We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Coorgi Homestay experience”
Review of Sand Banks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodagu (Coorg)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Banks
Ranked #120 of 337 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband Debu and I visited Coorg, in September 2012, we were fascinated by the name of the Homestay Sandbank, hence decided to stay here and I am so glad we did. Mr. Kalappa was patient enough to guide us to the location. Once we got there both Mrs & Mr. Kalappa were very hospitable, friendly and extremely helpful. The location is mind blowing and you will understand why it is truly called Sand Banks. We were served authentic coorgi food prepared by Mrs. Kalappa herself. It was an amazing experience, I wish we could stay longer admits the coffee plantations, away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at the coffee wood villa, the wood work and architecture is something worth seeing. If you want to really experience Coorgi life and it's surroundings this is the place to stay

Room Tip: Stay at the Coffee Wood Villa most of the furniture is made from coffee wood which is quite unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casadeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

We went as a big group of 9 adults and 2 kids, booked all 4 rooms bet 23rd may and 25th may 2012. Everyone loved the place and the hospitality we got from Host Mrs.Swapna Kalappa and their team. Rooms and toilets were very clean. Food was excellent. Kids will definitely love the place swings, slide, hammocks were there to keep them entertained plus ducks were present in the lawn so kids were running crazy chasing the ducks. The place is beautiful set in midst of the coffee plantation. Definitely would love to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthSezhiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our family of four, two adults and two kids aged 5 and 2, spent a relaxing weekend at Sandbanks.

Everything all the 5 star reviews said about the place are correct. Sandbanks is green. The rooms are tidy. The food is lip smacking good. The place is so serene that we extended our trip by a day an hour after we reached there.

The factor that will ensure that Sandbanks is where we will go back to on our next trip is the hospitality. Sapna and Mickey have a way of making you feel at home right away. We felt like were much beloved friends rather than paying customers. I came down with an upset stomach after a meal at a small restaurant in Madikeri. Sapna made me arrowroot porridge that made me feel a lot better. But the real feel good factor was that she called us up after we reached Bangalore to find out how I was feeling. And two weeks later they couriered us a toy that my son had left behind.

We stayed at Orange County on our previous trip to Coorg. It was good. But our stay at Sandbanks was way more memorable and we will definitely stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

If your idea of paradise is utter tranquility in a beautiful setting, with welcoming hosts and wonderful food - then look no further, Sand Banks is for you. Micky runs a great, eco-friendly, coffee plantation and is happy to take you on a fascinating and informative tour. Sapna not only cooks the most delicious food, she also has a great eye for detail and takes immense care of guests - from making sure the accommodation is just right every day, to sitting and talking to you at mealtimes, making you feel really welcome and giving you the chance to find out far more about Coorg and India in general. It's also a brilliant place for bird-watching! You can sit in comfort by the little river that runs in a meander around the cottages and garden, watching azure-blue kingfishers and many other birds to your heart's content.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kewfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed there for 2 days, and had great time. Sandbanks had a hospitable environament (felt completely at home), fresh air, beautiful landscape, surrounded by water creeks and waking up to the honking of geese and duscks. Loved the food. kudos Sapna and mickey, they guided us thorugh whereabouts the place.
One should also glance thought the books in the library (about coorg) in the estate as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dheeraj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Sand Banks was our first home stay experience in Coorg and certainly not our last. We were 11 of us, and our stay at Sand Banks have given us some great memories. Our host Micky and his family were extremely hospitable. Sand Banks has 2 cottages and each of them have 2 rooms. The hosts stay in another house about 2 minutes away from Sand Banks. There is ample parking space(not covered parking). There are several thatched gazebo's in the property. One of which is used to serve meals, another one for recreation - has a table tennis table and a television and a couple more gazebo's for lounging/relaxing. There is also a badminton court in the property and rackets are provided. Playing cards and board games are also provided on request. Our hosts treated us to some of exquisite Coorgi cuisine. There is a waterfall within walking distance. Sadly for us it was rainy season and we couldn't take a dip. Having booked both the cottages over the weekend , we had complete privacy. There is the issue of cell phone coverage, but then again i preferred not to be disturbed on vacation. Overall i would give Sand Banks and its wonderful hosts two THUMBS UP !!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank korahk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Micki and his family as well as the peaceful coffee plantation they own are the highlights of staying in this simple but comfortable cottage style B&B. The traditional Coorgi meals cooked by his wife were fun to try, though we were grateful for being able to use a small kitchenette in the back to cook our own meals as well. We were delighted to also meet his parents who shared delightful stories about Coorgi culture and their family, including one about about how the giant leopard skin in their living room came to be hanging there! The coffee plantation covered with pepper vines, with hundreds of other plant species growing in between was awesome. We especially appreciated the locals efforts at eco-conservation that Micki shared with us. The only downside was the lack of modern healthcare facilities nearby (the nearest hospital is 17 km away) which can be a problem if you are travelling with small children or elderly folks. Overall, a relaxing way to spend a weekend, or even a week if you use it as a base to see the rest of the province.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnysandiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
0.0 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
0.0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
#2 of 9 in Kushalnagar
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
0.0 mi away
Kadkani River Resort
Kadkani River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ammathi
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Mountains Estate Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Banks

Address: PB 30, Polaycad Estate | Ammatni, South Kodagu, 571211, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range: $58 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing