We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rappa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hassan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rappa
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Hassan
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Rappa, is prefect for a economical weekend getaway...reach there on Sat noon, have food and relax for a while and hit the dam for a swim and kayaking..go to the island in the evening or early morning..I would say its a nice place to relax for a weekend. Vijay and Sibi are Very friendly, very nice people..it was fun talking to them, they make you feel comfortable..I would recommend the Rappa for a nice weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    13
    10
    38
See reviews for
16
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Channapatna, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

we four friends visited this place and the food is really nice there, sibi was very friendly, an amazing place to spend with your friends. the dogs really friendly and harmless, we really liked the dog mylo.
we loved the Karaoke music in the evening and the camp fire was really good.
we stayed in the hut and the bed was comfotable to sleep and the toilet was pretty clean.
the island doest have anything special just trees....
the boating was good...
sibi also helped us to visit the old church near rappa with the geep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suk_mallur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

All I can say is that I have never visited a resort quite like this, and I don't mean that in a positive way. Expect to see broken toilets and plastic bottles lying around the property. In the evenings everyone around gets drunk, the place has the ambiance of a cheap bar and will scare women away. However there are positives...

What I liked:
- Unique location on the shore of a massive reservoir
- Great friendly dogs. Farmhouse feel with peafowl, rabbits and what not
- Good food. Incredible that their kitchen churns out such nice food in the middle of nowhere
- Karaoke machine in the evenings with a dance floor

What I didn't like
- Poor service. Most of our requests were turned down. And these were simple ones like room delivery of snacks, cold storage of beer. The resort acted as if they were paying us money to stay!
- Intrusive hospitality. While the owners were friendly, they got a little too friendly at times and cracked tasteless jokes which we didn't appreciate
- Nothing much to do except kayaking
- Cramped accommodation. Tiny cottages that were meant for six people
- Dirty sheets

Definitely the worst resort or hotel that I have stayed in a long time. It does have some charm and nice food. But not enough to make me return or recommend this to my friends

To sum up: there are better resorts for your hard earned money!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the tents, the cottages are far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G0dfather82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hassan hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very good location , but the service was a big let down.
As per Mr.Vijay ( the last owner , who is still the acting host ), the resort has been sold out. & the resort is in between mgmts.

This showed in the service -
The rooms were not maintained. No towel , No soaps, & the walls were unclean. The bedsheets etc had cigarette burn holes in them.
Except 3 kayaks , none of the boats were in operation.
1 small rope bridge was still there & the second was torn out.
The food is ok & but not adequate in terms of quantity.
Vijay is irritatingly philosophical and offers unwanted advice.
We made a 20K + bill there for 12 people . Most felt it was a rip off.
All in all, the owners of the resorts think they can dictate philosophy of how to enjoy the place.. which is most irritating. customers feelings are not welcomed.

The best personnel of the property were the dogs ( a HUGE lab , a dachshund , a stray ) absolutely chill and fun to hang round with.

The location is good & pretty outback. If you don't mind paying premium for a mismanaged place but at a good location this is the place for you.
May be good for college folks , rider gangs etc.. Couples, families & Corporates - keep away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We, a group of families visited "the rappa" with children during a winter weekend.
Good things first - we found the hosts Vijay and Sibi quite charming and helpful. Starting from guiding us to reach the place to accommodating our special needs, they both were extremely helpful and generous. Vijay seemed a a little "high", but it didn't bother us and he behaved extremely well with us through out.
The dogs - kids will enjoy them. they are clean and well behaved
Food - Simple but good quality
Entertainment - Karaoke, camp fire etc - good.
Adventure sports - OK. Suits people who are doing kayaking or swimming for the first time.
Location: Superb with excellent views of water and a tree island

Not so good things:
Accommodation: Very very poor. Six people sleeping in a tiny hut - two double beds and one double mattress on the floor - two people sleeps on a double bed which is extremely uncomfortable. Bad beds, dirty sheets and dirt all around. Toilet/bathroom is very dirty. If you are accustomed to clean environments, you could find it difficult to sleep (unless you are drunk like some of us were)
The general upkeep of the place is extremely poor.
The place is most suited for "bachelor" groups who want to drink hard and party hard for a night. On a weekend night, there could be a lot of drunk people around. Go there only if you will feel comfortable with it. Remember, you will be staying in primitive huts and tents.
Adventure - Sibi insists on a life jacket while swimming - probably a first in the whole world. Swimming here is strictly for people who have never swum before!!
Staff apart from Sibi and Vijay - extremely unfriendly...didn't see smiling or interacting with any of the guests during the entire stay.

I would not recommend this place to families. If you expect a clean place to sleep, even luxury of the lowest order, don't go there.

This place is recommended for people who want to have a "drinking" party away from home and would not mind sleeping in a dirty hut (or not sleeping at all). Be prepared to compromise on everything including fellow guests.

TIP: If you are planning to go there, please read the Poor and terrible reviews and then decide. I am rating this place as average only because of the exemplary way Sibi and Vijay treated us. Otherwise it would have been "poor"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbugjerry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just got back from The Rappa and boy, we enjoyed every minute of our stay there. We were 3 families along with 2 naughty brats who decided to visit the rappa for a 1 day vacation, we reached there on the 12th of November by 10AM. We were ably guided by CB(rockstar) and were accorded a grand welcome by CB along with his team of the most adorable dogs in the world(Milo, Tootsie, Tingu & a couple of other cutie pies and Mr Turkey, guinea fowls and the entire Geese family :) )

One look at the place and you are bound to be mesmerized with the beautiful scenic location of the resort and the river right in front of your cottages, please do not expect anything fancy, this is a no-frills place, but you cannot help but fall in love with nature all over again. Prices are very reasonable considering the fact that you get breakfast, 2 meals, coffee and snacks, water sports,archery, ropeclimbing etc. Worth every penny that you spend.
The kayaking was the best part of the trip for all of us, you will not be allowed to enter the waters without your life jackets(MANDATORY), Their staff (Nagesh,Ashok and Pradeep) are really helpful and courteous and will spare no efforts in making your stay there a pleasant experience. The food was awesome(veg & non-veg), homely food and left us licking our fingers. The dining room also doubles up as a music and dance floor and you are welcome to party as long as you want( as long as you don't cross the accepted limits of decency).

CB was the perfect host, ever gracious and accommodating all our requests, he will do everything possible to help you have a great time at the rappa. He made us feel at home. we were supposed to leave on the 13th of November, but we were so floored by the place that we decided to extend our stay by another day.

Loved every minute of our stay there, HIGHLY RECOMMEND for all who wanna have a great and relaxing time away from all our busy hectic boring city lives that we lead. We are already planning our next trip here very soon :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

i enjoyed a lot its good place to enjoy with friendaaaaa guys , just visit and enjoy !!!and with lots of fun, camp fire was amazing at this climate the lovely dogs beautiful atmosphere made to forget going for my work also and i really will visit again with my friends....................... Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrssssssssssssssssssssss

Rithik.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rithik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hassan hotels
12.8 mi away
The Ashhok Hassan
The Ashhok Hassan
#8 of 20 in Hassan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
13.5 mi away
La Flora Pavanputra Resort & Spa
12.0 mi away
Hotel Raama
Hotel Raama
#3 of 20 in Hassan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Mallige Residency
Mallige Residency
#2 of 20 in Hassan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Southern Star
Hotel Southern Star
#5 of 20 in Hassan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rappa

Property: The Rappa
Address: Arali Marada Koppalu, Hassan 570103, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hassan
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Hassan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rappa is an Eco-lodge/ campsite offering a bit of adventure, fun & lots of nature. We are not a resort but we try our best to provide basic accommodation and wholesome food with ample nature. Like one of our guest says if you are looking for bellboy, housekeeping and room service then The Rappa is not the place for you.. Activities include Swimming, Kayaking, Early morning trek, Nature walk (morning/ evening), Bonfire, Music, Karaoke, rope course, Bird watching & Coracle ride. BYOB (Bring your own booze/ soft drinks), sandals, torches, warm clothing, personalised toiletries & carry suitable swimwear/ shorts without fail! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing