We arrived just around lunch time to be surprised to find a local cuisine vegetarian lunch ( non veg food is served to the table upon placing an order ).

We had kids who are 3 years old and one 7 year old. We had plenty to do. We took a jeep ride to the water falls within the property. There were were few ppl at the falls ( the ones staying at Chingaara itself ) and we had a great time there. We trekked back to the place and even our little ones walked back. It was a great experience walking through the coffee estate and a lovely view of various flowers, hills and the smell of coffee flowers.

We spent the rest of the evening playing carrom, cards, crossword and a bunch of other board games. They also have a mini library from where you can borrow books to read - a pretty decent collection i must say. There was a camp fire that followed and we went there for sometime. The rooms are lovely and kept very clean, though some may feel the need of a fan, we found it comfortable enough to sleep with the windows shut.

The breakfast was a good round of Idli, bread toast and fruits followed by coffee/tea. Hot water facility is available in the rooms and the toilets are kept clean. Rooms are well furnished and clean too.

A great place to spend the weekend. Please go through the Madikeri route to save time & your back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinod110979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Do not go to Chingaara if you are too careful about your manicured hands and pedicured feet. Be ready to rough it out with nature a bit and in return she gives you what she has best to offer - here at Chingaara.

Getting there: If you are coming from Bangalore, do not go via the route shown by Google Navigation (i.e. via Gonikoppal) - the roads are very bad there. Its best to go to Madikeri and then make your way to Kakkabe, stop at Kabbinakkad Junction (its a small place with a few 4WD 'jeeps' standing). There are buses that run between Madikeri and Kakkabe. The roads are bad, so its advisable to start early so that you don't have to travel during the night time.

Parking: There is a parking place next to a house, where you can park your car. You would need to take a 4WD to get to Chingaara.

The Place: Its simply lovely for those who love to get away from traffic, sound of the city, television, etc. The property is situated in midst of a plantation-forest and overlooks hills and plantations. The air is fresh and crisp in November.

The property is very well made with traditional stone bricks (popular in Kerala), its airy, and well ventilated. Photos of wildlife and birds taken in the estate (mostly) adorn the walls of the common areas. There is a lovely sit out in the main building on the first floor.

The Rooms: We chose room type 3, which was quite spacious and at the same time spartan. It doesn't have a luxury bath tub and all - its basic, and clean. The sheets are clean and the floor is kept clean by the staff. The only 'problem' with the room is that we have to close the windows during the night (to prevent mosquitoes and insects from coming in). This makes it a wee bit stuffy if you are the one that is used to sleeping under a fan. I would suggest to the management to put nets on the windows.

The Food: Simple and wholesome food - local cuisine. If you have specific requirements, tell them in advance, and they will oblige. I loved the food, I really hope they do not ever descend to make 'Paneer Butter Masala and Chicken Tikka Masala' a part of their menu.

Service: The entire staff including the owner are very friendly and they listen. They do every bit to make you feel at home.

Things to do: I read a ridiculous review stating there was 'Nothing to do'; nothing can be further from the truth. We went for multiple hikes there are various trekking routes and some short walks. There is a beautiful waterfall at stones throw from the estate. However, for families with very small children, you need to be careful with the insects.Though, I would not advise treks, instead walks to families with infants and small children. My daughter is 9 year old and we went for 8km trek up the hill near the estate (remember to carry water, biscuits).

At the estate itself there is a carom board, Table Tennis, Badminton court and some board games. They also have an mountain bike for cycling around.

At night, during permissible weather a bonfire is lit and its nice sitting around and chatting with other guests.

Things to be careful about:
The place is generally safe. We did a night trek from Chingaara up to Honey Valley estate. In some places there are leeches (esp. near the waterfall). But hey anyone who has trekked has been bitten by leeches - no fuss. But be careful of scorpions, so best to avoid night treks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank narendranathn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have been to chingaara on 16th October with my sis in laws family and I could say it was excellent in all the means.... Be tithe nature , serenity ,,,, staff , rooms food ,,,, what not. ,, everything was very very good..... It is the best holiday spot I can say.. We has the best time there... Staff were very kind with us .... And they ensured the best stay for us....... We stayed there only for one day because we had already paid advance amount for another one.... But we wished we would have stayed there for our entire trip..... Out of our coorg trip ,,,, chingaara is the best... Guys go for hit with no hesitation at all.... This is very very nice... Especially when my 3 yrs load daughter is bitten by a leech ,, mr anjith one of the owners took her into his arms and washed her feet himself and gave us the confidence that nothing would happen to her... I say that is called kindness..... They are so caring.... Finally I say a big wow to mr Sharath.... Mr Sharath , we have recommend ur place to all our friends .. And next time we already planned to come there......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
485 reviews
17.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 23 in Madikeri
432 reviews
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 23 in Madikeri
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
159 reviews
17.4 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chingaara Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chingaara Estate Guest House

Property: Chingaara Estate Guest House
Address: Yavakapady Village Post | Kabbinakkad, Madikeri Taluk, 571212, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chingaara Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing