We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning spot in the forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chingaara Estate Guest House
Ranked #21 of 286 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning spot in the forest”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was the best value of anywhere we stayed during our Keralan road trip. Set in the heart of the forest, near the most romantic waterfall, with a plunge pool at the bottom, great for a dip, these beautiful buildings combine indoor/outdoor space, so that you really do feel close to nature. Staff were friendly, but discreet and couldn't do enough for us, which was great as we were "challenging" guests, staying with a very inquisitive 17 month old! Thanks Sharrath and team

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are not planning for site seeing near Madikeri or tala-Kaveri stay here. The best features of Chingaara are: their clean rooms, excellent service, homely and tasty food, private waterfalls (YES! they really have it in their coffee estate), campfire and the millions of starts you can see on a clear night sky. Worth your money!

Room Tip: Take the type one room it's really good. Visit on a weekday or book earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Visited here with folks (4 of us, two couples) in June 2012. The weather was awesome, the place was quiet. The location is like a secret. We parked our car at a location and then our gracious host picked us up and we journeyed up a road which doesnt exist. The rooms are large and spacious and clean. The place looks newly made so it's quite nicely done.
Service, as services in a lodge, are relaxed. Folks from the city, be patient.
Bought some of their pepper and pepper chocolates. Nice!
The place actually looks like the pics here (took Tripadvisor recommendation). This includes the she-donkey too. Except to be woken up by braying for bread.
People are friendly, food varies between average-good. Somethings are not on the table (like we asked for omlettes during breakfast) but they make it for you.
We stayed for a complete day and had a good time taking walks up and down trails. it was lush and green and pretty. A waterfall close to the resort is a must visit.

Room Tip: Any's good. Hopefully you would not spend much time in the room :) The rooms are large and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shwetawrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We (5 members) had been to Chingaara for a 2 night's stay.

Location:
This is located almost at the border of coorg. so u cant be happy by just reaching Madikeri. a few steps away was kerala. took us good 8-1/2hrs to reach. Roads till Madikeri is good to go. post that its bad. this is not a place for cars to go as there's no parking facility. you got a 4WD, go ahead...the bloody climb should done on 2L + 2nd gear. the only place they call 'parking' is beside the road. it aint safe. mark my words.

Stay:
Rooms are good to go. clean. but watch out for some monster spiders. my wife made me kill two. the room that's a price tag of 1800/nite...is a rip off. its like a pigeon hole and u feel like a jailed servant. NO LAUNDRY.

Food:
Pork curry and Chicken curry are good. they use too much oil (we felt so) and a lot of salt. the curd is home made so its got that sour taste. their onion bajjie is good. french fries werent cooked and had chillie powder on them. wonder why they did that. their on the package food is veg only and is below average in taste.

Entertainment:
you got lilly the donkey, lilly's possessive about Kunthi (brown stray dog), Kunthi has lots of pals around her, Blackie and gang. then the indoor recreation (carrom, scrabble) and outdoor -Badminton are the ones that keep you sane in this place. if not for these, you die a sorry death...be it with pals or family. there are books for the worms.

View:
Nothing. no trek too. u need to go to palace estate for guided trek.

Staff:
Very friendly and they listen.

What to do:
Nothing. all places are far and the bad winding Coorg roads make it worse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stapp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallsescape, Owner at Chingaara Estate Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Our guests come to Chingaara to be away from the sounds and traffics of the city. One of the attractions of Chingaara is the sounds of nature- the birds, bees and the crickets and this is the reason why we discourage even guests with 4 wheel drives to drive up to the estate and have a car parking facility a few kms away from the estate.

Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. If Coorg has no view then there would be very few places on earth which has views. There are several treks in and around Chingaara but for that, we do need to walk, trekking is all about walking and not travelling by vehicle.

The lowest category room has all the comforts but less spacious compared to the other rooms. And the guests are informed prior to booking of the rates and the category of rooms. But if the room in your picture is not spacious then there is not much to say. And being in the midst of nature we do try to keep away the insects without using chemicals.

Lilly, Blackie & Kunthi are pets of Chingaara, not really entertainment offered to the guests but animal lovers are always welcome to play with them.

Guests who come to Chingaara know exactly what we have and they come wanting what we have to offer which is nature at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In between lavish coffee plantation, the estate is very nice. We enjoyed our 2 days stay here. I loved the food (very fresh saag and vegetables, food without spices and homemade wine). We went to honey valley(2 km up) and explored few trekking paths. We wished we could spend more days here. All the people in the resort including the owner-Sharath were very helpful.

You can reach this place by bus from Bangalore.
Bangalore to virajpet (6-8 hrs KSRTC.in), Virajpet (private bus stand around 500 meter aways from KSRTC bus stand) to kabinakkad junction (1 hr)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biotspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

You can easily fall in love with Chingaara. You'll find there everything you can wish for.
Wonderful, spacious, clean rooms. Great, helpful hosts. Beautiful gardens with loads of flowers. Delicious, original, regional and homemade food and so much tea/ coffee you can manage to drink.
Additionally Coorg is one of the best places in India - wonderful hilly landscape, with coffee plantations all over them, superb place to go for a walk or even a trek (but be careful it's easy to get lost! We did! ;))

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Me & my husband spent our 1st anniversary in Chingaara.We had booked a car from Bangalore,left in the morning & reached chingaara at 2:00pm in the afternoon.M all praises for this place..had never seen nature in such a pure form n so close..me & anil really needed a break from our extra busy schedules..the food was yummy..the morning unlimited coffees..we thought we will do sight seeing n all the next day..but all we did was lazed around in the guest house..drinking nice filter coffee & playing board games...just amazingg..n the best part " NO TV" ,anil got a little surprised (or shocked) initially since i had not told him that i booked a place where there is no fan n TV in the room..but trust me - he did thank me for this...u really don't need a TV wen such a beautiful environment calls you..its nice..we came back rejuvenated..staff was also very nice n friendly..in fact m planning to go again this june for my 2nd anniversary..All cheers to Chingaara..just LOVEDD ITT..!! n yes - value for money without any doubt.. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
17.4 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
23.3 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chingaara Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chingaara Estate Guest House

Property: Chingaara Estate Guest House
Address: Yavakapady Village Post | Kabbinakkad, Madikeri Taluk, 571212, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 286 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chingaara Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing