We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of RiverSide Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodagu (Coorg)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RiverSide Cottages
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Lovely Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a good experience and enjoyed every moment being there. Planning to go again this year. From the estate, the river is in walkable distance and it is very exciting to roam around the cottage & estate. Nice scenery you’ll get to see from the cottage. Thanks to Uncle and Auntie who takes care of their guest so warmly. You can also view some of the pictures I had taken during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damodarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Cottage is a very near to me. I first visited here with my sister & a couple of friends (2003), It was not the last time I visited the place. I have visited the place thee to 4-5 times since then. The cottages face lush green hills (especially in the monsoons) & a river that passes through the estate. You could go down to bathe in the river, or just spend some quiet time together. You could also spend some time on the shades of coffee plantation & walk across bringing some fresh peppercorns home (my favorite).

The food is local & homely, something flavours different from what I have been exposed to, but have grown to love it. Dont expect anything fancy like the restaurants. You will try different chutneys, traditional Rice rotis & I can never forget Mango curry (Manga curry). However if you do have dietary restrictions, please do let them know in advance & they do learn up recipes & take care of you. In fact if you have recipes to share, Aunty is very quick to either make it herself or offer her kitchen to you :)

The place is very nice & our hosts (Muthappa family), the family is very warm too. This homestay is run by a well read Aunty & well travelled Uncle. The family moved from Delhi post uncle's retirement from Air India. I can assure you you can spend hours together with them, talking about anything under the sun! Will I go back there, Of course!

Room Tip: All the cottages face the river & typically go full. Please book in advance if you have a big gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an idyllic place to spend a family holiday, doing nothing but walking around and wallowing in the shallow, crystal clear waters of the beautiful river Hatti. It's an easy 250km drive from Bangalore. The Muthappa family are very friendly and interesting conversationalists, and we really enjoyed talking to them. At the same time, they are not at all intrusive, and let you do your own thing at your own pace. Mrs. Ponnu and her daughter are great cooks and kept us well fed morning and night, catering to dietary restrictions cheerfully. They don't do lunch, though, so you can either carry some food that will keep, or plan on driving out to eat. The nearest town, Sunticoppa, is less than 10 km away, while Madikeri is about 20 km. The Dubare elephant camp is also within easy reach.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. They are attached to the hosts' home by a courtyard which also serves as the dining area. We loved the chirpy little sparrows -- now impossible to find in Bangalore -- that flit around here. Cottages 2 and 3 have a connecting door and a common sit-out, which is perfect for a family of 4-6. Cottage 1 is larger and separated from the other two by the dining area. The only negative I can think of is the shortage of hot water. On the other hand -- hot water is a common commodity, but where else can you get a private river to bathe in? Also, the tariff here is very reasonable -- much lower than at other homestays we have been to.

Having seen most of the sights of Coorg on many trips over the years, we decided to just stay put this time. We stayed three blissful days, savouring our quiet, peaceful Divali, and we weren't bored at all. Of course, we are a family of bookworms with a Kindle apiece which, along with the estate walks and bathing in the river, took care of our entertainment. Our dog, who was also welcomed, enjoyed the friendly doggy society of Romi the labrashund/ dacshador and Brandy the dacshund. Thanks to Mrs. Ponnu for a wonderfully refreshing holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harinigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I never thought that it will be such a memorable and pleasant holiday for me and my family. Surrounded by mountains and a stone through away from the charming river, "River Side cottage" is the place to relax and forget the city for some time. All credit for the nice homely and welcoming place goes to Uncle and Auntie and Gayathri, Thanks a lot and will definitely see you all again. A place to relax enjoys the cottage environment, Have nice homely food and take a dip in the river. Let your kid play with the tail wagging cuddly dogs. If you want to visit places around Coorg then take the vehicle and get going as most of the tourist attractions are not far from here. In the night time have a chat with Uncle and you will learn a lot about Coorg and it’s history. Had a great time here.

S. Routray

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRoutray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went with expectations of being away from crowd and wanting to spend time. This place just served it. Far away from the busy streets, away from the din and the crowd, with nature in plentiful and "forcing" you to think of what to do with time. This is what happened to us. Forced - that is the word that I should use; typical city breeds like us suffer from spending time on us - us to communicate with each other, communicate with family in the estate; make meaningful use of time and the "resources" around in the estate.

We did walkabouts, played in the sun, listened to nature, played in the river banks, got surprised every morning with the greenery and the mist and breathed unpolluted air. Riverside cottage serves all of this and more.

Auntie, Uncle and Gayathri, Thanks for your company and the time. Thanks for connecting with us and making the time spent worth the while.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Coorg Riverside cottages was one of the best experience we have have had in a long time. We just wanted to spend time relaxing and spend time as a family and not rush about doing all the tourist sites. Riverside cottages is just the kind of place to unwind. The food provided by Auntie was exceptional. We wanted to taste typical coorgi cuisine and auntie had quite a spread. We had called ahead and told about dietary restriction for my father and Auntie was very accommodating. Uncle has had a very interesting life and answered all our queries about Kodavas.
The kids had so much fun in the back waters just down the hill, and the weather could not have been more perfect.
The only bad part was the road and distance the cottages are from the main road. If you are not use to driving in Coorg it can get very uneasy driving at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I went to Coorg River Side cottage last week. I do not recommend any body to visit this place. I agree that the view from the cottage is very good and it’s located in a beautiful place but that does not qualify for a good home stay.

To start with, the lady of the house was not at all friendly (Uncle was out of station when we went..so can’t comment if the situation is different in his presence). We asked for evening snacks because we went there after lunch, with out thinking even for a moment, lady straight away refused. We paid extra to one of the servant there to get us snacks from nearest city Suntikoppa. We would have been happy even if she had given us a simple bread sandwich.

Dinner was fine. No complaints on that. Next day morning, we requested for hot water for bathing the baby (We had a toddler with us). As usual, she straight away said, hot water is form Solar so I can’t help if it gets over in some time. All we asked for a tumbler of hot water , we would not have minded even if she had told she will charge extra for that. But she straight away refused.

The breakfast was just awful. We had only 2 choices, some rice cake with only sambar (not even chutney) and pathetic bread sandwich made out of last night’s cutlet!.
Some home grown papayas were there and most of us just had that.

I have been to couple of other home stays in Coorg, they were fine for the money we pay. This was just not acceptable. On top of that lady was asking us questions like if the kid has wet the bed! This was really irritating.

Home stay owners, should either treat us like guests (treat us like your family memebers and provide some basic amenities like good food and hot water!) or like Customers (treat us like Kings  ) But here were neither of them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank npswarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
4.8 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
7.3 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 21 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ulo Riviera The Spring Arc
Ulo Riviera The Spring Arc
#29 of 45 in Kodagu (Coorg)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Yedamakky Cottage
Yedamakky Cottage
#3 of 15 in Virajpet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Resort Coorg
Magnolia Resort Coorg
#2 of 2 in Virajpet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
21.2 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverSide Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverSide Cottages

Property: RiverSide Cottages
Address: River Side Estate Post Box # 55 | Suniticoppa, Coorg, 571237, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 466 Specialty Lodging in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Side Cottages is not a luxury hotel - just an extremely convenient and totally comfortable Home Stay.The atmosphere is perfect for those who would rather kick-off their shoes and spend a day in the river, spending quality time with their family or, if the heart desires lounge away on the patio reading a good book, enjoying the fresh air, peace and quiet of the beautiful estate. At night the gentle gurgling of the river, chirping of the crickets and rustling of the leaves fills the air, and the true glory of nature lays opens up in the sky, with a million stars just waiting for you to reach out and touch them. River Side Cottages is like Utopia for a philosopher. If you like to mingle with nature, watch leaves flutter in a dance and hear the sounds of birds fill the air, feel the romance in the mountains, the tingle of the cool gentle breeze, then Coorg is just the place for you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing