We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Visit to GHNP and area

Great Himalayan National Park As part of our first visit to India we hoped to include a trek in... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Guide21395044830
via mobile
Tirthan =Sunshine Himalayan cottage Hospitality

Well planning to Tirthan was long on list. Finally it happened as managed to steal a day from... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
RakeshP1265
via mobile
Read all 252 reviews
  
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
199
45
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
45
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout national park guest house riverside resort home stay bird watching jalori pass river crossing natural beauty place to stay close to nature serene place best kept secret forest department city crowd adventure sports the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great Himalayan National Park

As part of our first visit to India we hoped to include a trek in the Himachal Pradesh to balance out the experience of touring the big cities. Through the internet we found out about Himalayan Ecotourism run by Stephan and Hema Marchal. We were impressed by the timely and detailed responses to our requests for information, and this led to our signing up for a 7-day trek into the Tirthan valley which forms part of the Great Himalayan National Park (GHNP).
Homestay
We also discovered that they have a homestay called Eagle Nest perched high above the Tirth river and the town of Banjar. The views from their home are spectacular looking down into the valley and across to the GHNP. We decided to stay for a couple of nights before the beginning of the trek as this would provide us with a relaxing transition from the fast-paced city experience to the slower rhythms of trekking. Stephan and Hema are most welcoming hosts, and it was great to be part of their family during our stay.

Our room was comfortable and well appointed with it's own bathroom. Hema cooked excellent meals for us, and took care of all our needs. If you are at all interested in conservation you will want the stay with Stephan and Hema since they are deeply involved in it at a grass roots level, and are happy to discuss every aspect of their experience.

Hema was a great help in troubleshooting our journey from Delhi to Banjar during a time when there were considerable disruptions caused by heavy rains flooding the river Beas..

Trek
We taxi'd over to the village of Goshaini from where our particular trek started. Many of the guides and assistants in the area belong to a cooperative. Ours were great, and took excellent care of us throughout the trek. We failed to lose any weight on account of the fine meals prepared by Tanu our cook. Teku, our guide, kept an eye on us to make sure we did not get into difficulties. All members of the team were extremely helpful at all times, and we had some great conversations.

Recommendation
Yes, we would definitely recommend both the trek and the Eagle Nest homestay. We had a great time!

2  Thank Guide21395044830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well planning to Tirthan was long on list. Finally it happened as managed to steal a day from regular work.
One thing for sure one night is not for this place. You need to have at least 2 to 3 nights.
Hospitality of this duo locally from. KULLU district is just amazing. Knowledge from Birds to stars to treks is unbeatable.
Must visit place.
Internet connectivity is bad other then all is fine but as rightly said NATURE HAS BETTER connection

1  Thank RakeshP1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the valley,great place again.If you would stay there than for hikers a lovely place for long treks and walks all upto the Great Himalyan Park

1  Thank madraswala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Get ready for long car rides to reach. Homestays. Choose carefully. Not all feed you equally well. Most do not include lunch and there is little food available locally. Carry food with you.Food stalls in Goshaini are pretty basic. I did not feel like eating the stuff (Momo.Thukpa etc). Great fruits though. Avoid plastic; collect empty packets/sachets/water bottles and hand over to homestay owner for proper disposal. . Walk. Commune with nature. Birding. Angling (eat trout). Homestays will provide fried trout against extra payment. Dodgy mobile reception. Airtel works fine. A longish walk (about 8-10 km) to the gates of Great Himalayan National Park.No car access there. Then the actual treks begin. In October it gets cold...wear layers of warm clothes. DO NOT EXPECT high levels of urban comforts.

Thank Sukanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The drive to Tirthan is very nice but quite long. The things to do need a day each so you need to have enough time. It has a view of hills not very high mountains.

1  Thank nasreenkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful and peaceful location , it is suitable for all ages , provides good hospitality, nice food and is famous for trout fish,starting point for the trek to the great Himalayan national park

1  Thank TrailBlazer822594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

While travelling through India I decided I wanted do some sort of trek in the Himalayas. I did a bit a of research and discovered the Great Himalayan National Park - it looked like the perfect combination of peaceful tranquil nature and trekking trails! Excited I looked up trekking companies and discovered Himalayan Ecotourism. With a polished ergonomic website and a great variety of treks they looked perfect. I contacted them and found Hema to be friendly and helpful. She patiently offered advice on which trek would be best for me. For my first trek at high altitudes I didn’t want to do anything too crazy so I booked a 3 day trek from Gushaini to Marahni. And I’m so glad I did. From the enchanting fairy tale forests to the magnificent snow capped peaks the nature was stunningly beautiful, peaceful and serene. Everything about the trek was perfect! The kind supporting staff, the delicious freshly cooked meals and high quality equipment all helped me to push through and make it to Marahni and it was so worth it!

Our breakfast ranged from fresh pancakes, porridge and coffee to Chole Bhatura (a delicious local Indian breakfast which consists of deep fried bread and spicy white chickpeas) depending on your preference! For lunch we had samosas and a hearty bean stew while for dinner we ate dazzling varieties of dhal, rice and spiced veggies! That isn’t even saying anything of the assortment of delicious snacks and other goodies we were fed in between meals which included pakora (Indian deep fried potato chips) and tomato soup as well as mango juice and some naughty chocolate bars to keep us going!

I loved every second of this trek and I would recommend anyone thinking of travelling to the Himalayas or Himachal Pradesh to book a trek with Himalayan Ecotourism! Not only is their service extremely high quality but they also empower the local villagers who live around the park to support themselves and their families while still practicing sustainable tourism!

This is done through a brilliant cooperative where the locals guides choose their own wages and all own a share in Himalayan Ecotourism which takes care of the marketing and management needed for the cooperative to succeed. In this way all of the guides have a invested interest in ensuring the best experience for trekkers since as the company’s success increases so does their‘s. Perhaps this is why Sanju our guide and his brother Chaman were so accomodating and helpful throughout the entire trek. They are not just daily wage earners. It is their company as well as Sanju was explaining to me.

It gives me so much hope to see that a company which practices sustainable tourism at the same time as empowering the local community exists in India. Perhaps it is possible to preserve India’s natural beauty without destroying the local communities and cultures who rely on that beauty to survive.

Thank you Himalayan Ecotourism for the experience of a lifetime!!!

Thank Jett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Most amazing and breath taking views... the place is virgin and nature at its best.520 km from delhi via mandi. But for bikers the more interesting route is via narkanda and jhilori pass.
There are many home stays with home cooked food.accomodations are basic simple but clean and economical.
Anil jain

Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Remote but accessible, pristine and largely unspoilt... with villages up in the ranges..with their traditional Himachali architecture of wood and stone homesteads and most of all the charm and welcoming by the local people reminds us of an era being left behind rapidly...a visit to Tirthan Valley and the surrounding places further up in the mountains is worth every while if you love ..not just love (everyone does), but respect the Himalayas to the core. Top it all, it's the gateway to the Great Himalayan National Park..is what keeps Tirthan a natural paradise..However, If you are the type who cares for crowds, obnoxious traffic jams in 'hill stations' signifying popularity of the place, lots of things and activities to do, shopping centres, food binging, etc..you may be better off staying away from here...:-)...

Thank Amitabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Absolutely a gem of a place to relax. Offbeat and still disconnected from the mainstream hullabaloo..
Reaching here is easy except for the last 15/20 kms. It is off the Manali highway just before Aut. It isn't commercialized as yet and hence not many hotels. Mostly homestays with simple amenities and food.
You could go out for endless walks along the river or village trails. For the adventurous types, there is the endless GHNP with multiple trail options.

2  Thank AnuragNidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews