We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monolithic Statue of Jain monk”

Bhagawan Bahubali Statue (Gommateshwara)
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.50*
and up
Private Day Trip to Shravanabelagola from Bangalore
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Hassan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: .
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
591 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Monolithic Statue of Jain monk”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

By report this is the largest monolithic statue in the world at 57 feet. It really is quite striking when you see that it is carved from a single rock. Take special note that the index finger on the left hand is significantly shorter than the adjacent fingers. My guide informed me that a short index finger is associated with wisdom...that may be the case although the cynic in me had to wonder if perhaps there was a mistake when carving out the hand and a legend subsequently grew up around it...I guess I'll never know for sure.

The steps up to the place are smooth but there is a wide range in steepness; some are big and others are small so make sure you can handle the trek up the hill (about 600 steps). There weren't too many pilgrims when I went but enough to get a sense of the place. You have to take your shoes/sandals off for the trek so it might be worth wearing socks to keep from burning your feet on hot days. There is also a fee to store your shoes so be ready to pay the nice man at the shoe guarding place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    95
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
352 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Awesome place to visit”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I keep going to this place every 2-3 months. I always feel fresh and enthusiastic on seeing the Lord Bahubali's statue.

Last time I visited Sharavanbelagola on 10th March 2013. We reached there one day before in the evening. Stayed there that night and on the next day early morning, we climbed up the hill to see the world's largest monolith once again.

Normally, people from Bangalore leave early morning, reach Sharavanbelagola during the day and climb up the hill during the noon, when the stair's stone gets hot.
So, it is recommended if you have enough time, better to reach one day before by evening time and stay there overnight and climb up early in the morning.

One update since my old review is that, the road from Bangalore to Shravanbelagola is almost completed now. It takes mere 2.5 hours to reach by Car.

Also, to people visiting first time, please note that, DO NOT EAT IN ANY MARWARI BHOJNALAYA. Stick to either the JAIN MATT BHOJNALAYA or a decent hotel/restaurant.

You can query, you can contact me anytime. I have already been to this place more than 15 times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jnrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A unique look at Jain art and adherents”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The 600 plus steps, carved in the rock, up to the statue of saintly prince Bahubali at this old and important Jain pilgrimage site may be somewhat daunting, but the 17 meter high statue is a beautiful Jain work, as are the smaller statutes of disciples (you need the caretaker to open the gates to go inside the gallery where they reside). There is a panoramic view from the top, and the many pilgrims (dressed in black) and school children visiting the site make the climb more interesting. We did it starting at around noon, and I would definitely suggest earlier or later in the day, at least in January or any of the hotter months. Vendors sell socks for 50 rupees or so, and it is well worth it if you have feet at all sensitive to heat. (My husband’s pair lasted him through at least eight other temples during the trip.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Definitely a very one off and unique place and statue, must not miss this one. The place is well kept and clean.

The climb is not so difficult, but can be tiring. Best to go early morning or late evening to avoid the sun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shivamaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very old temples for those who love history and archeological wonders. You have to walk about 650 steps to reach this temple.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savikrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhagawan Bahubali Statue (Gommateshwara) also viewed

Hassan, Hassan District
Hassan, Hassan District
 
Hassan, Hassan District
 

Been to Bhagawan Bahubali Statue (Gommateshwara)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing