We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoysala Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hassan
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine Resort”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Pros :
1. great location for travelers visiting Belur, Halebid. Also great weekend getaway
2. just 2 1/2 hour drive from Bangalore, hassle free drive on a good highway
3. extremely hospitable staff
4. well appointed, spacious rooms
5. good food, particularly the local specialties. Food can be customised for individual needs
6. very green with many varieties of flowering plants and trees. Was surprised to be informed that none of the fruits are plucked and left for the birds. On a walk outside the property could notice the stark difference in vegetation between the outside and within the property
7. many varieties of birds, infact you will wake up to the chirping of birds in some of the rooms
8. well mantained swimming pool
9. indoor games : table tennis, carom, board games
10. reasonably priced ayurvedic massage

Improvements suggested :
1. couple of hammocks and benches in open places near rooms
2. water fall and flowing water inside the property would enhance the ambience
3. facility for bath at the massage center

Room Tip: 2N / 3D package is reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    301
    71
    15
    8
See reviews for
461
227
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A group of 7 families spent the new year at this resort. Overall we had a great time. The individual components are all present and good but a little fine tuning is required to make it really stand out.

Our room was in the new wing. The room was large, airy, well maintained. TV, wardrobe, tea kettle, slippers, were all provided. The bathroom was clean, basic soap and shampoo were provided. There was a presistent odour in the bathroom though. The staff were unable to do anything about it even though they tried. The rooms in this wing were close to the venue of the new year party and it was noisy since the mic was being tested.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner were provided in our package, as well as the special new year dinner. Everyday, breakfast was exactly the same, the same juice, the same idli, masala avalakki, the same bread and butter. Basic necessities like jam and pickles were missing in spite of asking for them! For lunch and dinner, there was a special live counter. This was the best part of the meal! There were local specialities made of millet, ragi, rice and different varieties of poli (the highlight). This one counter was the favourite for all of us.

The New year programme was a traditional programme with classical music and dance. It was quite well organised. The dinner was not really special. The same buffet was provided, though it was arranged out doors.

The staff were very friendly and were very helpful and courteous. A walk to the lake and a botanical tour of the property were interesting. There are quite a few birds to be seen and the one swimming rat snake that we saw in the lake was a highlight.

The other rooms - 300s, 400s and 500s - were very beautiful and large. These are set among the gardens and stand out in terms of ambience. There is a swimming pool that we couldn't use since it was too cold during our visit. The resort also provides entertainment - a magic show (he's an employee of the resort), mehendi etc. They also provide a football, badminton racquets, cricket paraphrenalia etc. on demand.

It is set away from the town and therefore was very quiet and serene. It is also close enough to Belur, Halebid and Shravanabelagola which we visited.

Room Tip: Avoid the new wing with the 700s rooms. The rooms set in the garden are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GitaBhukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

In fact, I had stayed in more than a dozen resorts in more than half a Dozen countries. It gives me extreme pleasure to state that Hoysala Village is the best. Myself, my wife and two kids of age 4 and 6 thoroughly enjoyed clean and spacious rooms, total greenery of the resort, swimming pool, kids activity centre, bullock cart ride, bird watching, Christmas tree decoration, wonderful lighting on Christmas eve....and many more. We are choosy when it comes to food. F&B manager Mr. Hari Ballal made our stay extremely comfortable with live counters and ethnic food. In fact he dressed like Santa Claus and gave gifts to all kids on Christmas eve and kids enjoyed it a lot. There were high quality cultural events on all evening from 7.30 to 10.30 PM with live band.
The managing director of the place Mr. Ravindra Alva is gem of a man with a great vision to serve customers and aspires to take the glory of this place to greater heights. The guest relations manager and operations managers were too very courteous.
I strongly recommend this place to everyone else in search of highest quality resort.

Room Tip: Choose a place near the swimming pool which is a central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneelavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the best resorts for relaxation. It is very near to Belur and Helabidi.Good Hospitality.It Food and Beverage manager Mr.hari Balal deserves a special mention for catering not only to our specific needs in food but for every one.

Room Tip: Presidentials suits are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishoreHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hoysala Village Resort is a delightful property away from the bustle of Hassan town. Styled as a rustic village, it was a treat to the senses, with old world ambience in the rooms and well laid out gardens.

Room Tip: This is an ideal base for those travelling to Belur and Halebid. And, if you want a quite getaway fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gangapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The rooms are absolutely delightful with many antique furnishings and gorgeous cool sitting areas. The grounds are very lovely being shady and we'll tended. The Indian food was superb especially dosai cooked especially for you on request at the sumptuous breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had taken a 2 night package and had a fabulous time. The resort was very clean and well maintained, the food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly , always ready to help. We had a great time and would love to go back to the hoysala resort :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hassan
3.0 mi away
The Ashhok Hassan
The Ashhok Hassan
#8 of 21 in Hassan
153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura International
16.5 mi away
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Southern Star
Hotel Southern Star
#5 of 21 in Hassan
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Amber Castle Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
iLike Satya Comforts
iLike Satya Comforts
#16 of 21 in Hassan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoysala Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoysala Village Resort

Property: Hoysala Village Resort
Address: Belur Road | Survey No. 357, Handinkere Village, Hassan 573217, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hassan District > Hassan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hassan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoysala Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOYSALA VILLAGE RESORT, HASSAN A mere 194 kms from Bangalore, this picturesque town in the heart of the Malanad region was made famous by the Hoysala Dynasty with their unique style of architecture.Lush trees, shrubs and flowering plants adorn the path ways. The beautiful countryside, lovely quaint villages and fabulous old civilizations to visit, you'll really welcome the in between 'rest and refuel' at Hoysala Village.Our restaurant will more than satisfy your appetite with its scrumptious choice & our large & comfortable rooms will offer the perfect respite at the end of a vibrant day.The resort is also a convenient base to explore heritage centers like Belur, Halebeedu & Shravanabelagola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hoysala Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoysala Village Hotel Hassan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing